Are mounting brackets necessary for a 2.5" SSD? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 Old 11-19-2012, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
C E Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm planning on installing an SSD in my HTPC and I'm wondering if there's any need to bother with mounting brackets. Since SSD's don't have moving parts, it shouldn't be an issue to just toss it into a 3.5 inch bay without brackets, right? I never move the computer around, so it should stay put. Will this work, or should I just go with brackets to be on the safe side?
C E Jones is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 Old 11-19-2012, 03:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
Most good SSD models come with a 2.5" to 3.5" adapter so just check the model you buy.

Often better level SSDs come with this while cheaper ones do not. Example Vertex3 OCZ does but some agility3 doesn't.

What SSD are you looking at?


Most SSD are 2.5" and most case bays are 3.5" so if it doesn't come with it just buy the adapter separate. They are cheap and easily available.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #3 of 27 Old 11-19-2012, 03:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Or just spend $2 for some Velcro and call it a day
flocko is offline  
post #4 of 27 Old 11-19-2012, 03:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 51
i personally would make sure it doesnt move at least. vibration from other components can affect it. i might even use velrco or padded double sided tape at least. :P

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is online now  
post #5 of 27 Old 11-19-2012, 04:16 PM
Member
 
josrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is held in place with 2 wire ties. I have some closed cell packing foam between the bracket and the ssd.
josrq is offline  
post #6 of 27 Old 11-19-2012, 04:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
Two sides tape would work just fine but honestly an adapter costs couple bucks so just do it right .

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #7 of 27 Old 11-19-2012, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Karyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Not quite the same thing, but back with whatever the last version of Windows was where the install program did not recognize CD drives, I kept a floppy drive in the base of a tower computer, just in case I needed to do a clean install. It was not hooked up to anything, or tied down in any way. It never caused an issue. Gravity is a wonderful tool.
Karyk is offline  
post #8 of 27 Old 11-19-2012, 04:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
I'd just get an SSD that came with adapter.

Vertex3 SSD 120GB is on sale Black Friday for $49 and comes with adapter.

There's no reason to be cheap and do it half assed IMO

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #9 of 27 Old 11-19-2012, 05:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Vertex3 SSD 120GB is on sale Black Friday for $49 and comes with adapter.
There's no reason to be cheap and do it half assed IMO

I thought we weren't going half assed ? biggrin.gif
flocko is offline  
post #10 of 27 Old 11-19-2012, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

There's no reason to be cheap and do it half assed IMO

But that's the thing. There is no need for an adapter if you have some 3m tape laying around. You won't even see the hard drive with the side cover on so what does it matter? I had mine taped for a year or so, then I took it out to move it and it was stuck on there so well it look a few minutes to carefully peel it off. It's not going anywhere. smile.gif

I didn't even bother re-taping it into the new pc. It's just sitting inside and it's not going anywhere since I never move it.
StinDaWg is offline  
post #11 of 27 Old 11-19-2012, 10:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Right now I have an SSD in an adapter bracket mounted in the 3.5" external bay on my HTPC. I'm thinking of adding a card reader to that hole and if it means I have to move the SSD to do it I guess I'll be going all half assed on you and sticking it down with a bit of Velcro...Wanna buy a slightly used bracket? tongue.gif


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Just as big an idea thief as)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
olyteddy is offline  
post #12 of 27 Old 11-19-2012, 11:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
Lol...

I've done it.

I've actually not mounted HDDs too...

Gravity does most if the work .

But if you know upfront my point is its easy enought to do it right.


My hhlalf ass attempts are usually cause I don't have what it takes to do it right.


I can't beat anyone up too much since I do it too.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #13 of 27 Old 11-21-2012, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
C E Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

Right now I have an SSD in an adapter bracket mounted in the 3.5" external bay on my HTPC. I'm thinking of adding a card reader to that hole and if it means I have to move the SSD to do it I guess I'll be going all half assed on you and sticking it down with a bit of Velcro...Wanna buy a slightly used bracket? tongue.gif

How much for the used bracket? And is shipping included or extra? biggrin.gif

It was more out of laziness than cheapness that I asked, but I guess if the SSD I buy comes with one I'll use it. Thanks for all the tips smile.gif
C E Jones is offline  
post #14 of 27 Old 11-22-2012, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
kesawi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 23
If you have a 3.5" bay just mount one side of the SSD. They're light and rigid enough that it shouldn't be a problem.

kesawi is offline  
post #15 of 27 Old 11-22-2012, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by aliaskary77 View Post

i personally would make sure it doesnt move at least. vibration from other components can affect it.

