nVidia Driver update? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 11-18-2012, 08:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,805
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Windows Update is asking to install the following:
Code:
nVidia - Graphics Adapter WDDM1.1, Graphics Adapter WDDM1.2, Other hardware - NVIDIA GeForce GT 430

Download size: 171.6 MB

You may need to restart your computer for this update to take effect.

Update type: Important

nVidia Graphics Adapter WDDM1.1, Graphics Adapter WDDM1.2, Other hardware software update released in October, 2012

More information: 
http://sysdev.microsoft.com/support/default.aspx

Help and Support: 
http://support.microsoft.com/select/?target=hub

I am currently on WHQL 301.42. I notice on the GeForce website that the current WHQL driver is 306.97. Are these the same as the 306.97 driver release date is October 10, 2012.

I also looked at the change log and it looks as if this driver is mostly updates for better performance for gaming. Is anybody using this driver? What, if any, improvements are you seeing for HTPC use? Does it fix the 29/59 bug? I have two channels infected with this that play beautifully with my Echo extender but are un-watchable using my HTPC, less I want to either be put into an hypnotic trance or barf on my carpet.

Thanks..

Sammy2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 11-18-2012, 11:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Sammy I'm using the 306.97 driver without any problems. I moved up because I couldn't get my 'custom res for 23.976' to stick with any of the previous releases - no other benefits, increased performance that I can see since upgrading. Sorry can't help with the 29/59 bug - don't use those refresh rates.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 11-18-2012, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,805
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Do you have to re-configure the custom refresh rates? Mine's already at 23.9758 and that's good enough for me. If I have to do it all over again and there's no other performance increase for me then it isn't worth it to me to update it as everything is working fine right now.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 11-18-2012, 12:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Yes I believe each upgrade requires a further stab at the custom resolution - If it hadn't been for the issue I had with my custom resolutions not sticking with the previous drivers I doubt I would have upgraded. Did it more out of necessity and desperation.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 11-18-2012, 01:42 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,106
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Do you have to re-configure the custom refresh rates? Mine's already at 23.9758 and that's good enough for me. If I have to do it all over again and there's no other performance increase for me then it isn't worth it to me to update it as everything is working fine right now.
When installing a new driver, there is an option: Custom mode > "Perform a clean install". If you select this, all the previous settings for the graphics card will be lost. Otherwise they will be kept.
steelman1991 and Sammy2 like this.
renethx is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 11-18-2012, 02:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Thanks Renethx that will save a lot of hassle in the future I'm sure
steelman1991 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 11-18-2012, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Karyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Do you have to re-configure the custom refresh rates? Mine's already at 23.9758 and that's good enough for me. If I have to do it all over again and there's no other performance increase for me then it isn't worth it to me to update it as everything is working fine right now.

Yes, I had to reset my settings, but the good news was nVidia finally made it so that you can actually see the sliders for the vertical and horizontal adjustment for screen size now, so it is easier now to get things set up again.

I don't update video drivers very often, so I don't know how long ago they made that change.
Karyk is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 11-18-2012, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Karyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

When installing a new driver, there is an option: Custom mode > "Perform a clean install". If you select this, all the previous settings for the graphics card will be lost. Otherwise they will be kept.

Not if the update is through Windows Update, which is how mine arrived.
Karyk is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 11-18-2012, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,805
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

When installing a new driver, there is an option: Custom mode > "Perform a clean install". If you select this, all the previous settings for the graphics card will be lost. Otherwise they will be kept.

That said, is there any reason to install this update? It seems to be geared more towards gaming and 6xx cards. I have a GT 430 in an HTPC that sees absolutely no gaming and has real smooth playback already. If it ain't broken, fix it until it is? Or does this help with the 29/59 bug?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 11-18-2012, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,805
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karyk View Post

Not if the update is through Windows Update, which is how mine arrived.

This is exactly why I'm asking here. I have Windows Update set to let me decide rather than just doing stuff I maybe do not want it to do. If I do the update, it will be from nVidia's website.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 11-18-2012, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Or does this help with the 29/59 bug?

That is a Windows issue.
almostinsane is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 11-19-2012, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by almostinsane View Post

That is a Windows issue.

How so when you can rollback drivers and fix the issue.... confused.gif

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 11-19-2012, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
It's not fixed it just isn't as noticeable.
almostinsane is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 11-19-2012, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vlad Theimpaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Windows Update is asking to install the following:
Code:
nVidia - Graphics Adapter WDDM1.1, Graphics Adapter WDDM1.2, Other hardware - NVIDIA GeForce GT 430
Download size: 171.6 MB
You may need to restart your computer for this update to take effect.
Update type: Important
nVidia Graphics Adapter WDDM1.1, Graphics Adapter WDDM1.2, Other hardware software update released in October, 2012
More information: 
http://sysdev.microsoft.com/support/default.aspx
Help and Support: 
http://support.microsoft.com/select/?target=hub

Sammy2, I believe I have the exact same graphics card as you, and I too am getting the same update prompt on my system (Win7 x64). The DL size is a little bigger in my case, something like 220MB. Don't know why this one is classified as an "Important" update by MS, but at the moment I am hesitant to apply this update... simply because everything is working just fine right now. I'll be watching this thread.

Vlad Theimpaler is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off