Flexraid help deciding - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 164 Old 02-09-2013, 11:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,579
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 309
11-12 hours, can't remember exact minute amount. The elapsed time counter stops upon completion
Dark_Slayer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 164 Old 02-10-2013, 12:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,579
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post

And can you guys link to which label maker you are using?

Wound up using some labels we keep in supply room at office, usually for file folders. Put one over the existing HDD label and matching one on sata cable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

nice. Oldschool like mine? Or new school ?

Not very new, circa 2007

I have 7 5.25 expansion bays with a 5x3.5 tool-less HDD rack

I put in a 4 in 3x5.25 Cooler Master expansion cage to allow 9 HDDs. Any more storage will require another. I can fit 4 more HDDs in there since I still have 3 5.25 bays available, and the cage is only $20
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #123 of 164 Old 02-10-2013, 06:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
Old gaming rig ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #124 of 164 Old 02-10-2013, 07:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,579
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Yep
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #125 of 164 Old 02-10-2013, 10:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
You still game ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #126 of 164 Old 02-10-2013, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Yes cool.gif
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #127 of 164 Old 02-10-2013, 12:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
What should I set WHS2011 power options to be ?

Should I turn of HDD "NEVER" or should I turn off after say 30 min ????

What is the advantage and disadvantage ?

Would turning them off save $$ on electricity, but just cause them to have to spin up and a small delay when first accessing the server ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #128 of 164 Old 02-10-2013, 04:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,579
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Not really gaming since getting married. I spent way too much time on my k/d ratio anyway

I have mine turn off after 5 minutes

Flex raid will not spin them down on its own, but it will only spin up the ones you access rather than the whole array

On average about 5 kWh savings a month per drive

Not a great idea for drives you access often
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #129 of 164 Old 02-10-2013, 11:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Isn't constantly spinning up and spinning down drives bad for them in the long run?
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #130 of 164 Old 02-11-2013, 05:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,579
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Most drives already perform head parking through their firmware nearly as often as the settings I described
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #131 of 164 Old 02-11-2013, 06:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
I'm going to test 30 min setting.

If I notice a problem I'll leave them always on

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #132 of 164 Old 03-04-2013, 10:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post

Isn't constantly spinning up and spinning down drives bad for them in the long run?

Depends on your use patterns really.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #133 of 164 Old 03-05-2013, 05:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Wow, this thread should be stickied. Lots of good info - gives me some idea of what I want to set up when everything finishes rolling in. If you have 5 - 2TB drives and 5 - 3TB drives and you want 2 parity drives...can you do a 2 and a 3, or do both parity drives have to be 3?
goros is offline  
post #134 of 164 Old 03-05-2013, 05:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
You need to use your largest drive

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #135 of 164 Old 03-05-2013, 05:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Doh. I figured, but I was hoping.

Thanks
goros is offline  
post #136 of 164 Old 03-05-2013, 06:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
your parity drive (or drives) must be at least as large as your largest data drive so it can hold parity information for everything that might be on your biggest data drive. If it was smaller, It simply could not. So you must always use a parity drive that is at least equal to your largest data drive. For me I use a 3TB since my largest drives I own are 3TB. At some point I'll upgrade to 4TB probably. Swapping out a parity drive is not a hard thing to do.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #137 of 164 Old 03-05-2013, 08:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I just don't like the idea of losing 6TB of storage (out of 25..i know i know) It is what it is. I'd rather go overkill than have to re-rip everything.
goros is offline  
post #138 of 164 Old 03-05-2013, 08:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
What do you mean ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #139 of 164 Old 03-05-2013, 08:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Wait, am I retarded?

This would work like raid 6 wouldn't it?

Nevermind. I am retarded. Not sure what I was thinking.
goros is offline  
post #140 of 164 Old 03-05-2013, 10:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
I'll try to help you. I'm just confused too.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #141 of 164 Old 03-05-2013, 10:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
No no no. I was (for whatever reason) thinking I lost the storage on those drives like a true backup, not like a parity drive. So in my head, I'm doing math like RAID1, but for 2 drives instead of the whole array, and losing 6TB.

When You asked your Initial question it kicked me into realizing it was like RAID6 and that I wasn't really losing that much space.
goros is offline  
post #142 of 164 Old 03-11-2013, 12:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,579
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Has anyone copied an existing flexraid config-db to an OS re-install (i.e. after swapping SSDs, or swapping for an SSD etc)
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #143 of 164 Old 03-11-2013, 01:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
It's easier to start over

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #144 of 164 Old 03-12-2013, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rbmcgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: carmel, in, usa
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great Thread.

After 13 years with an HTPC and storage scattered across what is now 6 different computers, this thread has spurred me to create a central storage location via Flexraid. I do have a few questions though that I would like some help with.

1) Currently many of the hard drives have a folder like "Movies" on them and then a bunch of ripped movies inside. If I were to just put those drives into a pool on the new server wouldn't that cause a problem because I will lose the drive designations and therefore have multiple folders with the same name in the pool which I assume is not allowed. Works fine for separate disks but I'm assuming not so well when pooled. Advice?

2) Some of these drives have been formatted with 4k clusters and some with 64k clusters. Will this represent a problem with parity? Seems like it might. Do I need to reformat so that they all have the same size clusters and if so, what's the better size?

