Mfusick's How to build an affordable 30TB Flexraid media server: Information Requested.! - Page 34 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 139Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 4709 Old 06-12-2013, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544










-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 4709 Old 06-12-2013, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #993 of 4709 Old 06-12-2013, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
I cracked open a Seagate 3TB external drive to rape the HDD from inside. I ended up getting it for $75 from staples:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1466530/seagate-4tb-internal-169-99-free-shipping[/quote]




$79 shipped. No tax. U MAD?

$80 for 3TB is $26.66 per TB. biggrin.gif














Very easy to open and close these up.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #994 of 4709 Old 06-12-2013, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544


I got to add another CPU box to my collection biggrin.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #995 of 4709 Old 06-12-2013, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
And another SSD box to my collection too:


-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #996 of 4709 Old 06-12-2013, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
And some leftover screws to my "leftover screw collection"


-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #997 of 4709 Old 06-12-2013, 10:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
All the while I was doing my build I pretended I was cleaning the basement (much much needed !) so the wife would not yell at me and leave me alone biggrin.gif

See exhibit A: (the mess)



-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #998 of 4709 Old 06-12-2013, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
I ended up using the Thermaltake case I had used earlier in this thread for my original server (before the Norco) to put the 2600k inside.

That machine is now my new office PC.










-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #999 of 4709 Old 06-12-2013, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
Some notes:

The Antec 300 case is crap. I've always said so. I've build 50 PC's in the last 5 years and I know crap when I see it. The fact that this case gets pretended to be the "ultimate" low cost budget mid towers just upsets me greatly.

I've read repeated BS reviews on it, but I can't say I see it the same way as the supporters do. First, my case was defective and I had to swap it out (power button not work). The replacement was then labeled wrong on the wires. Good thing I've build a bunch of PC can can figure out that PLED, Reset, etc... because the labels were just wrong. I had pictures in another thread. That was two strikes.

The worst thing I hate is how easy they scratch and how crappy the finish is on these things.












I am disappointed with Antec 300 (even for $40)

I've only built 2 systems in the case. I was careful and the thing stays in a bedroom closet. It should not be as scratched and banged up as it is with normal use.

In contrast- The Thermaltake case I used to put the 2600k in is over 5 years old. I bought it for a socket 775 Core2 Duo machine gaming machine. It's had 10 builds in it- been taken apart a bunch of times- even used for a server. Carried around from place to place... and the case is near mint. No scratches and considerably more durable than the Antec 300.

I dislike how the Antec is not sprayed on the inside too- giving that feel of cheap sheet metal. The coolermasters use that black powerdercoating to give it a nice feel and fit and finish. The Thermaltake is more polished and thicker in key areas. Even the cheap Rosewill units I have used I favor. Silverstone is much nicer too.. I have use those a bunch of times. Personally I would get a coolermaster or Rosewill for the same $$ next time.
But - it's only a HTPC in a closet so I guess... who cares biggrin.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #1000 of 4709 Old 06-12-2013, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
It's hard to appreciate how big the Coolermaster Case is.

Here is a shot of all three: (Antec 300 tower case looks small next to a 10 bay full tower Thermaltake Armor; the Antec 300 tower isn't small the Thermaltake full tower is just big. The Armor then looks small next to the Coolermaster wink.gif )





-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #1001 of 4709 Old 06-12-2013, 10:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post



One thing the Extreme 4 seems to have is (2) HDMI (One is an input)




WTF is up with that ???

Anyone know more specifics on the reason for an HDMI INPUT ???


I have not bothered to read the manual or research it yet.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #1002 of 4709 Old 06-12-2013, 11:17 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,472
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 401
A-STYLE
Quote:
Tired of constantly switching devices to connect to your one and only monitor? From now on just connect the monitor to your motherboard, and connect your secondary device to the motherboard's HDMI-In port. With HDMI-In users may conveniently toggle between the computer's screen and the secondary device's screen with a hotkey, or even use their secondary device without powering on the computer.

renethx is offline  
post #1003 of 4709 Old 06-12-2013, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
so it is just a pass through ?

That seems like a rather gimmick feature.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #1004 of 4709 Old 06-12-2013, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 135
I just have screens with a big collection of inputs so i can just switch on the screen if needed. Indeed seems like a silly feature.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #1005 of 4709 Old 06-12-2013, 12:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,472
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Motherboard industry is very competitive. Even a silly feature can be a selling point. smile.gif
renethx is offline  
post #1006 of 4709 Old 06-13-2013, 08:20 AM
Member
 
Robin Mitra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
... like asrock dehumidifier settings in BIOS ?
Robin Mitra is offline  
post #1007 of 4709 Old 06-13-2013, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Mitra View Post

... like asrock dehumidifier settings in BIOS ?

I use this feature all the time. It totally removes all the moisture from my basement. rolleyes.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #1008 of 4709 Old 06-13-2013, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Lol what
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #1009 of 4709 Old 06-13-2013, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 40
That could be a useful feature for water cooling.
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #1010 of 4709 Old 06-13-2013, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544



It is a feature on the new Asrock motherboards.





Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post

That could be a useful feature for water cooling.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Mitra View Post

... like asrock dehumidifier settings in BIOS ?

I use this feature all the time. It totally removes all the moisture from my basement.





Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post

Lol what

24291588.jpg




-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #1011 of 4709 Old 06-14-2013, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
You guys know I was joking right ? I edited in MS paint those brochures and features to look silly. No one noticed?


