What RAID should I use for a 3 hard drive (2TB each) setup .... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 04:29 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
vzphoneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have a Dell Dimension 9200 with Intel Core2 Quad 2.40 with 4gig ram. My OS is Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit. The OS is on a Hitachi 1TB drive. I have 3 WD 2TB drives installed, one green and two red. The green drive is now empty and the red drives have about 1Tb of data on one and 1.5Tb on the other (mostly music files). What Raid setup would be best for me to protect the data on the 3, 2TB drives. I've never worked with or setup a RAID but my technical level is high. Any advice would be appreciated. Phoneman cool.gif

The lazy man finds the easiest way ... Ben Franklin
vzphoneman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 04:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,513
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Hardware raid will erase your data so that's out.

Software raid like flex raid is what I would do.

Use the two RED drives as data drives and the empty green as back up drive.

You won't lose any data on the red drives and you can pool them to appear and function as a single drive of double capacity.

Both red drives and data would be backed up with the single dedicated green you use as parity drive

Only you parity drive is erased with flexraid

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #3 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
vzphoneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
A few questions.
Does the parity drive need to be the same size (2TB) as the data drives? Would I be able to add another 2Tb drive to this setup in the future? ...and finally Are you referring to FlexRAID.com software? Thanks for your quick reply by the way. After briefly look it over it does sound like my best solution.

The lazy man finds the easiest way ... Ben Franklin
vzphoneman is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 05:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,513
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by vzphoneman View Post

A few questions.
Does the parity drive need to be the same size (2TB) as the data drives? Would I be able to add another 2Tb drive to this setup in the future? ...and finally Are you referring to FlexRAID.com software? Thanks for your quick reply by the way. After briefly look it over it does sound like my best solution.

Yes Flexraid software raid.

It works great. I use it.

You can definetly add more drives in future. I've added a few myself and my Flexraid drive is now 20tb.

It shows as a single storage drive on my pc.

Parity can be any size drive but it must be a large as your largest drive.

Most people grab a 120$ 3tb when setting it up and use that as parity since it will allow you to add any size up to 3tb in future.

Do you understand how flex raid works ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #5 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
vzphoneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm getting there! I've just started reading the thread "http://www.avsforum.com/t/1421746/should-i-flexraid" and I'm getting up to speed. I liked your suggestion in that thread of buying a cheap 3TB for parity and I could keep the 3, 2TB drives for data. I'm now also now interested in "Crash Plan"... but I do worry about the time involved to back everything up with only DSL speeds. Been there and done that with Mozy until they did away with there unlimited plan. That literally took me months to back and I probably had half the data I have now! Still I think I will look into it as second layer of defense. Thanks for all your input, you got me on the right track. Phoneman

The lazy man finds the easiest way ... Ben Franklin
vzphoneman is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 06:17 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
vzphoneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Do you have any thoughts on "Drive Bender" ?

The lazy man finds the easiest way ... Ben Franklin
vzphoneman is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 06:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,513
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 663
No experience with it

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #8 of 13 Old 11-10-2012, 11:46 PM
Member
 
fventura03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
raid5
fventura03 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 11-11-2012, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lespurgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Windows 8 and drivespace?

I think classic RAID is finally coming to the end of its life, as its features are now becoming central to operating systems. So far, drive combining with backup is the ONLY feature of Windows 8 that makes it look interesting to me.
lespurgeon is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 11-11-2012, 07:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,513
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by fventura03 View Post

raid5

You can't use green drives with hardware raid.

Bad advice. Don't listen.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #11 of 13 Old 11-11-2012, 07:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,513
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by lespurgeon View Post

Windows 8 and drivespace?
I think classic RAID is finally coming to the end of its life, as its features are now becoming central to operating systems. So far, drive combining with backup is the ONLY feature of Windows 8 that makes it look interesting to me.

Advantage of hardware raid is performance and speed.

It's not a good back up solution.

The op should look into software raid like Flexraid with drive pooling

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #12 of 13 Old 11-12-2012, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 248

Snapraid is free and its what I use for my media server. It doesn't do storage pooling and there is no GUI. I use Junction folders to create a "ghetto" drive pool and the cmd line is easy to learn, not very many commands. There is Elucidate if you really need a GUI.

Mrkazador is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 11-12-2012, 03:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,513
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 663
I don't mind paying for great software and recommend Flexraid as a complete solution.

There's usually a free version somewhere for everything but its not always as easy or good.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off