3) Although the "new" server has a really nice and new Rosewill Gold 650w power supply (with 8 sata connectors) the mobo only has 6 sata ports. That means I will need a couple ports on a PCI-E card. How about this cheap Rosewill RC-211 $17.99 from newegg. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816132008

4) The "new" server also does not have enough 3.5" bays (only 4) for the hard drives. I figure I could use a drive cage so that I could fit 4 more drives into 5.25 bays. How about this cheap COOLER MASTER STB-3T4-E3-GP $24.99 from newegg. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817993002 Not only holds the drives but puts a fan on them.

Thanks for any help.

Bob

Bob
rbmcgee is offline  
post #145 of 164 Old 03-12-2013, 03:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmcgee View Post

Great Thread.

After 13 years with an HTPC and storage scattered across what is now 6 different computers, this thread has spurred me to create a central storage location via Flexraid. I do have a few questions though that I would like some help with.

1) Currently many of the hard drives have a folder like "Movies" on them and then a bunch of ripped movies inside. If I were to just put those drives into a pool on the new server wouldn't that cause a problem because I will lose the drive designations and therefore have multiple folders with the same name in the pool which I assume is not allowed. Works fine for separate disks but I'm assuming not so well when pooled. Advice?

2) Some of these drives have been formatted with 4k clusters and some with 64k clusters. Will this represent a problem with parity? Seems like it might. Do I need to reformat so that they all have the same size clusters and if so, what's the better size?

3) Although the "new" server has a really nice and new Rosewill Gold 650w power supply (with 8 sata connectors) the mobo only has 6 sata ports. That means I will need a couple ports on a PCI-E card. How about this cheap Rosewill RC-211 $17.99 from newegg. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816132008

4) The "new" server also does not have enough 3.5" bays (only 4) for the hard drives. I figure I could use a drive cage so that I could fit 4 more drives into 5.25 bays. How about this cheap COOLER MASTER STB-3T4-E3-GP $24.99 from newegg. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817993002 Not only holds the drives but puts a fan on them.

Thanks for any help.

Bob

1) The duplicate folders will be combined into one AFAIK.

2) Shouldn't cause problems but don't quote me on it. Post this question on the official FlexRAID forum to get a more competent answer.

3) That card is out of stock and doesn't have any reviews. Find one that has mostly positive reviews. I saw one around here that was pretty well received. I will try and find it for you. For future expansion though, I will recommend you just get an IBM M1015 HBA. It has two SAS ports which can split to 8 SATA ports via a couple of these cables. It has to be flashed with a different firmware in IT mode before you can put it to use. It can be had for under $100 on ebay. I say invest in that to make expandability easier in the future. Get a new case too ^_^

4) That will work just fine. Here's another option, although it's out of stock currently.

Here's another excellent thread about FlexRAID, M1015 and everything server related. There are some good resources there.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1438027/planning-to-rebuild-my-20tb-whs-flexraid-server-information-requested
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #146 of 164 Old 03-12-2013, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rbmcgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: carmel, in, usa
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info.

After I thought about, it makes sense that it will combine the folders.

I will check on the cluster size issue

I may consider a new mobo (8 ports), but I really like the case.

Bob
rbmcgee is offline  
post #147 of 164 Old 03-18-2013, 06:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Might be cheaper just to get an m1015 used off eBay. I paid $117 including shipping and the bracket, plus another $20 for LSi breakout cables. Added 8 sata6 ports and could have added more if I wanted to run a SAS expander.
goros is offline  
post #148 of 164 Old 03-20-2013, 12:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
Quote:
Originally Posted by goros View Post

Might be cheaper just to get an m1015 used off eBay. I paid $117 including shipping and the bracket, plus another $20 for LSi breakout cables. Added 8 sata6 ports and could have added more if I wanted to run a SAS expander.

+1


I paid as low at $80 for this.

There is a guide how to do it I made in my server guide. You can take the IBM card and make it a $250 LSI card... by cross flashing it.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #149 of 164 Old 04-22-2013, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nethawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 115
This has been an excellent thread, thanks very much to all of you who have provided both the challenging questions and the answers. It deserves a bump to the top again.

While data protection has been discussed thoroughly, and there is some important knowledge regarding disk pooling, I wonder what the benefits of pooling are outside of protection from running out of space. It would seem to me that at least two drives would be involved anytime an IO request is initiated, which is not necessarily desired. I'm sure I am missing something.

I was of the same mindset as Dark_Slayer - I'm just too stubborn about file management to give into the possibility of someday flexraid going away and having files all over the place. But I've gotten over it, especially if pooling provides some performance or environmental benefit. Otherwise I may just purchase raid on its own and forego pooling.

Thank you in advance.

Nethawk is offline  
post #150 of 164 Old 04-22-2013, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nethawk View Post

While data protection has been discussed thoroughly, and there is some important knowledge regarding disk pooling, I wonder what the benefits of pooling are outside of protection from running out of space. It would seem to me that at least two drives would be involved anytime an IO request is initiated, which is not necessarily desired. I'm sure I am missing something.

Only the disks you are reading from will be active. If you are reading files from two different drives, only then would two drives be involved. If you are reading files from one drive, only that drive drive is involved.
amarshonarbangla is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off