Review of the ATI TV Wonder Digital Cable Tuner - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 38 Old 11-21-2012, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by racprops View Post

Well I am trying to find the answers, BUT I am going cross eyed reading and searching for the info.
At this point I am fairly happy using this box as a OTA TV HD Tuner..and was totally surprised to hook it up again and find it will not show up.
I tried Beyond TV and ATIs own software with the then new ATI TV Wonder HD tuners on a XP machine back in 2007 and gave up as it was not working all well.
NOW with much newer and faster computers and so much trouble with cable and satellite I am back at it again. A lot has changed in the past 5 years.
I have ONLY been at this for the past month or so.
It is a sharp learning curve and I am doing the best I can.
There is a LOT of INFO here and a LOT of threads...
Your link on goes to snap stream's own system listing and I have already found that and it does list the ATI cards and the ATI external box as well.
http://www.snapstream.com/products/beyondtv/sysreq.asp#supportedtvtuners is the only list of supported tuners I could find at their site, and it does not list the ATI DCT - where do you see it listed?
Quote:
Originally Posted by racprops View Post

A) I tried the ATI Tuner with a cable card with Windows Media Center and I could not get it working NOR could Cox's best techs.
I can assure you that it can and does work on Cox - perhaps the techs you were working with weren't familiar with it, but it's 100% possible to get the tuner you have, working, with a TA, on Cox.
Quote:
Originally Posted by racprops View Post

C) the new problem is it worked once and I removed it to put in two internal tuner cards, but when I tryed to hook it back up again it will not read, it will not be shown as a source.
D) So I am trying to find out why it worked once and not a second time.
Worked with WMC? Or BeyondTV?

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 38 Old 11-21-2012, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
"http://www.snapstream.com/products/beyondtv/sysreq.asp#supportedtvtuners is the only list of supported tuners I could find at their site, and it does not list the ATI DCT - where do you see it listed? "

I see it here:

Without Hardware Encoding:

ASUS TV880
ATI TV Wonder (PCI / USB)
ATI TV Wonder Pro (PCI)
ATI TV Wonder USB 2.0
ATI TV Wonder VE
ATI All-In-Wonder Radeon family
ATI All-In-Wonder "X-series" models (X300, X600, X800, X850)

As USB should all be the same I think this is it. All it needs do is see the incoming USB which it did last week.

And I am working with Beyond TV at this time as I was last week when it "popped" in.

Rich

racprops is offline  
post #33 of 38 Old 11-21-2012, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
 
signcarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
That's a regular tuner not a DCT
signcarver is offline  
post #34 of 38 Old 11-21-2012, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by racprops View Post

"http://www.snapstream.com/products/beyondtv/sysreq.asp#supportedtvtuners is the only list of supported tuners I could find at their site, and it does not list the ATI DCT - where do you see it listed? "
I see it here:
Without Hardware Encoding:
ASUS TV880
ATI TV Wonder (PCI / USB)
ATI TV Wonder Pro (PCI)
ATI TV Wonder USB 2.0
ATI TV Wonder VE
ATI All-In-Wonder Radeon family
ATI All-In-Wonder "X-series" models (X300, X600, X800, X850)
As USB should all be the same I think this is it. All it needs do is see the incoming USB which it did last week.
And I am working with Beyond TV at this time as I was last week when it "popped" in.
Rich

That's not the tuner you have. The ATI TV Wonder USB 2.0 is something else - see http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815116311
You have an ATI Digital Cable Tuner.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #35 of 38 Old 11-21-2012, 10:26 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
True BUT it still out puts VIA USB, and it worked for a couple of day then when unhooked it and then reconnected it it got lost.

Rich

racprops is offline  
post #36 of 38 Old 11-21-2012, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
signcarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
BeyondTV requires a bda driver, I'm not sure the ati dct has one. One of the video cards I used in a system to allow my plus pack channels to be displayed was an ati all in wonder card... I had to remove its tuner as it would only work until the computer was restarted, after a restart the drivers had to be removed and reinstalled again. The older ATI drivers don't like windows 7, I think a 650 might work but it prefers the 750.
signcarver is offline  
post #37 of 38 Old 11-21-2012, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Funny as I was running a pair of old ATI tuners one is a 650 and the other does not seem to have a number it just says it is a TV HDTV Wonder.

I dropped the 650 when moving it to another computer and seemly killed it as it no longer will work.

The older one has been working fine and gone thought a bunch of reboots as I tried to get the Digital tuner to work and it ran find it the firs t computer for weeks.

Both systems are running Windows 7 and 64 bit.

Due to my breaking the 650 is why i figures might as well use this digital tuner to replace it.

Thus this latest exchange.

Rich

I am also on the Snap Stream forum and asking the same questions.

Looking up bda driver I find it has to a part of windows and as the digital tuner will work with WMC i would think it would work with Beyond TV.

racprops is offline  
post #38 of 38 Old 11-26-2012, 01:10 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Here is the answer I received from BTV

Hello Richard,

Thanks for writing in and that is the digital cable card model correct?
Unfortunately, Beyond TV is not compatible with any cable card tuners.

Sincerely,

Michael Bui
SnapStream Media, Inc.
http://www.snapstream.com/

More:

Does that cover using it without a cable card, as a simple OTA Digital Tuner via its USB output?

Rich

Answer:

Hello Rich,

Technically we haven't tested the tuner in that mode, but I've seen some users on the community forums say it does work in that mode.

Sincerely,

Michael Bui
SnapStream Media, Inc.

I am waiting for an answer to this:

I thought I had it running at one time but lost it when I reconnected.

So what is the best way to get BTV to “see” a USB tuner?

Rich

racprops is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off