HBO GO Inside WMC? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 11-12-2012, 08:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gerryinnv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to access HBO GO from inside Windows Media Center? I hate always having to close WMC, open the browser, etc. Thanks!
gerryinnv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 11-13-2012, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 192
This is really your only option:

http://thedigitallifestyle.com/w/index.php/2010/04/27/displaying-a-webpage-inside-windows-7-media-centre/

I don't have HBO any longer but this worked pretty well when I did. I also use it for Pandora, Crackle, and Comcast Xfinity on Demand.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 11-13-2012, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Install Kylo, edit the shortcut it places in WMC to go to HBO GO, profit. Even has full remote support for mouse and keyboard controls.
staknhalo is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 11-13-2012, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by staknhalo View Post

Install Kylo, edit the shortcut it places in WMC to go to HBO GO, profit. Even has full remote support for mouse and keyboard controls.

Hmmm. Shot-in-the-dark idea: maybe this trick might be a way to launch the Netflix Metro app from inside 8MC?

Skickat från min LT18i via Tapatalk 2
politby is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 11-13-2012, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 192
if the netflix app is an exe there are other ways to do that.

http://chaddyess.com/2009-01/media-center-launcher-configurator/

give that a whirl.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #6 of 7 Old 11-23-2012, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gerryinnv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by staknhalo View Post

Install Kylo, edit the shortcut it places in WMC to go to HBO GO, profit. Even has full remote support for mouse and keyboard controls.

That works beautifully, many thanks!
gerryinnv is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-23-2012, 09:50 AM
Member
 
werd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's what I do.

Things needed:
1) Reluanch203: http://code.google.com/p/relaunch/
2) MCE 7 Reset Toolbox (free 30 day trial): http://vistademon.wordpress.com/2012/02/03/mce-7-reset-toolbox-v-4-0/
3) Kylo (optional)

First install the relaunch and mce7 tools. Within relaunch you can add direct links to websites. I set it up to open fullscreen in chrome and control it with either a keyboard or my Harmony One (using assassins harmony mouse trick). With relaunch you can set it to 'close" so that after you close the website WMC will open backup. Similar to hulu desktop. Further with relaunch203 you can add images etc.

With MCE7 reset (similar to MCStudio except it still works) you can edit your WMC start menu. So below is a crappy iphone pick of my "streaming" section. Where I have local streamers like netflix, hulu desktop and also have websites that open (HBOGO, xfinity On demand, mlb.tv etc) .Lastly I moved the kylo website to the end of streamers as well to ad a few more options.

I also have an alt+f4 button programed to my harmony one so it is easy to get back to WMC for me.

Hope this helps.

werd is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off