build a better mac mini - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 42 Old 12-22-2012, 06:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
alright, let's give this a shot. i have signed up for assassin's blog and am trying to pound my way through this. being an absolute beginner i am in way way over my head here, but you guys have always been good for advice so i will throw this out there. i want to get rid of my mac mini and build a "real" htpc. i want the smallest quietest box i can get (within reason). i store my bluray rips and lossless music on an external NAS. i don't have a 3D tv (yet) but would like to future proof for it. i will use this to stream blurays and lossless audio. i do not game with this. so what i would like to do is build around the wesena ITX5 box:

http://shop.perfecthometheater.com/HTPC-ITX5-Black-Mini-HTPC-aluminum-chassis-HTPC-ITX5-B.htm

i don't need an optical drive. my proposed parts list is this (based around assassin's recommendations):

cpu: Sandy Bridge LGA1155 (3D) Intel i3-2105 (upgrade to Ivy Bridge i3-3225 3.3 GHz Dual Core and 4000 graphics???)
board: ASRock H67M-ITX for sandy ridge (or ASRock H77M-ITX for ivy bridge??)
ram: G.Skill 2x2GB DDR3 RAM
storage: ssd 128gb (for system, is second hard drive necessary/advisable if all media stored on NAS?)
cooling: stock cpu fan (more??)
pico psu: 120 Watt Wide Input
win 7
IR receiver upgrade for wesena

will the above fit/work/makes any sense/is completely stupid? any guidance would be mucho appreciato. the learning curve is quite steep here, and i would like to get it right the first time. thanx!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 42 Old 12-22-2012, 06:23 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29