-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #1012 of 4709 Old 06-15-2013, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
Anyone seen a good deal on IBM sata card.??? (I need another one)

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #1013 of 4709 Old 06-15-2013, 07:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,240
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 960 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Anyone seen a good deal on IBM sata card.??? (I need another one)
They are $65 right?

bryansj is offline  
post #1014 of 4709 Old 06-15-2013, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Buy a SAS expander instead.
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #1015 of 4709 Old 06-16-2013, 05:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post

Buy a SAS expander instead.

Wouldn't I run out of bandwidth ? X8 slot ?

I'll have 16 HDD's off one card? That is 2400MB/sec. Do you think the performance would drop compared to a second sata card?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #1016 of 4709 Old 06-16-2013, 05:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

They are $65 right?


http://www.ebay.com/itm/BULK-BUYER-GETS-10-IBM-M1015-ServeRaid-SAS-SATA-PCI-e-RAID-Controller-46M0861-/121126456834?pt=US_Server_Disk_Controllers_RAID_Cards&hash=item1c33b30e02

Only if I buy 10 in bulk frown.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #1017 of 4709 Old 06-16-2013, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 158

Why not? flash all 10 of them. then sell 9 of them pre flashed for $125 a piece

Andy_Steb is online now  
post #1018 of 4709 Old 06-16-2013, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Wouldn't I run out of bandwidth ? X8 slot ?

I'll have 16 HDD's off one card? That is 2400MB/sec. Do you think the performance would drop compared to a second sata card?

X8 PCIe 2.0 has a maximum bandwidth of 4000 MB/s. 4Gbit or 500MB per lane.
Using SAS expanders i would be more worried about the SAS connection from the controller to the expander being saturated eventually, however considering normal HDDs can never reach even SATA2 speeds, running the double amount of drives should not be a problem.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #1019 of 4709 Old 06-16-2013, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 31,739
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_Steb View Post


Why not? flash all 10 of them. then sell 9 of them pre flashed for $125 a piece

I would bother doing this if I could get like 5 pre- orders or some interest from others. I'd hate to get stuck with them.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #1020 of 4709 Old 06-17-2013, 03:50 AM
Member
 
jsketto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to start of by saying this thread is the holy grail for htpc server builds...I have been looking for advice on norco racks and flexraid and this has everything I could ever ask for....Great job to all of you guys who contributed to this awesome thread!

I do have a couple of questions that hopefully aren't too far off topic...

Mfusick- What kind of rack are you using for your Norco? Im also tempted to pre-order a m1015 from you but I think it would be more fun to try flashing it on my own

Also, has anyone tried using the Private Cloud feature on Flexraid? I saw it on their website but I wasnt sure about its functionality?

I'm currently deployed and as soon as I get back I will be upgrading my current server which is my old htpc
Current "Server":
Acer Aspire x1200 series
Sans Digital 4 Bay hard drive enclosure x2 (connected to the PC with 2 eSata cords into a RAID card that came with the HDD enclosures)
Seagate Barracuda 3TB x1
WD Green 2TB x4
WD Green 1TB x3


I currently just use Windows XP as a SMB server on the Acer to pump all my videos to my HTPC in the living room...it is completely silent and crazy fast, probably overkill but oh well
HTPC:
Zotac Z68-ITX Wifi
G Skill Sniper DDR3-2133 8 GB x2
Intel i3 2125 (HD 3000 graphics)
Mushkin Chronos 60GB SSD
Streamcom Fanless FC5

I plan on getting a VERY similar set up to the one Mfusick created....a Norco 4224 or 4220 and I will be phasing my old WD Green drives out for new 3-4TB Seagates...I plan on sending pics and updates on my build but it will be another month before i can get started

Couple more questions
- is everyone here using Cat6 to their HTPCs or is anyone using wireless....I wired a couple rooms in my house because i could never get the wireless to work without the occasional stutter
-Is plex really picky about file names...right now im strickly XBMC but i was considering trying Plex for some added streaming, XBMC recognizes everything i have but Ive seen threads about Plex being a pain in the ass with file names when scrapping your media
-Suggestions on a Processor/Motherboard for my soon-to-be Norco build.....I am ok with overkill...but with will just be my wife, daughter, and I using the server...i dont plan on streaming out to other people (http://us.hardware.info/news/35376/computex-asrock-debuts-z87-motherboard-with-22-sata-ports) overkill but tempting haha

Streamcom Fanless FC5
Zotac Z68-ITX Wifi
Intel i3 2125
G Skill Sniper DDR3-2133 8 GB x2
Mushkin Chronos 60GB SSD
jsketto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Flexraid , Intel Core I5 4670k 3 4ghz Lga 1150 Quad Core Desktop Processor , Intel Core I3 4130 3 4 3 Fclga 1150 Processor Bx80646i34130 , Asrock , Asrock Z87m Extreme4 Lga1150 Intel Z87 Chipset Ddr3 Quad Crossfirex Quad Sli Sata3 Usb3 0 Microatx M , Asus , Asus Us , Asus Computer , Asus Components , Norco , Asus Computer International Direct , Flexraid Raid F , Seagate , Seagate Hard Drives , Seagate Freeagent Theater 1080p Hd Media Player Stcea201 Rk , Hitachi , Dell , Windows 7 Vista Xp Media Center Mce Pc Remote Control And Infrared Receiver , Hp Oem Window Media Center Mce Pc Remote Control And Infrared Receiver For Windows7 Vista Xp Home Pr , Intel , Intel Core I5 3570 3 4 Ghz Processor , Intel Pentium G2020 2 9ghz Lga 1155 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Intel Pentium G3220 3 0ghz Lga 1150 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd , Amd A10 6700 Richland 4 2ghz Socket Fm2 65w Quad Core Desktop Processor Amd Radeon Hd Ad6700okhlbox , Amd A6 5400k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd A8 5600k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Quad Core Desk
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off