Low sound level with a bunch of HD channels for HTPC with Ceton InfinitTV tuner/Windows 7 x64 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-25-2012, 03:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gtmtnbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I have an HTPC with Ceton InfiniTV running Windows 7 x64 with Verizon FIOS TV (Eastern Mass). The issue is that a bunch of my HD channels seem to have lower sound levels than their SD equivalent. It's not true for all content on that channel as sometimes a commercial will come on and it's really loud.

The other TV has a Verizon DVR and I verified that the volume level is the same between the two channels so I know it's not my incoming FIOS signal.

I also switched out the HTPC with the Verizon DVR to rule out the Yamaha receiver that I'm using. The sound is normal.

So it must be the Ceton InfiniTV tuner and/or Windows 7/Windows Media Center that is causing the issue.

Any thoughts on what the problem might be and how I could trace the cause?
gtmtnbiker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-27-2012, 06:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gtmtnbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So no one else has this type of issue? Ceton Support got back to me and says that they think it's a Windows 7/Media Center issue.
Not sure how I can debug this.

For now, I'm living with it by boosting the volume on the receiver and muting it occasionally if a really loud newsbreak or commercial comes on. I started the process of building another HTPC to replace my wife's DVR. I'll see if I get the same problem with the other machine once all the parts come in and it's built.
gtmtnbiker is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-30-2012, 09:47 PM
Member
 
davefre99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: So. Calif.
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just set up an MCE HTPC using and HDHR Prime and see the same situation. I get lower volume on some channels until a commercial comes on and the it blasts me. I can go to another channel and the volume is significantly louder then some others.
i think it has to do with the digital audio coming from my HDMI cable out of the HTPC. I believe it may be that some audio is decoded differently like DD or ac3 stereo and 5.1. I say this because my TV is stereo only and sees all digital audio as 2.0 audio only and my guess is it does not properly decode anything else.
davefre99 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-04-2012, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gtmtnbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there a way to determine what kind of audio is being broadcasted?
gtmtnbiker is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-21-2013, 10:01 AM
Newbie
 
bossmann32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had this problem for a few years now- I keep searching and trying new things but nothing has worked yet. It is only the HD channels from Charter Communications that are low for me.

bossmann32 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off