HTPC Works ok with SONY LED but not with Panny LED HDMI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 12-12-2012, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swantzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Port Richey, FL
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My HTPC works fine when HDMI connected to a Sony LED TV but when connected to a Panny LED TV it will not even boot. I have to have the HDMI cable disconnected till it boots then I can connect the HDMI cable to the TV. When it is connected to the Panny, there is no POST display but the TV detects a connection but no display. When the HTPC is connected to the Sony, all is well. Strange the Panny keeps it from booting but works fine when connected after the HTPC is up.

"A Monsters Work is Never Done"
swantzilla is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 12-12-2012, 12:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Have you tried turning ARC off? And that other new HDMI protocol that sends power over the cable?

This thread is from 3 years ago, but I think it's worth a glance:
http://www.avforums.com/forums/plasma-tvs/1144675-panasonic-tvs-dont-support-pc-connection-through-hdmi.html
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 12-12-2012, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swantzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Port Richey, FL
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I really do not see anything that would keep the PC from booting. It does its resets and posts but it does not get any further. It is like it may be waiting for a anput from a keyboard to start the boot but since I have no display, I cannot tell. It does boot just fine with the HDMI cable removed or when connected to a Sony LED TV. The Panny is brand new. The Sony is a year old. The video card is a GT430.

"A Monsters Work is Never Done"
swantzilla is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 12-12-2012, 02:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Try a different HDMI cable...one of the 1.4 ones preferably. Are your Nvidia drivers up to date? If they are, roll them back and see what happens. Everything seems to be functioning properly, it's just having an EDID issue.

Also, do you have an onboard HDMI port that you can bypass the GT430 with just to test it?
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 12-12-2012, 06:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swantzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Port Richey, FL
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. Have tried a couple of cables with the same results. As far as the drivers go the computer does not get that far in the boot to load the drivers. But the drivers have been updated within the last month to the current level at that time. The main board does not have HDMI.

"A Monsters Work is Never Done"
swantzilla is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 12-12-2012, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swantzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Port Richey, FL
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update. The video card is a Radon 6450.

"A Monsters Work is Never Done"
swantzilla is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 12-12-2012, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,024
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Strange. I have my HD5450 through an AVR to a new Panny LED TV and it works no problems whatsoever. Which model LED TV? Are you going through an AVR? Which brand?

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 12-13-2012, 06:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swantzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Port Richey, FL
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am direct connected from the video card to the TV. I even tried booting the PC with the TV off. No difference. I will try pulling the cable on the TV end and see if it boots.

"A Monsters Work is Never Done"
swantzilla is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off