Mfusick's How to build an affordable 30TB Flexraid media server: Information Requested.! - Page 153 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 120Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4561 of 4584 Old 01-06-2016, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Quaraxkad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Port Orange, FL
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
Quick question,

I need to make some hard drive backups of a few office style PC's and their various hardrives. Most are SSD but some are normal HDD.

What is the best way to do this? Ideally I would like to do it at the hardware level, outside of windows or an OS being installed or required.

Is there a dock or something that works well? I need simple and fast. Or- is it better to use a USB stick boot from BIOS and just copy to a new disc ? Suggestions?
You never want to just copy the contents of a system drive as a backup. That's not restorable. Try something like EaseUs ToDo Free. It can make a full image of the system drive while the OS running, and it's very easy to use but still powerful. And free, if the name didn't give that away.
Quaraxkad is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4562 of 4584 Old 01-06-2016, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post
Do I need to install any drivers in Windows 10 for the 9211-8i in IT mode?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/291641245650
I've never needed any, but I've never tried anything newer than Server 2012r2. It wouldn't hurt to go into device manager and right click on the card and hit update to see if there is anything it picks up.
So it's just plug n play? The drivers are installed automatically?

If there are no drivers to install and I wanted to make the hard drives spin down where would I input the following code?


[Shutdown_addreg]
HKR,"StorPort","EnableIdlePowerManagement",0x00010 001,0x01
HKR,"ScsiPort","NeedsSystemShutdownNotification",0 x00010001, 1
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #4563 of 4584 Old 01-06-2016, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,173
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 351
You need to edit one of the inf files in the driver folder that you downloaded from LSI. Then install the driver using the modified inf.
It's been awhile since I've done it but I think if you search this thread you can get more info.

Last edited by Mrkazador; 01-06-2016 at 06:42 PM.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #4564 of 4584 Old 01-06-2016, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post
You need to edit one of the inf files in the driver folder that you downloaded from LSI. Then install the driver using the modified inf.
It's been awhile since I've done it but I think if you search this thread you can get more info.
Could you kindly link me to the driver for Windows 7 x64?
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #4565 of 4584 Old 01-06-2016, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,173
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post
Could you kindly link me to the driver for Windows 7 x64?
http://www.avagotech.com/products/se...1-8i#downloads

Driver for Windows7 and Windows Server 2008 R2

I think I'm using p19 because there were problems with p20. I can't remember.
DotJun likes this.

_______________________________

DIY Sound Group: Information and Tips
Mrkazador is offline  
post #4566 of 4584 Old 01-06-2016, 10:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post
Could you kindly link me to the driver for Windows 7 x64?
http://www.avagotech.com/products/se...1-8i#downloads

Driver for Windows7 and Windows Server 2008 R2

I think I'm using p19 because there were problems with p20. I can't remember.
Thanks much!!!!
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #4567 of 4584 Old 01-08-2016, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 30,949
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 2255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaraxkad View Post
You never want to just copy the contents of a system drive as a backup. That's not restorable. Try something like EaseUs ToDo Free. It can make a full image of the system drive while the OS running, and it's very easy to use but still powerful. And free, if the name didn't give that away.
Not much care about bootable or the OS, just the data on it.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #4568 of 4584 Old 01-09-2016, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Has anyone tried using the LSI 9211-8I with Windows 10? Any issues? Are there drivers for Windows 10 for this card?
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #4569 of 4584 Old 01-10-2016, 07:21 AM
Member
 
beankid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Drivers? I wouldn't see why you would need a driver for the card itself if you use the card as an HBA, it's hardware level and not software. If you don't flash the drive to a different firmware and use it out of the box then you might have to locate some. I use the 9220 in my nas box and I've never needed drivers with it, just flashed the LSI firmware on it to skip the raid functions and it works great. Allows direct access to all the drives.
beankid is offline  
post #4570 of 4584 Old 01-10-2016, 10:40 AM
Member
 
Quaraxkad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Port Orange, FL
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post
Are there drivers for Windows 10 for this card?
http://www.avagotech.com/support/download-search
Quaraxkad is online now  
post #4571 of 4584 Old 01-10-2016, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Commonwealth, not the Jelly.
Posts: 2,352
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 838 Post(s)
Liked: 641
Quote:
Originally Posted by beankid View Post
Drivers? I wouldn't see why you would need a driver for the card itself if you use the card as an HBA, it's hardware level and not software. If you don't flash the drive to a different firmware and use it out of the box then you might have to locate some. I use the 9220 in my nas box and I've never needed drivers with it, just flashed the LSI firmware on it to skip the raid functions and it works great. Allows direct access to all the drives.
HBA's require drivers too. Even yours.

