Mfusick's How to build an affordable 30TB Flexraid media server: Information Requested.! - Page 76 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2251 of 3775 Old 12-16-2013, 03:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,878
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 694
hehehehe...

Got a new toy in the mail:tongue.gif




-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2252 of 3775 Old 12-16-2013, 04:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
mark_anderson_u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

hehehehe...

Got a new toy in the mail:tongue.gif




Don;t get too excited. huge disappointment (esp. if you use iOS). hopefully over time there'll be a decent ecosystem and it will prompt Apple to revamp airplay. For $35 it's a toy worth having
mark_anderson_u is offline  
post #2253 of 3775 Old 12-16-2013, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,878
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 694
I have not even opened it yet... Been ripping media and playing with a new theme in MB3. I friggin love how the disc spins... and slides back and forth in front of the posters. Cool beans.
Some cool stuff coming. Seems like MB3 project just keeps getting better everyday.

now I am Streaming the game, surfing AVS and copying some movies. Three monitors is where it is at. and... Who knew NFL was free with VPN. eek.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #2254 of 3775 Old 12-16-2013, 06:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
mark_anderson_u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

I have not even opened it yet...

you only need 5 mins to set it up and exhaust the entire feature set:D
mark_anderson_u is offline  
post #2255 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nickbuol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Marion, Iowa
Posts: 1,744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Apparently Mark HATES the Chromecast. tongue.gif

Lots (and I mean a LOT) of people love it, but if there is some issues with Apple compatibility, then I could see why some people would not like it obviously. Of course I have to ask, if you are an Apple user, why don't you have an AppleTV. I thought that once you bought an Apple product, people weren't allowed, by some secret subliminal marketing, to buy non-Apple products and if you didn't have the latest and greatest Apple everything, you were no longer "cool." tongue.gifbiggrin.gif

Just teasing the Apple people, not directly Mark. Sorry Mark, just messing around.
nickbuol is offline  
post #2256 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
A9X-308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia; now run by adults.
Posts: 5,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickbuol View Post

I thought that once you bought an Apple product, people weren't allowed, by some secret subliminal marketing, to buy non-Apple products and if you didn't have the latest and greatest Apple everything, you were no longer "cool." .
They need to be chanting Steeeeeve whilst staring dewey-eyed at his picture to give a truly accurate image of the Appleistas.
A9X-308 is offline  
post #2257 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
rc05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I got a Chromecast for a secret santa gift. It plays YouTube and Netflix better than my AMD E-350 HTPC, but that's about it.
rc05 is offline  
post #2258 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
mark_anderson_u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickbuol View Post

Apparently Mark HATES the Chromecast. tongue.gif

Lots (and I mean a LOT) of people love it, but if there is some issues with Apple compatibility, then I could see why some people would not like it obviously. Of course I have to ask, if you are an Apple user, why don't you have an AppleTV. I thought that once you bought an Apple product, people weren't allowed, by some secret subliminal marketing, to buy non-Apple products and if you didn't have the latest and greatest Apple everything, you were no longer "cool." tongue.gifbiggrin.gif

Just teasing the Apple people, not directly Mark. Sorry Mark, just messing around.

LOL

I do have 3 AppleTV's, because I'm pretty heavily invest in iTunes ecosystem: lots of music and music videos. As I'm a cord-cutter, I buy a TV shows I can't get OTA too and use it for Netflix and HuluPlus. I have to say I like the ATV UI (especially the app to app consitentcy), if only it could stream mkv it would be an almost perfect set top box for me.

I'm not a fan-bot; although, i do own and iPhone and iPad too. i have a mac mini and MBPro (both running Windows).

I have high hopes for Chromecast, but with only 3 apps supporting it on iOS (when I got it some months ago, it's not much use). it's probably way more useful to Droid users and I thing the casting is way better technology that streaming to a device and then mirroring that on an ATV. Hopefully Apple will adopt this.
mark_anderson_u is offline  
post #2259 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 09:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
mark_anderson_u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by A9X-308 View Post

They need to be chanting Steeeeeve whilst staring dewey-eyed at his picture to give a truly accurate image of the Appleistas.

