"Commericals of death" - am I missing something? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-15-2012, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Greg_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 3,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My wife likes to watch streaming content from the websites of various broadcast TV providers (NBC, CBS, CW, etc.). Most of the time the commercials play without any problem but sometimes we encounter an "interactive" commercial. For example, one time was a Samsung tablet where we were told to move the pen around. Another one was a big link to Kohl's department store. For all of these, we are unable to resume the program (even after visiting the websites). Is there a "continue" button (or set of actions) that I'm missing? Thanks!

Greg
Greg_R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-15-2012, 05:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Greg_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 3,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any ideas?
Greg_R is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-16-2012, 12:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Use Adblock and bypass the commercials altogether?
StinDaWg is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 11-16-2012, 06:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg_R View Post

Any ideas?
Don't be dyslexic in thread titles?

Otherwise, the answer is indeed AdBlock and FlashBlock.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-16-2012, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
lovekeiiy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
If you're watching on the PC, I suggesting using Hulu as much as possible. They don't do that other than wanting which commercial may be of interest, but will pick one after so many seconds. As for the other commercials, you just have to look for the continue or close button. If you have it on full screen, trying getting out of full screen, "esc" key usually works, and you may find it.

I have run into this issue a little, but usually flash player is crapping out. I think it's usually the site's poor design.

I'm not sure how effective FlashBlock may be since quite of a few of those sites use Flash Player.
lovekeiiy is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-17-2012, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 270
You can whitelist any site you want with FlashBlock, and it will keep you from seeing all the ad junk on the rest. It's a must-have in my house.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-19-2012, 11:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Greg_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 3,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovekeiiy View Post

If you're watching on the PC, I suggesting using Hulu as much as possible. They don't do that other than wanting which commercial may be of interest, but will pick one after so many seconds. As for the other commercials, you just have to look for the continue or close button. If you have it on full screen, trying getting out of full screen, "esc" key usually works, and you may find it.
I have run into this issue a little, but usually flash player is crapping out. I think it's usually the site's poor design.
I'm not sure how effective FlashBlock may be since quite of a few of those sites use Flash Player.
Thanks, I think you understood my issue. Let's take the SyFy website. When you watch a full episode it is entirely inside a flash wrapper. I -think- the commercial gets pushed within this wrapper. In other words, if I whitelist the episode I'm also going to get the commercial. The commercial will play and then there is no way to continue with the program. Now I have to reload the page, click to the point in the episode, watch a bunch of additional commercials, and then hope that I don't get a 'commercial of death' again.

I will try your ESC idea the next time it happens, thanks.

I'm using IE9 because I didn't want to have to deal with all the web browser add-ons for a simple HTPC. I agree that Hulu is the way to go when ever possible; these particular shows are either not on Hulu or are the latest episode (and only on Hulu plus or the network's website).
Quote:
Don't be dyslexic in thread titles?
We're talking about the commercials of death, not the death of commercials. Thanks.
Greg_R is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-20-2012, 07:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
lovekeiiy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I've run into your issue on AETV for Hoarders. It's not all time. In the times it does, it's flash player. I've also had flash player goof, but in a good way, where no commercials played.

I personally don't use IE, I prefer Chrome. When I had problems, it usually occurred across all browsers--IE, Chrome, Firefox.

I think it's just they were SyFy or whatever websites are setup with flash player. You may want to try uninstalling and reinstalling flash player or the browser. It may help
lovekeiiy is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 11-20-2012, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg_R View Post

We're talking about the commercials of death, not the death of commercials. Thanks.
Look at your thread title a little closer...
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 11-20-2012, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,668
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post

Look at your thread title a little closer...

Dno't you konw abuot taht sutdy whree as lnog as the fisrt and lsat lettres are corerct msot peolpe can stlil raed it?
Dark_Slayer is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off