RAID protection is only for failed drives. That's it. It's no replacement for a proper backup.
ajhieb is online now  
post #4572 of 4584 Old 01-10-2016, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajhieb View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by beankid View Post
Drivers? I wouldn't see why you would need a driver for the card itself if you use the card as an HBA, it's hardware level and not software. If you don't flash the drive to a different firmware and use it out of the box then you might have to locate some. I use the 9220 in my nas box and I've never needed drivers with it, just flashed the LSI firmware on it to skip the raid functions and it works great. Allows direct access to all the drives.
HBA's require drivers too. Even yours.
He's probably using the driver downloaded automatically by Windows. Will there be any performance difference the default driver and the driver provided by LSI? I will be using it as a HBA.
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #4573 of 4584 Old 01-10-2016, 06:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,372
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post
He's probably using the driver downloaded automatically by Windows. Will there be any performance difference the default driver and the driver provided by LSI? I will be using it as a HBA.
Not really. The only thing I would recommend is to install the Megaraid Storage Manager so you can setup email alerts just in case you have disk issues.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
post #4574 of 4584 Old 01-11-2016, 06:42 PM
GCS
AVS Special Member
 
GCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Mechanicsville, VA
Posts: 1,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Been a long time since I have checked into this thread nice to see still up and going.

Its about time to add some new storage space to my server so I wanted to ask what is everyone using/recommending for 5-6TB drives these days?

XBL Gamertag - blowfish7494

"Pull up your big boy pants and deal with it" - The Wife!

 

"Put on your man suit and fake it" - The Wife

GCS is online now  
post #4575 of 4584 Old 01-12-2016, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Received the LSI 9211-8i today, but facing some issues booting into Windows. The card and the drives installed in it are all detected, but it seems to get stuck on the following screen and doesn't move forward to boot into Windows. What do I do?

Also, I tried disabling the boot support in the card's BIOS, but that disables the whole card and still gets stuck in a similar screen. Help please...

My system specs are as follows:

i7 920
Gigabyte EX-58-UD4P
12GB RAM
GTX 760
850 Pro OS drive running in AHCI mode



Last edited by amarshonarbangla; 01-12-2016 at 01:21 PM.
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #4576 of 4584 Old 01-12-2016, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,372
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post
Received the LSI 9211-8i today, but facing some issues booting into Windows. The card and the drives installed in it are all detected, but it seems to get stuck on the following screen and doesn't move forward to boot into Windows. What do I do?

Also, I tried disabling the boot support in the card's BIOS, but that disables the whole card and still gets stuck in a similar screen. Help please...

My system specs are as follows:

i7 920
Gigabyte EX-58-UD4P
12GB RAM
GTX 760
850 Pro OS drive running in AHCI mode

Try a different PCI-E slot. Some motherboards will do this if you put an HBA into a slot that's intended for a graphics card.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
post #4577 of 4584 Old 01-12-2016, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Commonwealth, not the Jelly.
Posts: 2,352
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 838 Post(s)
Liked: 641
Also might want to double check the boot order in your motherboard BIOS and make sure it isn't trying to boot from a data drive.

