MediaPortal 1.3.0 Beta - Released Today! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 12-14-2012, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
robbo100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Hi All,

Just to let you know, that MediaPortal 1.3.0 Beta has just been released.

There are many improvements, including being able to configure the client software from the 10 ft GUI, as well as a new default skin!

Oh, and you can opt to automatically install CODECS during the installation process (in the form of LAV filters), which will mean that it will work out of the box without any CODEC configuration (unless of course, you want to self configure them, in which case MP still has the same configurablity that advanced users know and love)!

http://www.team-mediaportal.com/news/mediaportal-130-beta-released

The MediaPortal Installation and Setup Guide (sticky) should still work (although there may be some slight changes to some of the screens).

Enjoy.

Robbo100
gonzo90017 likes this.
robbo100 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 12-14-2012, 09:45 AM
Member
 
hemogoblin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice thanks. I have been a long time MP user, but just build a new htpc and am running XBMC. I have not set up any libraries yet so maybe I should try this first.
hemogoblin is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 12-14-2012, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
robbo100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
You know it is the right thing to do! ;-)
robbo100 is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 12-14-2012, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,795
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Any CableCARD support yet?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 12-14-2012, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Anyone know how to get the TV Guide genre coloring working?

Using the Alpha version I was able to get it working by:
Code:
MP Config> GUI> Select Skin> Edit Skin Settings> TV Guide>
CHeck all except genre color key

TV> TV Client> Guide Settings> Select a genre under "Guide Genre"
Under "Mapped Genres" select the categories for that genre you would like colored
(you have to map at least 1 or else you wont get coloring for that genre)

But the TV Client> Guide Settings are missing.
gonzo90017 is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 12-15-2012, 12:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
robbo100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
robbo100 is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 12-15-2012, 04:57 PM
Senior Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I think you posted the wrong link biggrin.gif.

It's actually here: TV Server Configuration> DVB EPG> EPG Genre Map


1. Select a Genre
2. Select a "Program Genre" (if you don't do this 2nd step you won't get any genre coloring).
gonzo90017 is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 12-15-2012, 11:29 PM
Senior Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Does anyone have comskip working? I had it working for the past few months using 1.2.3. But now that i've upgraded to the this beta version the comskip files are not being created. I'm using Comskip monitored but i'm willing to try Comskip Launcher as long as it's working.
gonzo90017 is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 12-16-2012, 08:38 PM
Senior Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Got it working with Comskip Launcher. Hopefully Comskip Monitored's author can get it working in the beta version. For those that don't know the difference between the two, Comskip Monitored allows you to set the # of comskip.exe's you wan't running at one time. Useful for those of us that record more then 2 shows at once using older machines .
gonzo90017 is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 12-21-2012, 08:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Don't have a TV Tuner - purely client based movie/TV playback, but gotta give credit where its due - this new release is brilliant

Lovely new skin and everything is blazing fast and ultra responsive. Great piece of work and although only an Alpha release, its a cracker (thought I drop in a Christmas theme)
steelman1991 is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 12-23-2012, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
el_kano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Like the new version a lot, but really having trouble with the new skin. Unfortunately my standard skin of choice (StreamedMP) isn't quite ready for the beta version, so will stick with titan for now.
Still, a much better option than the standard skin and if I spend a little time on it then I may find it meets all my needs.

Roll on 1.3 Final :-)
el_kano is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
robbo100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Compatible StreamedMP skin released today!
robbo100 is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Good find! Here's the link for 1.3.0 Beta StreamedMP
Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Been using 1.2.1 with MovingPictures. I've been told that its not need anymore with 1.3 (or was that for MP 2.0 when it comes out). How would I transfer my library to the new version? Should I back the DB files and just paste into the Mediaportal folder?

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokekevin View Post

Been using 1.2.1 with MovingPictures. I've been told that its not need anymore with 1.3 (or was that for MP 2.0 when it comes out). How would I transfer my library to the new version? Should I back the DB files and just paste into the Mediaportal folder?

Also is it better to do a fresh install or upgrade?

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 05:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokekevin View Post

Been using 1.2.1 with MovingPictures. I've been told that its not need anymore with 1.3 (or was that for MP 2.0 when it comes out). How would I transfer my library to the new version? Should I back the DB files and just paste into the Mediaportal folder?

Not a case that its not needed anymore - just that the internal database system has been given a face lift and now is a reasonable alternative to Moving Pics. Don't think it would be quite as simple as that - think there may be compatibility issues. If your happy with Moving Pics no need to change, there is no increased performance benefits from using either system.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pokekevin View Post

Also is it better to do a fresh install or upgrade?

Why not search MP Forums - really there is a lot of useful information there - including what is required to upgrade. There's a whole section dedicated to it.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post

Not a case that its not needed anymore - just that the internal database system has been given a face lift and now is a reasonable alternative to Moving Pics. Don't think it would be quite as simple as that - think there may be compatibility issues. If your happy with Moving Pics no need to change, there is no increased performance benefits from using either system.
Why not search MP Forums - really there is a lot of useful information there - including what is required to upgrade. There's a whole section dedicated to it.

Reading thru the forums. Damn good information there!

Setting up ampdroid right now, pretty cool to watch my movies on my mobile devices!

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 01-01-2013, 02:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 72
LOL yes there is. Hope you found what you were after. The introduction of MP 1.3 has really improved the app immeasurably.

Happy New Year
steelman1991 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off