Please give some advice on this build and some quesitons that I have - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 11-26-2012, 08:42 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
frankcastle1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Okay so was online asking questions about making a flexraid server/desktop but along came the b stock sale of the JVC RS45. That wiped my budget for the server but I have now amassed enough for a HTPC.
So I want to plug the HTPC into my Marantz AV7005 preamp

Question 1) Will the sound go through the hdmi or will I need to use toslink? IF toslink how do I get around the problem that some newer audio formats don’t go through toslink?

Goals of the HTPC

1) Watching blu rays
2) Watching videos from an external hd of various formats
3) Streaming netflix
4) Using a nice interface like xmbc to present the stored media
5) Listening to music be it CD, mp3, flac etc

Question 2) can PCs handle SA CD?

6) It would be nice if the PC had 2 hdmi outputs as I have a LCD monitor that I would like to hook up as well so I don’t have to use up the bulb of the projector when doing mundane chores and what not
7) Light gaming…. I have an xbox but wouldn’t mind stuff like diablo or more likely RTS like Star Craft 2 (absolutely no FPS as they literally make me nauseous)
8) Ripping blu ray and dvds to hd (list low on the list so don’t mind if it’s slower than the max hot rod pc)
9) I would like the HTPC to be very quiet
10) 3D playback
11) Downloading

Here’s my parts list thus far

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=6_110&item_id=037710

Silverstone Milo ML03 HTPC Black Aluminum SECC mATX 2xUSB3.0 ports $70

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=26_722&item_id=049013

Asus P8H77-I Socket 1155 Intel H77 Chipset Dual channel DDR3 2200(O.C.)/2133(O.C.)/1866/1600/1333/1066 MHz 1x PCI-Express 3.0 x16 GLAN 8-CH High Definition Audio 4x SATA 3.0Gb/s 2x SATA 6.0Gb/s 4x USB 3.0 8x USB 2.0 DVI/VGA/HDMI Mini ITX $99

Question 3: Does a motherboard exist that has two hdmi outputs? To connect to LCD monitor plus projector? Don’t need it to display two different things.

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=4_65&item_id=050256

Intel Core i5-3570 Quad-Core Socket LGA1155, 3.4Ghz, 6MB L3 Cache, 22nm (Retail Boxed) Gen3 (BX80637I53570)$220

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=24_311_312_612&item_id=037767

G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz CL9 Dual Channel Kit (F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR)
$43

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=179_1088&item_id=050885

Kingston SSDNow V200 256GB 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (SSD) w/Desktop Upgrade Kit (SV200S3D/256G) $155

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=3_54&item_id=054293

LG (WH14NS40 BDXL) Internal 14x Blu-ray Writer (with Software), OEM
- Black, SATA BDXL, 3D Play Back. $60

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=15_1086_210_212&item_id=039034

WD Green (WD20EARX) 2TB SATA3 6Gb/s 64MB (OEM) $110

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=33_444&item_id=039733

Seasonic X-400 Fanless Fully Modular 80PLUS Gold 400W PSU (SS-400FL Active PFC F3) $120

Question: There are cheaper power supplies and smaller watts should I be looking at those? I thought this one might be good being fanless and efficient.
frankcastle1975 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 11-26-2012, 08:42 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
frankcastle1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Oh and do you have a favourite brand of fans for the case?
frankcastle1975 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 11-26-2012, 09:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
tomandbeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
On the 2 HDMI output....

Why not use the DVI Connector on the Asus P8H77 you chose? If your LCD doesn't have a DVI input, there are DVI to HDMI cables.

EDIT: Nevermind. It looks like your Marantz has dual HDMI output, yes?
tomandbeth is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 11-26-2012, 09:44 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
frankcastle1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thank you for pointing out how stupid I am! LOL

I didn't even think about those two options.

a long run of DVI from the HTPC or from the hdmi's second output would both work.

Great example of tunnel vision on my part.

Thanks for clarifying that.
frankcastle1975 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off