Huh? We are talking about SSDs and not HDDs, right?
ilovejedd is offline  
post #16 of 27 Old 11-22-2012, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Vertex3 SSD 120GB is on sale Black Friday for $49 and comes with adapter.

I'd like to know where. TigerDirect website has it for $109.99 and Newegg's already sold out. *sigh* Dunno how I missed the deal. I kept checking Newegg throughout the day.

Edit:
Great. Just refreshed my browser and it's down to $49.99 but looks like TigerDirect's servers are getting hit heavily. I'm getting a server error trying to check out.
ilovejedd is offline  
post #17 of 27 Old 11-22-2012, 10:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilovejedd View Post

I'd like to know where. TigerDirect website has it for $109.99 and Newegg's already sold out. *sigh* Dunno how I missed the deal. I kept checking Newegg throughout the day.
Edit:
Great. Just refreshed my browser and it's down to $49.99 but looks like TigerDirect's servers are getting hit heavily. I'm getting a server error trying to check out.

Yup.

I tried about 15 times before it took my order.

I checked with my Credit Card statement and it appears pending.. so I think I got one.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #18 of 27 Old 11-22-2012, 10:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
Actually it looks like the whole tiger direct website has crashed.. lol

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=91218&sku=O261-6380&cm_re=Homepage-_-Zone1_3-_-CatId_5298_O261-6380

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #19 of 27 Old 11-23-2012, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoshDorhyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kesawi View Post

If you have a 3.5" bay just mount one side of the SSD. They're light and rigid enough that it shouldn't be a problem.

That's all I do. Run 1 screw through a hole into the drive. Bend and formed the cables so they weren't going to stress the connectors (which I do anyways with the SATA ones) and plugged them in. There really is no need for the bracket unless you want to be able to throw the PC around.
JoshDorhyke is offline  
post #20 of 27 Old 10-02-2013, 11:53 AM
Newbie
 
Kelsea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi guys,

 

Personally, I would get a reliable with high rating converter bracket for my SSD, yet it is not cheap nor expensive. (let say 5-12 bucks at most?) What do you know, SSD price does get cheaper but it is still not that cheap. It is just my thought. :) I hope this comment helps you guys!

Kelsea is offline  
post #21 of 27 Old 10-02-2013, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
user4avsforum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by flocko View Post

Or just spend $2 for some Velcro and call it a day

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Two sides tape would work just fine but honestly an adapter costs couple bucks so just do it right .

Quote:
Originally Posted by kesawi View Post

If you have a 3.5" bay just mount one side of the SSD. They're light and rigid enough that it shouldn't be a problem.

Any of these will work fine. I have used Velcro and have also hung one vertically with two screws from the top of a 3.5" multi-drive bay.
user4avsforum is offline  
post #22 of 27 Old 10-02-2013, 02:49 PM
Member
 
mud sloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelsea View Post

Hi guys,

Personally, I would get a reliable with high rating converter bracket for my SSD, yet it is not cheap nor expensive. (let say 5-12 bucks at most?) What do you know, SSD price does get cheaper but it is still not that cheap. It is just my thought. smile.gif I hope this comment helps you guys!
This thread was nearly a year old..... Just....why?
mud sloth is offline  
post #23 of 27 Old 10-02-2013, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,579
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by mud sloth View Post

This thread was nearly a year old..... Just....why?

You went over your 2 post per year average to point out a Necromancer biggrin.gif
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #24 of 27 Old 10-03-2013, 04:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 138
I usually keep an eye on the various deal websites and pick up items like 2.5" to 3.5" adapter brackets when they're cheap. That way I've always got one on hand when I need it. I think I've still got a few brackets waiting to be put to good use.
captain_video is online now  
post #25 of 27 Old 10-04-2013, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I am going to make you all wait and post my opinion on this next year. smile.gif
DanPackMan is online now  
post #26 of 27 Old 10-04-2013, 01:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
lol

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #27 of 27 Old 10-05-2013, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
ikkuranus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Mine is held in place by the bundle of unused cables from my psu. Before anyone says your 600t has 6 2.5 compatible sleds I already know. I chose not to use them at least till I have more then 1 drive in the upper 3.5/2.5 cage.


ikkuranus is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off