Adding an additional 3TB drive to an existing volume in Windows 7? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 12:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jeff lam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am running out of space on my D: volume 3TB drive and I want to add an additional 3TB drive to extend this volume. I know 3TB drives can be tricky. How can I use disk management to extend my D: partition/volume with my 2nd 3TB drive?

I have the volume set up as "simple volume" and used GPT to get the full 3TB.
jeff lam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 06:52 AM
Member
 
spidermaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not an answer specifically but: why extend D: vs adding the new 3TB as the E: drive? I'm struggling with similar and am, for the time being, running C: SSD for OS, D: and E: for video content. Media Browser is simply mapped to each and works great w/o having to extend D:

Would be curious if strategically extending would buy me something I'm missing as Im always open to something new.
spidermaker is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
You would need to convert both disks to dynamic disks then create a spanned partition on both drives. I'm not sure if you can do that non-destructively.
almostinsane is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 01:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
NorCalJason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Another option is RAID0...

I'm pretty sure you could migrate data from an existing drive into a RAID array...
NorCalJason is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jeff lam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats interesting... i thought this could be done "on the fly" easily. I guess it's more complicated then I originally thought. So, if you don't have a server, what is the common way to use just a bunch of drives ("JABOD's") say on a new build? Obviously I'm not the only one that has filled up more then one drive on his HTPC and doesnt use a NAS. Do you just map multiple folders from multiple volumes to your one library (such as your "Movies" library)?
Quote:
Originally Posted by spidermaker View Post

Not an answer specifically but: why extend D: vs adding the new 3TB as the E: drive? I'm struggling with similar and am, for the time being, running C: SSD for OS, D: and E: for video content. Media Browser is simply mapped to each and works great w/o having to extend D:
Would be curious if strategically extending would buy me something I'm missing as Im always open to something new.

I'm already using E: for recorded TV. And sometimes I will delete and add other media to my d: drive so that's why I just wanted to let the PC choose where to put these files on one single volume (spread across multiple disks) rather having to manually know what is on each volume and guess how much room I have on D: to add media to it or to my other new volume. So basically I want to use D: as my NAS but attached locally and not on the main network... If that makes any sense...
jeff lam is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,907
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Windows 8, if you are willing to upgrade, can offer you this 'on the fly' storage expansion with a feature called 'Storage Spaces'. You start by creating a virtual storage space much larger than your physical drives. As you filling up your physical drives, you can add new drives to the space without changing anything. So you basically has an infinite virtual parition that can be physically expanded at any time.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #7 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 04:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,749
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 814
I'm not understanding why your not just adding the drive and moving on.

You want it to be a single drive ? And not two separate drives ?

Flexraid ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #8 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jeff lam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

I'm not understanding why your not just adding the drive and moving on.
You want it to be a single drive ? And not two separate drives ?
Flexraid ?

Yes, I'm looking to have one large expandable volume. As I need the disk space I just add drives.
jeff lam is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 05:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,749
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 814
You need Flexraid .

It will do exactly like you want and offers back up of data.

You won't need to format or lose any data either to set it up.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #10 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jeff lam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After doing some research and reading, it looks like Flexraid is exactly what I need. Only question is can it be run on my already set up HTPC running windows 7 and if so how much space will it take up as my C: drive is getting full as well? And I assume I would need 2 additional 3TB drives if I want the Parity for protection???
jeff lam is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 11-11-2012, 08:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,749
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 814
It's takes up very little space on your c drive. It's a small download. No data is stored on your C drive do you'll be fine.

Next up-

You only need 1 parity drive. One drive for parity will allow you back up or rebuild recovery of any of your data drives in event of a data drive failed.

So perhaps one 3TB for parity. That's it. Keep all the drives you have now and pool them. You can add more storage drives to the pool anytime.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #12 of 13 Old 11-11-2012, 09:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,749
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Oh and yes you can run it in weindows 7 or windows home server (whs)

You can run it on a PC or HTPC.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #13 of 13 Old 11-11-2012, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chronoptimist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Windows 8, if you are willing to upgrade, can offer you this 'on the fly' storage expansion with a feature called 'Storage Spaces'. You start by creating a virtual storage space much larger than your physical drives. As you filling up your physical drives, you can add new drives to the space without changing anything. So you basically has an infinite virtual parition that can be physically expanded at any time.
I think you still need to format the drive with ReFS initially to take advantage of Storage Spaces.
Chronoptimist is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off