Windows Media Center as XBMC PVR Backend? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 11-27-2012, 07:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ImThat1Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Basically the title. I'm setting up an HTPC for the family, and WMC does not meet our needs for a number of things. However, XBMC is missing the most crucial part-- live, TV. And while there are solutions working with basic TV, I'm unaware of any backends or plugins supporting CableCARD-protected content.

Essentially I was wondering if there was an add-on that allowed you to use WMC as a backend for live TV. Is there any way for me to boot up into XBMC, and then as I tab through the Videos, Music, etc. tabs, there's a TV tab which boots up WMC's live TV stuff and allows me to watch TV? I know it's possible with XBMC Frodo and MediaPortal, but I'm unsure if WMC can work like that.

Alternatively, is there any backend (or heck, any other standalone program) other than WMC that can work with CableCARD (with a Ceton InfiniTV 4) content? I've yet to find any at all.
ImThat1Guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 11-27-2012, 08:26 PM
Member
 
TheTinkerer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is the best way I know of...not really integration though.
TheTinkerer is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 11-28-2012, 05:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ImThat1Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTinkerer View Post

This is the best way I know of...not really integration though.
I'm aware of that... is there no way to do it in reverse?
ImThat1Guy is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 11-28-2012, 05:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 156
You wouldn't be able to play protected CableCard content in XBMC even if you used WMC as a backend to record it.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 11-28-2012, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 59
There are plug-ins for XBMC that allow you to launch external programs. Otherwise I say just buy an Xbox 360 (or the upcoming Ceton Echo) and use it as an extender to watch live TV, and then run XBMC on your HTPC.
lockdown571 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 11-28-2012, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ImThat1Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

There are plug-ins for XBMC that allow you to launch external programs.
That sounds almost exactly like what I want. Can I get a link?

Also, I'd like it to send WMC directly to live TV, is that possible? If not though, that's obviously alright.
ImThat1Guy is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 11-30-2012, 01:58 PM
Senior Member
 
BigLan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImThat1Guy View Post

That sounds almost exactly like what I want. Can I get a link?
Also, I'd like it to send WMC directly to live TV, is that possible? If not though, that's obviously alright.

This thread has some details on how to do it, including going directly to live TV, guide or recorded shows.
 
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=131464
 
I couldn't figure out how to assign escape to a button on my harmony to close WMC, so I'm using the teknoweb version for now.
BigLan is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 12-04-2012, 09:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
utee05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So I guess xbmc still can't be used with a cable card correct? Using xbmc as a frontend still will not allow for this? I would love to strt using xbmc for everything but I guess as long as I'm using a cable card I'm stuck with windows.
utee05 is online now  
post #9 of 12 Old 12-05-2012, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by utee05 View Post

So I guess xbmc still can't be used with a cable card correct? Using xbmc as a frontend still will not allow for this? I would love to strt using xbmc for everything but I guess as long as I'm using a cable card I'm stuck with windows.

NextPVR and MythTV support CableCards, and both of them have PVR add-ons for XBMC. What neither support are copy-once protected shows.
lockdown571 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 10-31-2013, 08:07 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
WMC as the backend - released

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 11-03-2013, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
utee05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks for the link. I will give this a try on my secondary htpc to make sure I do not mess anything up with my primary htpc that I use for all of my recording.
utee05 is online now  
post #12 of 12 Old 11-04-2013, 07:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by utee05 View Post

I will give this a try on my secondary htpc to make sure I do not mess anything up with my primary htpc that I use for all of my recording.

 

You shouldn't have any issues with the server. I have used it for several weeks and it appears to be completely transparent. Only item I ran into was when I upgraded to Windows 8.1 (from 8.1 Preview) the upgrade went south and I basically did a fresh install. Creating the same user Windows used another name (internally) so I lost permission to access/control the recording directory via the client (OpenELEC). Once I updated the WMC server credentials I was good to go (again).

 

I posted my experience using the client/server starting here...

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1497448/intel-nuc-dcp847ske#post_23900516

Charles R is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off