RAID protection is only for failed drives. That's it. It's no replacement for a proper backup.
ajhieb is online now  
post #4578 of 4584 Old 01-13-2016, 11:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Defcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,362
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Its amazing how fast hw prices fall. I saw a Seagate 8TB drive for $200 today (from provantage). You could buy 4/5 of those, put them in any regular old pc (even one purchased from Dell/HP) for ~$200, and you'd have a 32TB server which would use less power as well !! Granted it won't be enterprise class but no one really needs that for a home server anyway IMO.
Defcon is online now  
post #4579 of 4584 Old 01-14-2016, 12:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Commonwealth, not the Jelly.
Posts: 2,352
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 838 Post(s)
Liked: 641
Quote:
Originally Posted by Defcon View Post
Its amazing how fast hw prices fall. I saw a Seagate 8TB drive for $200 today (from provantage). You could buy 4/5 of those, put them in any regular old pc (even one purchased from Dell/HP) for ~$200, and you'd have a 32TB server which would use less power as well !! Granted it won't be enterprise class but no one really needs that for a home server anyway IMO.
That 8TB Seagate is almost certainly one of their SMR "Archive" drives, which may work for some purposes but are not well suited for general purpose duty.

Caveat emptor.

RAID protection is only for failed drives. That's it. It's no replacement for a proper backup.
ajhieb is online now  
post #4580 of 4584 Old 01-14-2016, 06:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 7,563
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajhieb View Post
That 8TB Seagate is almost certainly one of their SMR "Archive" drives, which may work for some purposes but are not well suited for general purpose duty.

Caveat emptor.
Also, it is a Seagate. No more Seagates for me.

bryansj is online now  
post #4581 of 4584 Old 01-14-2016, 11:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Defcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,362
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 166
What is recommended between these 2 setups -

- FlexRaid
- StableBit DrivePool + Scanner

There are other options like snapRaid etc too but these 2 seem to me the easiest and most full featured to use. FlexRaid does more but is also more complex. I like parity as a solution much more than duplication, but have read plenty of issues with FlexRaid both here and on their forums.

For the OS, I have an option to use WSE 2012 R2, WSE 2016, or just plain old Windows 10. Is there any advantage in using the server OS? Are addons like LightsOut still working well?

Have not been following home server setups for a while so have a lot of questions.

Last edited by Defcon; 01-14-2016 at 11:17 PM.
Defcon is online now  
post #4582 of 4584 Old 01-17-2016, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 30,949
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 2255
Ok so I had the same issues on a RAID pool with new SSD drives I did with the old spinners, turns out the problem is a bad SATA cable !

So of coarse I admitted defeat and removed the old RAID 0 array drives, I think I even brought one online as a normal drive just for testing purposes (initialized at GPT I think)

But I did not read or write or change anything on the drives. Possible to rebuild the array or recover data from them ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #4583 of 4584 Old 01-17-2016, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 30,949
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 2255
Ok so I had the same issues on a RAID pool with new SSD drives I did with the old spinners, turns out the problem is a bad SATA cable !

So of coarse I admitted defeat and removed the old RAID 0 array drives, I think I even brought one online as a normal drive just for testing purposes (initialized at GPT I think)

But I did not read or write or change anything on the drives. Possible to rebuild the array or recover data from them ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Flexraid , Intel Core I5 4670k 3 4ghz Lga 1150 Quad Core Desktop Processor , Intel Core I3 4130 3 4 3 Fclga 1150 Processor Bx80646i34130 , Asrock , Asrock Z87m Extreme4 Lga1150 Intel Z87 Chipset Ddr3 Quad Crossfirex Quad Sli Sata3 Usb3 0 Microatx M , Asus , Asus Us , Asus Computer , Asus Components , Norco , Asus Computer International Direct , Flexraid Raid F , Seagate , Seagate Hard Drives , Seagate Freeagent Theater 1080p Hd Media Player Stcea201 Rk , Hitachi , Dell , Windows 7 Vista Xp Media Center Mce Pc Remote Control And Infrared Receiver , Hp Oem Window Media Center Mce Pc Remote Control And Infrared Receiver For Windows7 Vista Xp Home Pr , Intel , Intel Core I5 3570 3 4 Ghz Processor , Intel Pentium G2020 2 9ghz Lga 1155 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Intel Pentium G3220 3 0ghz Lga 1150 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd , Amd A10 6700 Richland 4 2ghz Socket Fm2 65w Quad Core Desktop Processor Amd Radeon Hd Ad6700okhlbox , Amd A6 5400k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd A8 5600k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Quad Core Desk
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off