Media Servers, flexraid and antivirus - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 65 Old 12-25-2012, 08:25 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I just redid my htpc/server config and will be setting up flexraid for pooling with 1 parity drive.

Do you guys run antivirus on the server? I will be using Windows7Pro 64bit. Windows Defender will be on, but I also use NOD AV by ESET. Do you guys run anything, or advise against it? I dont know how it would affect flexraid parity, validiation, verification etc if at all.

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 65 Old 12-26-2012, 02:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I use Microsoft Security Essentials on my server running FR . No issues at all . I would not use Defender if your using third party avs as conflicts could occur in the os
flocko is offline  
post #3 of 65 Old 12-26-2012, 06:23 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 50
i thought defender was renamed to security essentials. i must be wrong.
on the current laptop its seems to have worked hand in hand with nod.
but since the server will be for backup and media storage, i may not need av on the server as everything will be filtered through the desktop and its antivirus.

thanks.

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is offline  
post #4 of 65 Old 12-26-2012, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Mac25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ms gulf coast
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
mse for seven and earlier os, in win 8 it is named defender, both appear the same, I run win 8 for server duties and just left defender alone, shouldn't need for server duties imo.
Mac25 is offline  
post #5 of 65 Old 12-26-2012, 07:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by flocko View Post

I use Microsoft Security Essentials on my server running FR . No issues at all . I would not use Defender if your using third party avs as conflicts could occur in the os

+1 for FREE MS Security Essentials. There is a certain version that works on WHS2011.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #6 of 65 Old 12-26-2012, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Puwaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
You don't use a server for day to day web browsing or email so there is no need for AV software on it.
Puwaha is offline  
post #7 of 65 Old 12-26-2012, 11:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puwaha View Post

You don't use a server for day to day web browsing or email so there is no need for AV software on it.

+1.

I run Security Essentials on mine only because it's free and easy. I am not sure I really need it though.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #8 of 65 Old 07-30-2013, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 190
So is it really necessary or not to have the antivirus on whs? I just got a virus in my pc and am really worried that it might have gone to my server because I logged into it through my pc. Any thoughts?

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #9 of 65 Old 07-30-2013, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,469
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post

So is it really necessary or not to have the antivirus on whs? I just got a virus in my pc and am really worried that it might have gone to my server because I logged into it through my pc. Any thoughts?
I used to run all my computers without av software prior to MSE. While I don't think it's necessary, it doesn't hurt anything plus it's free.

My curiosity is really focused on how you determined that you got a virus. What behavior was exhibited by the pc?
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #10 of 65 Old 07-30-2013, 12:47 PM
Member
 
g725s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

+1.

I run Security Essentials on mine only because it's free and easy. I am not sure I really need it though.

MSE with WHS 2011?
Which version works with WHS 2011 without issues?
g725s is offline  
post #11 of 65 Old 07-30-2013, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,469
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by g725s View Post

MSE with WHS 2011?
http://www.avforums.com/forums/17953649-post2.html
bryansj and Pain Infliction like this.
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #12 of 65 Old 07-30-2013, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

I used to run all my computers without av software prior to MSE. While I don't think it's necessary, it doesn't hurt anything plus it's free.

My curiosity is really focused on how you determined that you got a virus. What behavior was exhibited by the pc?

I got that snap.do virus and it will not let me uninstall IE and it is also showing that my MSE is functioning correctly but it is secretly disabled. Sounds more like a Trojan to me. I am just going to put in a bigger hard drive and redo my pc because I'm not going to take any chances. I already have all my data backed up so no worries. Just need to install all my programs.

Do you think my server is in jeopardy?

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #13 of 65 Old 07-30-2013, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Also, MSE seems like it would take a long time to scan all of the hard drives. Is that an issue?
Mfusick likes this.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #14 of 65 Old 07-30-2013, 01:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,268
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

http://www.avforums.com/forums/17953649-post2.html

Makes me wonder if this works with WSE2012 since Win 8 has a version of MSE built-in.

bryansj is offline  
post #15 of 65 Old 07-30-2013, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,469
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

Makes me wonder if this works with WSE2012 since Win 8 has a version of MSE built-in.
I don't believe so unless anything has changed in the last few months due to the inability to install mse in W8. I've only heard of FCS working, but I've never used or tried it nor do I even have a WSE2012 server http://www.tinkertry.com/antivirus4ws2012e/
Mfusick likes this.
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #16 of 65 Old 07-30-2013, 05:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post

So is it really necessary or not to have the antivirus on whs? I just got a virus in my pc and am really worried that it might have gone to my server because I logged into it through my pc. Any thoughts?

Just install the FREE MS SECURITY ESSENTIALS.

It's easy. It's free. It's what I use.

I use it on mine- that way your server is protected. It's like insurance. Hopefully you won't need it or need to use it, but if you do you will be glad you have it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post

Also, MSE seems like it would take a long time to scan all of the hard drives. Is that an issue?


Yes- if you are in a rush wink.gif

just let it run and go to bed or something. Check the next day. It's not a race.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post

I got that snap.do virus and it will not let me uninstall IE and it is also showing that my MSE is functioning correctly but it is secretly disabled. Sounds more like a Trojan to me. I am just going to put in a bigger hard drive and redo my pc because I'm not going to take any chances. I already have all my data backed up so no worries. Just need to install all my programs.

