Anyone use intel SSD cache to speed up a HDD ?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 11-19-2012, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,033
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Worth it?

I have spare 60gb SSD laying around. I have larger SSD for system drive do wondering if I should use it to speed up a storage drive.

Anyone done this ?

Thoughts ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 11-19-2012, 05:12 PM
Member
 
sidefx79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Must admit I've not tried it, but I wouldn't think you'll get much or any benefit caching a storage drive - presumably all files on there are quite large(?) so it won't be able to cache many of them. And I think the main benefits of SSDs come from caching relatively small frequently used files (such as all the OS files, program files, etc) In fact I seem to recall some info about Intel SSD caching not even trying to cache files bigger than a few MBs so you might end up caching very little.


EDIT: Having said that (and reading a bit more about it) if you have programs or games installed on your HDD you should see some decent performance improvements. biggrin.gif
sidefx79 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 11-19-2012, 11:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 120
I use SSD caching on my HDD in my development PC. I even got one of Intels special cache SSDs for that purpose (20GB SLC drive)

I don't have room on my main SSD for all the development resources i need (and some games are on there as well), and since its quite a lot of small files, it sure feels like the cache is doing a good job.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 11-19-2012, 11:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,033
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

I use SSD caching on my HDD in my development PC. I even got one of Intels special cache SSDs for that purpose (20GB SLC drive)
I don't have room on my main SSD for all the development resources i need (and some games are on there as well), and since its quite a lot of small files, it sure feels like the cache is doing a good job.

Cool. Thanks.

Easy to set up?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 11-20-2012, 01:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Just install drive and use Intels driver tool in Windows, nothing spectacular.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 11-20-2012, 06:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

I use SSD caching on my HDD in my development PC. I even got one of Intels special cache SSDs for that purpose (20GB SLC drive)
I don't have room on my main SSD for all the development resources i need (and some games are on there as well), and since its quite a lot of small files, it sure feels like the cache is doing a good job.

Thanks for posting this. I was thinking of doing the same for my dev machine at work with one of the cache SSDs but I was not sure if it would benefit vs. just replacing the whole HDD with a large SSD (expensive!). I'd give anything to speed up IntelliJ biggrin.gif.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 11-20-2012, 09:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,033
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Awesome! I'll give it a go!

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 11-20-2012, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 120
It does not compare to a real SSD at all, there is still a world of difference there. But it does help of course.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 11-20-2012, 09:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,033
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Yeah I have SSD for my Os. I'm thinking just use my spare drive to boost system storage drive.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 11-20-2012, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Puwaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 34
*Cough*

ZFS could use that smaller SSD as a cach for your storage server.

*Cough*
Puwaha is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 11-20-2012, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Pure storage doesn't need caching. You can easily saturate a GBit network line with a good storage setup, everything else is just wasted.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 11-20-2012, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,033
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puwaha View Post

*Cough*
ZFS could use that smaller SSD as a cach for your storage server.
*Cough*

But would I benefit using that on a 20TB whs server vs a 2TB local HDD ?

How big SSD can it take ?

Can you use it to boost a RAID0 array of two 1TB 7200rpm drives ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 11-20-2012, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,033
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

Pure storage doesn't need caching. You can easily saturate a GBit network line with a good storage setup, everything else is just wasted.

I was thinking more on my local HDD (2TB Hitachi 6g 7200rpm)

I use it for all sorts of stuff that's not permanent storage.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 11-20-2012, 11:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,033
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puwaha View Post

*Cough*
ZFS could use that smaller SSD as a cach for your storage server.
*Cough*

Tell me more. You have my attention. Why would I change to this on my server rebuild?

What's advantage over Flexraid and WHS2011 I have now ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 11-20-2012, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 128
I don't see any benefit for media storage, even if the network weren't the bottleneck, assuming the caching scheme is some kind of variant of LRU. Think about these http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cache_algorithms compared to the pattern of usage with media storage -- it's too random.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 11-20-2012, 11:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,033
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

I don't see any benefit for media storage, even if the network weren't the bottleneck, assuming the caching scheme is some kind of variant of LRU. Think about these http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cache_algorithms compared to the pattern of usage with media storage.

I'm not concerned with media storage as much. I consider that permanent storage and place finished movie folders on my server. Once that's done all I need is to play it back. That's easy.

I'm more thinking of a local HDD. I have 4.3Tb of local storage on my desktop. One hitachi 2tb 7200 sata3 HDD, a 2tb RAID 0 array of two Samsung 7200rpm 1TBs, and a 300GB velociraptor than holds my current organized iTunes mp3 collection.

All of my music and movies are stored on me Flexraid server.

My local HDDs are for all sorts of non permanent stuff. I use them constantly -

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off