It's "Steeeeve RIP' now
mark_anderson_u is offline  
post #2260 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
A9X-308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia; now run by adults.
Posts: 5,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_anderson_u View Post

It's "Steeeeve RIP' now
To some of them he is still on this existential plane.
A9X-308 is offline  
post #2261 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 09:27 AM
Member
 
Wrays1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Jursey
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Who knew NFL was free with VPN".


How do you get this to work???
Wrays1 is offline  
post #2262 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,878
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrays1 View Post

"Who knew NFL was free with VPN".


How do you get this to work???

There was a thread about the sunday ticket explaining it. The short answer is NFL is free to steam in certain parts of Europe because NFL wants to expand there at some point, and they wish to gain viewership so they make it free. You can connect with a VPN to one of those places and steam the game like you live there.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #2263 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbcain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_anderson_u View Post

Thanks for reply. Have you tried with WMC? I ask, because I tried VNC is unusable (even on LAN). Screen is nearly always blank and I have to constantly refresh. I haven't installed the mirror driver, as I don't want to risk changing anything to do with graphics and no idea if it even works on 8.1 yet
With teamviewer and wmc, just make wmc window size anything but full screen and it'll show up.
jbcain is offline  
post #2264 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 10:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
mark_anderson_u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbcain View Post

With teamviewer and wmc, just make wmc window size anything but full screen and it'll show up.

thanks
mark_anderson_u is offline  
post #2265 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,341
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickbuol View Post

Apparently Mark HATES the Chromecast. tongue.gif

Lots (and I mean a LOT) of people love it, but if there is some issues with Apple compatibility, then I could see why some people would not like it obviously. Of course I have to ask, if you are an Apple user, why don't you have an AppleTV?

Or at least use XBMC tongue.gif since it's an airplay target for audio
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #2266 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,341
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_anderson_u View Post

Thanks for reply. Have you tried with WMC?
I don't directly use WMC, only indirectly smile.gif

XBMC in fullscreen has this issue as well. I suppose my issues are typically underneath the frontend, but I could see this being slightly problematic when trying to finagle the frontend settings in WMC, MB3, XBMC, etc, etc. I always allow it to send keyboard combinations, so alt+tab or the "win" key bring up the start menu or switch away from fullscreen to the desktop. Typically I'm trying to check something in the system tray, but as jbcain mentioned switching out of fullscreen works also. For me, that is a matter of pressing "\" in xbmc. I think the alt+enter (usually reserved for app switching) toggles fullscreen in WMC. There's also win+enter which does the flip3d animated app switching. If all fail, you can send "ctrl+alt+del" from the teamviewer menu then your screen should definitely show up. However, I have to brag that I've not had to remotely troubleshoot my frontend in over a year. The two times I've used this for ondemand troubleshooting of XBMC (demand being from the wife) were cases were XBMC had locked up and forced closed but kept alive in task manager. Teamviewer->task manager->end task for XBMC->wait 5 seconds->launch XBMC biggrin.gif Try using the windowed shortcut, and better use something like "media only mode" in settings and Patchou's MCThemer to hide any unnecessary, possibly duplicate, or confusing menus from WMC
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #2267 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 03:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbcain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
jbcain is offline  
post #2268 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 04:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbcain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
if the pc you remoted into is running headless at the time youll still catch a bluescreen hdcp error on protected cable channels
jbcain is offline  
post #2269 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,341
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbcain View Post

if the pc you remoted into is running headless at the time youll still catch a bluescreen hdcp error on protected cable channels

so your is to use VNC or RDP to pipe livetv through an internet connection? I was thinking of a remote troubleshooting or file transfer step and I love the simplicity for that.

if the intent is livetv, could you share your experience so far? I've been interested in this but never invested any time in which ones work. The following possibilities come to mind
  • RDP
  • VNC - perhaps test logmein or splashtop to compare results with teamviewer
  • VPN - ~not sure about this one
  • android - Remote Media Center Live TV

I get that the last one sucks to "test" for $8, and is no good if you are an iOS or WP guy
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #2270 of 3775 Old 12-17-2013, 05:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbcain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
no no no. he was talking about using rdp/vnc/remote to help someone troubleshoot livetv playback at another location. i'm just letting him know, that if while doing this, and he switches to a copy protected station, it'll toss out the HDCP error.
jbcain is offline  
post #2271 of 3775 Old 12-18-2013, 08:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Can you run mb3 with ir remote only or must you have key and mouse? After setup I mean.
DotJun is offline  
post #2272 of 3775 Old 12-19-2013, 03:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

There was a thread about the sunday ticket explaining it. The short answer is NFL is free to steam in certain parts of Europe because NFL wants to expand there at some point, and they wish to gain viewership so they make it free. You can connect with a VPN to one of those places and steam the game like you live there.

