Computer to Projector and DLP TV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 11-27-2012, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I am running into problems getting a correct picture on my systems.

My HP 6320 Projector shifts to the green side running directly from my computer (and I have no tint or color level contro) and a little with feeds from my cable box, at lease I can adjust the color with the cable box.

I tried a DVI-M-RCA-F adaptor to a VGA/3RCA to connect my computer via VGA cable to my projector and could not set the res any higher that 700 by 500 (or something like that .) so the picture was way off size.

Once I can sort this out I can hook a computer DVR up to the systems.

Please help.

Thanks.

Rich

OK I think I have found what I need:


VGA to Component (YpbPr) Converter box, like this:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011407&p_id=8668&seq=1&format=2

or

http://www.ebay.com/itm/VGA-SVGA-PC-to-VGA-Component-Ypbpr-TV-Converter-Splitter-New-Free-shipping-/200756943334?pt=US_Video_Cables_Adapters&hash=item2ebe0bd9e6

Any reviews on these type of devices, which is junk and what is good.??

Rich

racprops is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 11-27-2012, 07:41 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Interesting: now 20 views and no help....

Well I am doing my homework...

I believe I found a answer, my #1 Computer has a ATI 5450 Video card with a HDMI output slot.

So if I read things right a HDMI to 5 RCA Audio / Video Component Cable will output component single to my projector and with my TV I can just run HDMI to HDMI.

Can you split this single, of use a "Y" Connector??

If this works I can just get another copy of this card for my #2 computer.

Rich

Either I am asking a too hard a question or too dumb, which is it?

racprops is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 11-28-2012, 05:19 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
OK What am I doing wrong here??

31 Views and no one has offered any help.

Rich

racprops is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 11-28-2012, 05:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sonyad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Try posting in the Digital Projectors-under $3000 forum.
Sonyad is online now  
post #5 of 14 Old 11-28-2012, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks, BUT the problem mainly is outputting from the Computer...so felt this was the place for these questions.

Rich

racprops is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 11-28-2012, 05:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sonyad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 26
When I did a search for "HP vp6320" in AVS, I found 61 posts. Maybe within those posts you can find the answer. There were people running the projector from their pc's.
Sonyad is online now  
post #7 of 14 Old 11-28-2012, 09:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Which ATI 5450 do you have? Or more specifically, what are the outputs on it?

If you only need to connect to the projector, you can run an HDMI -> DVI-D cable. If you also need to connect a TV and your 5450 has both HDMI and DVI (or VGA) outputs, you can run HDMI -> HDMI to your TV and DVI -> DVI (or VGA -> VGA) to your projector.

You should set the resolution to 1024x768 @ 60Hz (the native resolution of the projector).
vladd is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 11-28-2012, 09:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by racprops View Post

So if I read things right a HDMI to 5 RCA Audio / Video Component Cable will output component single to my projector and with my TV I can just run HDMI to HDMI.
Can you split this single, of use a "Y" Connector??
5 RCA means 2 audio (L/R stereo) and 3 component video (R/G/B) connections. A single video RCA connection would be a composite video connection.
vladd is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 11-29-2012, 05:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks..

"Which ATI 5450 do you have? Or more specifically, what are the outputs on it?"

It has all three, a VGA, HDMI and Digital.

Question is will the HDMI or Digital outputs allow the projector to do color adjustments?

I do understand the differences between composite, svideo, HDMI and Component video.

Funny thing is how VGA shuts out the color correction controls in the HP vp6320.
My Older Infocus was totally shut out so I built a three pot controller box to adjust the colors.

Rich

PS I will do a search for HP vp6320.

racprops is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 11-29-2012, 06:00 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Well I did find some hints as to what is going on, but the thread concerning the green shift drop off before anyone really answered the problem.

Sadly the thread these showed up was about other HP systems...

Here the best posts are:

Quote:

Posted on Saturday, August 20, 2005 - 05:41 pm:
I just got a HP VP6320. 100% Yellow input shows at least 25% green on display. The green tint only shows on yellow, not on the other colors. Cyan shows as intense blue. Once I know this I have a hard time not to notice the green shift in everything with is supposed to look 100% yellow. S-Video and DVI inputs show the same. Test pattern from computer shows the same green tinted yellow as Video DVD, HDTV. HP email support says, the UHP bulbs have not enough red, so mixin yellow from red and green gives a green tint. To fix this problem they only could reduce the brightness on green and blue, which would make the picture much less bright. You will probably only notice this green shift on the yellow color if you know it should be yellow, like a computer color test image, or a yellow tulip or such. Just wondering if there are better projectors for $1k, or if this pretty much the problem with all the low priced projectors.

One reply:

Quote:
A white point error toward green will shift yellow to green. Gray scale calibration effects the color of secondaries to a great extent.

And lastly:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danimal4326 View Post

Couldn't you just adjust the green gamma seting down to fix the color shift?

-Dan

I'm not a professional calibrator, but UMR is, and his comment was:

Quote:


A white point error toward green will shift yellow to green. Gray scale calibration effects the color of secondaries to a great extent.

So playing w/the green gamma might not be the best way to fix this on xxrando's set...

End Quote:


AS you might see they are not even talking about the HP vp6320 but about HP DLP Projectors and TVs.

I can find no gamma adjustments, no Gray Scale calibration in the control screen and no color adjustments, on/in HP vp6320, I did find a color test and it shows great white, red, blue and green and black screens.

Black and White movies/scenes are lightly green tinted...

I hope there is a trick to get into a special control screen to make some adjustments..(I have seen such hidden controls on many things)

There was also a few notes about over bright whites and I have fought that on both of my front projectors and have had to turn down brightness and contrast a lot.

I am hoping someone know of these hidden controls... and share with us how to get in.

Rich

racprops is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 11-29-2012, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Well, armed with this new info I tried contacting HP Tech Support.

I am facing my first major disappointment with HP.

They have NO information, even a tech support call: the tech was unable to find any deeper information and not even if there was ever a firmware update.

The ONLY suggestion was possible replacing the lamp!!!?? It was suggested my lamp might be fading and causing the color shift.

Question is: is this possible and if so what brand of lamp replacement has the best red or color spectrum output?

My projector does have 5258 hours on the original lamp which is part number L1695-60901.

Rich

PS did a search here on that lamp.nothing found.

Did an internet search and found the lamp running $250.00 to $300.00. This is a deal breaker on this old projector...it is a 2004 model and I do not feel it is worth $300.00.

I rather invest in a newer 3D projector.

So as long as I can stand it it will get some more use until I can figure out its replacement, which meands a ton of reading here on projectors. (so glad I found this site so I can make the next buy better informed.)

racprops is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 11-29-2012, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
That lamp is rated for 4000 hours. IMO, it's amazing that it's still working at all at 5258 hours. I've never seen any bulb work better than the OEM's. I'm sure that you could find a budget bulb but it is unlikely that you will get the same performance/lifespan as you will with the $300 OEM bulb. (At which point I'd be looking at a new projector as well.)
vladd is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 11-29-2012, 07:30 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Well I ran it in the saver mode...

I made a dark room for it.

Rich

racprops is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 12-05-2012, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
OK I am now looking for a replacement lamp.

So is there any good low cost replacement lamps??

OR are they junk.

Found some low cost with 1/2 the rated hours.....WTF??

How about just the lamp its self better or more trouble than savings?

IF I had a chose I would want a lamp that run a little red..as system is showing (and has always ran a little green) light shift to green

This is a L1695A lamp for a HP Vp6320 Projector.

Rich

racprops is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off