Media Cases, Air Flow Design and Room - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 12-15-2012, 05:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I"ve built four or five PCs over the past 10 years, I'm a hobbyist not a pro. One was an HTPC build. I"ve always used mid-tower cases with ATX builds. I've always used negative pressure with no trouble, other than having to vacuum them out a couple of times a year. My latest case, Antec Sonata, has a dust filter and is super clean inside.

So typically, I have the PSU fan, the chip fan and one fan pulling out the back of the case, up high. I block all other air openings except for one or two at the bottom front of the case. I use 120 mm fans. Never had any trouble. The goal is to keep the PC as quiet as is possible.

This time I want to build an HTPC that looks like a set top box. I don't see why a negative pressure scenario won't work with it as well. And if I were to get an ATX case (I might go micro ATX, not sure yet, but my experience tells me that I would want the expansion) and put in some cards, will there be enough room to work in there?

What are the pros and cons of negative pressure in a media case?
How difficult are they to work in?
Are micro ATX components built, minimally to the same standard as regular ATX components?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 12-15-2012, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 35
I always prefered to use positive pressure because I can control the dust/debris intake; very beneficial especially when you have 4 cats. Negative pressure kind of negates the benefits of having dust filters BTW (unless you seal all other holes in the case).

As for space to work, that all depends on the case. Some have more room than others.
post #3 of 10 Old 12-16-2012, 02:33 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Here is a negative pressure setup in a Dish DVR box.