HTPC and Server in one? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-24-2012, 11:55 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jeff lam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was thinking about building a server to feed my HTPC and other PC's in the house as well as providing data access outside my network as well when I need it. Then it occured to me my HTPC could possibly double as a server if it was powerful enough. It currently runs Plex on it already along with all the HTPC functionality. So instead of having 2 power hungry boxes, would it be possible to just build one ultimate PC that can act as a full HTPC and a full Server? Can Windows 7 be a good server OS?
jeff lam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-25-2012, 05:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,993
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 593
You can do it but then it gets bigger and heavier... Many rather a server in an unseen location and a cute HTPC in living room.

If that don't bother you go for it.

I'd say grandia08 case might fit the application.

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-25-2012, 09:14 AM
Member
 
New_guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is exactly what I am doing at the moment, I have the Silverstone GD08 case, 16TB of WD red drives, and I also got the rack ears for the case so it will be mounted in my home theater rack adding HTPC functionality while being able to store content to stream to the rest of the house. I also use a powerAV kit for whole home wired interwebs as well.
New_guy is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 11-26-2012, 12:56 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jeff lam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's interesting. So would i be missing any important functionality going with windows 7 as an OS rather then windows home server 2011?
jeff lam is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-26-2012, 01:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff lam View Post

That's interesting. So would i be missing any important functionality going with windows 7 as an OS rather then windows home server 2011?

Native automated backups for all windows clients on the same network, and single remote desktop gateway to all other W7 pro clients on the same network

Otherwise, no

In fact, it's a little easier to get some things going with just a basic windows install opposed to using some workarounds to get the server desktop running everything you want
Dark_Slayer is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off