Getting TV Shows and Movies, help please. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 11-11-2012, 06:38 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
SO is there any internet way to receive many of the cable channels??

Like USA, Sci-Fi, BBC-USA, Showtime shows like Burn Notice, Dexter, ETC? OR the shows that run on them? (suggestions please)

I am sick and tired of all services, COX, Direct, and Dish ETC.

For the major networks like ABC, NBC etc. of the TV Channels I can get them Over the Air in HD.

So the only major loses will be the other channels on cable like History channel etc.

And one other feature which is being able to pause and rewind live TV on the DVR and I am betting that can be done with a HTPC somehow..? (suggestions please)

Movies I figure on Net Flics and HULU of other services, (suggestions please)

I am hoping that with these I can find a better mix of movies to watch than what keeps showing up on HBO, Showtime etc. (They seem to run the same old mix of movies…)

Rich

racprops is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 11-11-2012, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
OK Did I say something wrong or is there no answer to these questions?

Rich

racprops is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 11-11-2012, 12:54 PM
Member
 
jdastas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try xbmc as there are addons that may do what you want. Check out this article
jdastas is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 11-11-2012, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks.

Is this something your using??

I ask because I already was slightly sucker in by one of those Free TV and Movies on the Internet deals and after a few trys to sell me some service I gave it up.

Rich

racprops is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 11-11-2012, 02:53 PM
Member
 
jdastas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by racprops View Post

Thanks.
Is this something your using??
I ask because I already was slightly sucker in by one of those Free TV and Movies on the Internet deals and after a few trys to sell me some service I gave it up.
Rich

This is not a for sale service. Basically XBMC is a front end media center for similar to what you can find with Windows Media center. The free cable "app" is an add on that you can download and use like a plugin. Its more difficult for me to explain so here are a few links to help you figure things out.

XBMC wiki


How to Set up XBMC



Free Cable on XBMC demo


Hope this helps
jdastas is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 11-11-2012, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
VERY INTERESTING..

Found it, not easy...

OK NOW to find the FREE Cable Add on??

Almost got it...

Rich

racprops is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 11-11-2012, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Got it downloaded and installed..BUT once up I have to use Task Manger to kill it, where is the OFF button??

First time I thought I was putting IT to sleep BUT it I did my computer and could not wake it up to had to pull the plug...

Cannot seem to find a instruction manual anywhere...

Rich

racprops is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 11-11-2012, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
I don't use this but you may find information in the xbmc wiki?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 11-11-2012, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Not so far...

I did find XBMC Community Forum so posted there...

Rich

racprops is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 11-11-2012, 07:52 PM
Member
 
jdastas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by racprops View Post

Not so far...
I did find XBMC Community Forum so posted there...
Rich

There should be a "shut down" button to close down the program. If not type "C" and that should get you some options.I would recommend installing a different skin besides the default skin "confluence." I personally use Aeon Nox and like it a lot. Its clean and very easy to navigate.
jdastas is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 11-12-2012, 05:17 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Again many thanks I now have it up and running.

I was told this: Press "S" and scroll down to "Exit" to exit XBMC....

It works.

Where can I find Aeon Nox skin?

Rich

racprops is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 11-12-2012, 06:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by racprops View Post

Where can I find Aeon Nox skin?
Rich

See post #9
steelman1991 is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 11-12-2012, 08:12 AM
Member
 
jdastas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by racprops View Post

Again many thanks I now have it up and running.
I was told this: Press "S" and scroll down to "Exit" to exit XBMC....
It works.
Where can I find Aeon Nox skin?
Rich

Under system -- > Appearance -- > Skins, (I believe), I would go check right now but my wife and daughter are watching a movie on it right now,
jdastas is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 11-12-2012, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdastas View Post

Under system -- > Appearance -- > Skins, (I believe), I would go check right now but my wife and daughter are watching a movie on it right now,

Only if previously downloaded and installed - xbmc only comes with Confluence pre-loaded. Either navigate to my previous suggestion or use add-ons section in xbmc.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 11-14-2012, 06:09 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Again I want to thank all that posted in this thread.

I have most of the programs I need to build a internet supplied TV system.

Once fully built it could save me $150.00 per month for cable/satellite service.

Rich

racprops is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off