Is my processor holding back 1080p? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-20-2012, 02:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ps2cho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HTPC:

AMD BE-3200 1.9GHz Dual Core
2GB RAM
HD4550 512MB.

Using Serviio as the player streaming to the PS3, 720p video is showing ~40-55% cpu utilization.

Is my graphics card offloading the data or is this older AMD dual core struggling?

Thanks!
ps2cho is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-20-2012, 02:51 PM
Member
 
jdmag00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Townsend, MA
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Are you trying to transcode with servio? If so the CPU might be your issue I have an amd 250u 1.8ghz DC that works fine in my htpc with a 5450 but the video card takes care of most of the work. In your case I don't think video is doing much of anything.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
jdmag00 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-20-2012, 09:51 PM
Member
 
Ryan__M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah doesn't sound like your vid card is helping at all. I have an HTPC with probably a fairly equivalent vid card and C2D E6300 and I get ~5% CPU usage playing BD's. Check the setting in the software to see if 'hardware acceleration' or some similarly names setting is enabled.
Ryan__M is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 11-20-2012, 10:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
is one of your CPU cores pegged, and the other nearly idle?

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-25-2012, 11:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ps2cho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe it is a driver issue then...I'll update the ATI drivers and see if that helps.

I would have thought the 65nm 1.9GHz /w HD4550 should be enough. The HD4550 says its easily 1080p capable.
ps2cho is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off