Must be the first time in history there's a reason for folks in the U.S. to VPN-pretend they are in Europe in order to access some online service. Other than hiding their IP in order not to get caught downloading. rolleyes.gif
politby is online now  
post #2273 of 3775 Old 12-19-2013, 04:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 63
I myself would also like to watch NFL games if I knew how. I am American living in OZ and cant watch almost any NFL games.frown.gif
chrapladm is offline  
post #2274 of 3775 Old 12-19-2013, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,878
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post

Can you run mb3 with ir remote only or must you have key and mouse? After setup I mean.

Standard WMC remote works for me. I got the eBay HP IR to USB one.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #2275 of 3775 Old 12-19-2013, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,878
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post

I myself would also like to watch NFL games if I knew how. I am American living in OZ and cant watch almost any NFL games.frown.gif

NFL game pass on www.NFL.com

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #2276 of 3775 Old 12-19-2013, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Is that really free? My sat provider is no longer carrying ESPN America HD so I no longer have any NFL or baseball frown.gif this would be a decent replacement.
politby is online now  
post #2277 of 3775 Old 12-19-2013, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,878
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 694
The fee is dependent where you live, and how long you want. The first week is free to try. It works well. Some areas it is free. Not sure about where you are located.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #2278 of 3775 Old 12-20-2013, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Santa came early to my house.


Andy_Steb is offline  
post #2279 of 3775 Old 12-20-2013, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,878
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Santa fit that into his bag ? NICE biggrin.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #2280 of 3775 Old 12-21-2013, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Wilky13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbcain View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_anderson_u View Post

Thanks for reply. Have you tried with WMC? I ask, because I tried VNC is unusable (even on LAN). Screen is nearly always blank and I have to constantly refresh. I haven't installed the mirror driver, as I don't want to risk changing anything to do with graphics and no idea if it even works on 8.1 yet
With teamviewer and wmc, just make wmc window size anything but full screen and it'll show up.

I use the windows default Remote Desktop on my laptop to remote into my HTPC. I also use RDP on my iPad to remote in. I do it all the time while my wife is watching tv in WMC on the HTPC. You just have to create a second user in the HTPC and you use that when you remote in or out (just like extenders like an xbox 360 does).


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I have to return some video tapes....
Wilky13 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Flexraid , Intel Core I5 4670k 3 4ghz Lga 1150 Quad Core Desktop Processor , Intel Core I3 4130 3 4 3 Fclga 1150 Processor Bx80646i34130 , Asrock , Asrock Z87m Extreme4 Lga1150 Intel Z87 Chipset Ddr3 Quad Crossfirex Quad Sli Sata3 Usb3 0 Microatx M , Asus , Asus Us , Asus Computer , Asus Components , Norco , Asus Computer International Direct , Flexraid Raid F , Seagate , Seagate Hard Drives , Seagate Freeagent Theater 1080p Hd Media Player Stcea201 Rk , Hitachi , Dell , Windows 7 Vista Xp Media Center Mce Pc Remote Control And Infrared Receiver , Hp Oem Window Media Center Mce Pc Remote Control And Infrared Receiver For Windows7 Vista Xp Home Pr , Intel , Intel Core I5 3570 3 4 Ghz Processor , Intel Pentium G2020 2 9ghz Lga 1155 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Intel Pentium G3220 3 0ghz Lga 1150 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd , Amd A10 6700 Richland 4 2ghz Socket Fm2 65w Quad Core Desktop Processor Amd Radeon Hd Ad6700okhlbox , Amd A6 5400k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd A8 5600k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Quad Core Desk
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off