What is the best processor for an FM1 scoket for video encoding? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 11-23-2012, 07:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
adrock0211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my HTPC already built and wasn't planning on doing a lot of encoding with it but as things have progressed I am ripping more and more movies and eventually I think I might have to start batch encoding lots of the movies to decrease size on the HDD. I current have the AMD A8-3850 Llano 2.9GHz Quad Core chip in the system and I am just wondering.....if money is no object, is there any other FM1 socket chip that will give me noticeable increase in speed of encoding.

Also it should be noted that the system is already maxed out on 8GB of DDR3 RAM as well so I don't think I can get any performance increase there.

Thanks.
adrock0211 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 11-23-2012, 07:08 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
A8-3870K 3.0 GHz (can be overclocked to any as long as it is stable) is the best FM1 processor. But if money is no object, you'd better buy Core i5/i7 (1.5-2 times faster than A8-3850).

x264 720p24 converson
x264 1080p24 conversion

Well, if money is no object, building a server (up to 24 HDDs = 72 TB or more) is another choice.
renethx is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 11-23-2012, 07:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
adrock0211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info. Unfortunately I am locked into this mobo that is a FM1 socket so the i5 and i7 is out of the question unless I also spring for a new mobo.
adrock0211 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 11-23-2012, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 2,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Looks like the FM1 supports the following so no -
the socket FM1 works with dual, triple and quad-core desktop processors with frequencies up to 3000 MHz. The socket supports dual-channel DDR3 memory up to DDR3-1866, and, optionally, integrated graphics processing unit.

You will gain the most by going to a 6 core. Here is an example of some HB encodings I did on a few different machines.

Some results of setting up files same on each pc for Handbrake -
==============================
The file was .46 GB.

AMD Athlon X4 620 OC'd 3.2
Encoding job completed: 0:15:24

AMD Athlon 1090t X6 stock 3.2
encoding job completed: 0:08:30
==============================
This 2nd file was 2.19gb

AMD Athlon X4 620 OC'd 3.2
encoding job completed: 1:22:20

AMD Athlon 1090t X6 stock 3.2
encoding job completed: 0:48:20

"Dang! You got shocks, pegs... lucky! You ever take it off any sweet jumps? "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 11-23-2012, 09:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
adrock0211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mobo is the ASRock A75M.
adrock0211 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 11-23-2012, 11:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tiddles88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
An i7 3770, K entirely optional. The old FM1's are basically tweaked Athlon II's and are slow for any CPU heavy task.
Tiddles88 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-24-2012, 06:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

A8-3870K 3.0 GHz (can be overclocked to any as long as it is stable) is the best FM1 processor. But if money is no object, you'd better buy Core i5/i7 (1.5-2 times faster than A8-3850).
x264 720p24 converson
x264 1080p24 conversion
Well, if money is no object, building a server (up to 24 HDDs = 72 TB or more) is another choice.

This. 3870K overclocked is the best you'll do on that board. The effort might gain you another 20% in cpu grunt, tops, and be loud, hot and thirsty. It's probably easier to just add HDD space.

Does anyone know of any CUDA assisted encoding? Adding an nvidia GPU would help in that instance.
Ruiner is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off