Breaking up FlexRaid array? Anything need to do to remove a HDD from a FLEXRAID server ? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 38 Old 12-26-2012, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,351
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 761
^ reason for that post is everything I am seeing is leading me to believe it's a bad drive that is giving me the problem. Not 100% dead yet but some issue on it. It's one of the GREEN drives. I might keep trying adding one more at a time each night and seeing if it takes till I find the bad one.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 38 Old 12-26-2012, 01:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 230
This issue is not one with your drive. I have had this issue before as well.
assassin is online now  
post #33 of 38 Old 12-26-2012, 01:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Btw no issues with green drives for almost a year in my flexraid server.
assassin is online now  
post #34 of 38 Old 12-26-2012, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,351
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

This issue is not one with your drive. I have had this issue before as well.

Any idea what it is ?

I just make a 12TB pool with 4 3TB drives (one totally full) it took 6 hours but it works fine.

I plan to try to make another pool with the others and figure out which drive is giving me the error. Then I will just copy the data from it and exclude it from the pool. I don't mind RMA it and add it back in the replacement later. I have enough storage to do this.

One of them is clicking. It's either an EARZ or EARS 2TB. I don't want to take a chance. Once the flexraid and snapshot is up and running I don't mind as much a failure.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #35 of 38 Old 12-26-2012, 03:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,351
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Btw no issues with green drives for almost a year in my flexraid server.

I hate to be so critical because I used to be a WD guy. But I have had luck that is terrible recently. I forgave the first few RMA I did... but this is just silly now.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #36 of 38 Old 12-27-2012, 09:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,351
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

This issue is not one with your drive. I have had this issue before as well.

How did you fix ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #37 of 38 Old 12-27-2012, 01:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
tomandbeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

I hate to be so critical because I used to be a WD guy. But I have had luck that is terrible recently. I forgave the first few RMA I did... but this is just silly now.

FWIW, I've had good luck migrating all data off the disk, then "remounting" if that's the correct verb.
matter of fact, had to do it too a WD blue 1T last weekend.


It obviously doesn't fix shorts, clicking and crashed heads. smile.gif
tomandbeth is offline  
post #38 of 38 Old 12-28-2012, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,351
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomandbeth View Post

FWIW, I've had good luck migrating all data off the disk, then "remounting" if that's the correct verb.
matter of fact, had to do it too a WD blue 1T last weekend.
It obviously doesn't fix shorts, clicking and crashed heads. smile.gif

Your saying you basically copied off the data from the original to the new flexraid array- then reformatted and remounted the drive raw ????

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off