Why did my SSD diappear? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 11-26-2012, 01:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Has anyone had this happen before?

http://forum.crucial.com/t5/Solid-State-Drives-SSD-Knowledge/Why-did-my-SSD-quot-disappear-quot-from-my-system/ta-p/65215

I should say, has anyone else had this happen. Not fun, thought I was going to have to process a warranty replacment
Dark_Slayer is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 11-26-2012, 06:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,342
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Yup. Been there and done that.

Multiple brands too.

It's the most common version of SSD failure which failure in general is uncommon.

This happens to about 1% off all SSDs across all brand and models according to what I've read.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 11-26-2012, 07:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,342
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
I'd still RMA it. Disappearing from Bios is not a good issue to have with any SSD.

I RMA a Crucial 64gb and older Vertex2 60gb SSD for that problem.

I didn't power cycle it or try fix. I just swapped out.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 11-30-2012, 02:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,342
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

Has anyone had this happen before?
http://forum.crucial.com/t5/Solid-State-Drives-SSD-Knowledge/Why-did-my-SSD-quot-disappear-quot-from-my-system/ta-p/65215
I should say, has anyone else had this happen. Not fun, thought I was going to have to process a warranty replacment

Any luck on this one?

Did you ever update the firmware?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 11-30-2012, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Any luck on this one?
Did you ever update the firmware?

Well, the firmware was already up to date, but the power cycle brought it back.

It felt kind of silly following those steps, but fortunately it was not a critical PC.

I really think a lot of the RMAs on SSDs could have been solved this way before having it replaced. It seems like some kind of UEFI bios snafu to me, but I don't really know how to debug that other than just flashing a new bios. Hope it doesn't happen again !!
Dark_Slayer is online now  
post #6 of 14 Old 11-30-2012, 03:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,342
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Which drive was it?

I had that happen to me before. I RMA it. It's just easier sometimes to do that.

I am sure your right and lots of RMA are because of this. return data is skewed by the ease in which a consumer can create and RMA and process it.

Some companies let you set up RMA online yourself without talking to anyone. Those companies have the highest return rates.

Companies that make you call in- or troubleshoot first- Obviously have the lowest RMA. Spend on tech support and you save on return costs... Seems logical to me.

Glad you got it back working. Was the data still on it ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 11-30-2012, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Glad you got it back working. Was the data still on it ?

Yes everything intact, but I don't really keep anything precious on my OS drives anyway

If I had a spare SSD, I'd probably just RMA it

The drive was an Agility 3 60GB eek.gif
Dark_Slayer is online now  
post #8 of 14 Old 11-30-2012, 03:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tiddles88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Another quality OCZ product, my Agility died within 48hrs. For that I'm avoiding anything by OCZ period.
Tiddles88 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 11-30-2012, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 317
It's working fine now. Yours might not have really died

This and other SSDs seem to play a disappearing act if they lose power unexpectedlly

I really don't know if it's solely an OCZ issue since the fix I posted was from a Crucial support forum
Dark_Slayer is online now  
post #10 of 14 Old 11-30-2012, 06:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,342
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

It's working fine now. Yours might not have really died
This and other SSDs seem to play a disappearing act if they lose power unexpectedlly
I really don't know if it's solely an OCZ issue since the fix I posted was from a Crucial support forum

I have it happen to a Vertex2 and a M4. So... it's probably both.. lol.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 11-30-2012, 07:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Check your power connection thoroughly. I have had this happen to 3.5" drives using some bad adapters/splitters with a PICO. Changed or tightened the connection and it fixed the issue completely.
assassin is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 12-01-2012, 07:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,342
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Check your power connection thoroughly. I have had this happen to 3.5" drives using some bad adapters/splitters with a PICO. Changed or tightened the connection and it fixed the issue completely.

I have too. Both issues appear to be when a drive suddenly loses power. Then you need to do some type of odd power cycling to reset it back.

In my case the drive was totally gone from BIOS. I RMA the first two before I fixed the third myself... Since then I have not had issue.

I taught me don't use cheap SATA powerwire connectors/splitters.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 12-01-2012, 10:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rico66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Had that happen with a drive from the high quality company with the 3 letters. It's a sign of things to come. In the beginning it happens infrequently but sooner or later it's becoming more often. I also thought that it was related to power/connectors and replaced/tried quite a lot of different combinations. RMAing the drive fixed it.
Rico66 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 12-01-2012, 10:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,342
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rico66 View Post

Had that happen with a drive from the high quality company with the 3 letters. It's a sign of things to come. In the beginning it happens infrequently but sooner or later it's becoming more often. I also thought that it was related to power/connectors and replaced/tried quite a lot of different combinations. RMAing the drive fixed it.

I tend to agree if possible RMA it to be safe.

I only fixed my HDD because it had lots of stuff on it. It's still working. Both the Crucial and OCZ Vertex2 I RMA - it's been about a year. Both replacements are in office PC's and working fine 12 months later.

It's not really a big deal but it's a big pain in the butt if it's your boot drive- or you lose information.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off