Do you think my server is in jeopardy?

I would not use your server until you get a deep scan completed and an antivirus installed and working. That would be a safe route to take.

You will probably be ok- but running a deep virus scan would / should ease your fears more than my saying so biggrin.gif


If you need it,


https://www.dropbox.com/s/4cfrgz6a4f6mdfj/Microsoft%20Security%20Essentials%20works%20with%20WHS2011.exe

There you Go: ^^^^^^^

This is the version of MS SECURITY ESSENTIALS that I use that will install and work perfectly on WHS2011


I originally discovered this from Assassin when he was building the Goliath server. He linked it in his server guides (which are good btw)

This is from my personal drop box so it's likely this link won't work forever (when I remove it it will stop working)

I will leave it up for a while. PM me if you really need it again.

BTW- Thanks for the kind comments on your theater build thread biggrin.gif Happy to help. Glad you got WHS installed to your SSD after much fuss eek.gif
Pain Infliction likes this.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #17 of 65 Old 07-30-2013, 07:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Antivirus software... bah. What a waste. I haven't installed Antivirus in years. All of my network traffic is local and anything I do online is done through DamnSmall on VirtualBox. smile.gif

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
post #18 of 65 Old 07-30-2013, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by itznfb View Post

Antivirus software... bah. What a waste. I haven't installed Antivirus in years. All of my network traffic is local and anything I do online is done through DamnSmall on VirtualBox. smile.gif

You're awesome.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #19 of 65 Old 07-30-2013, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
I wouldn't use MSE.
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #20 of 65 Old 07-30-2013, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post

I wouldn't use MSE.

Why?

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #21 of 65 Old 07-30-2013, 09:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post

Why?

Protection score: 0

http://www.av-test.org/no_cache/en/tests/test-reports/?tx_avtestreports_pi1%5Breport_no%5D=132335

MSE has failed to receive the certification multiple times in the past
http://www.tomshardware.com/news/AV-TEST-Certification-Security-Essentials-Double-Failure-0-Day,20524.html
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #22 of 65 Old 07-31-2013, 04:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post

You're awesome.

I'm experienced. Part of my job is testing anti virus software and they are all pretty terrible to be honest. Using a browsing VM is infinitely more secure then relying on AV software. amarshonarbangla is also correct that MSE is one of the worst AV solutions available. It's fairly decent at removing malware but almost incapable of prevention.

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
post #23 of 65 Old 07-31-2013, 05:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I would suggest looking at Vipre. It runs on all versions of windows including WHS.
If look around you can find good deals on multi user versions.

Came accrossed it a number of years ago when Norton blew me out of the water on a update. Let alone ate up system resources.
Would not say perfect but does the job at decent price and little if any impact on system performance.

Cheers
Rew
Rew452 is offline  
post #24 of 65 Old 07-31-2013, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by itznfb View Post

I'm experienced. Part of my job is testing anti virus software and they are all pretty terrible to be honest. Using a browsing VM is infinitely more secure then relying on AV software. amarshonarbangla is also correct that MSE is one of the worst AV solutions available. It's fairly decent at removing malware but almost incapable of prevention.

What is VM?

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #25 of 65 Old 07-31-2013, 05:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 771
Virtual machine

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #26 of 65 Old 07-31-2013, 05:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Oh man! Another thing for me to look into. So is this a separate computer with a different OS that you browse with and your computers are connected to it via network??

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #27 of 65 Old 07-31-2013, 06:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 771
Yes. Virtually.

You install an operating system and make a machine that is virtual and it runs inside your server. You pass thru hardware to the virtual machine.

If you get infected, it doesn't really hurt your real machine. Like running an OS install inside an OS install.

Don't waste your time. These guys are operating in a territory you don't want to go. You almost don't need anti virus on a server- so just install free ms security essentials and be done.

You'll likely not need it. I never have.

But I don't download or browse on my server.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #28 of 65 Old 07-31-2013, 06:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Yes. Virtually.

You install an operating system and make a machine that is virtual and it runs inside your server. You pass thru hardware to the virtual machine.

If you get infected, it doesn't really hurt your real machine. Like running an OS install inside an OS install.

Don't waste your time. These guys are operating in a territory you don't want to go. You almost don't need anti virus on a server- so just install free ms security essentials and be done.

You'll likely not need it. I never have.

But I don't download or browse on my server.

Best practice is to never browse on a server. Though it's understandable that many home user's may only have one computer that also acts as their server. Which is why browsing through a dedicated browsing VM is ideal. As I said I use DamnSmall but someone sent me a link to Chromium Browser VM which I'm going to start looking into. What's nice with Virtual Box is that you can launch a seamless window so the browser running in the VM actually looks like it's just a browser you opened on your local machine.

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
post #29 of 65 Old 07-31-2013, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Ok....say my computer gets infected and I transfer media files to my server. Will my server be in risk of getting the same virus or trojan or anything at that point?

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #30 of 65 Old 07-31-2013, 06:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post

Ok....say my computer gets infected and I transfer media files to my server. Will my server be in risk of getting the same virus or trojan or anything at that point?

If you transfer an infected file yes. It would be no different than the originating infection on your first machine.

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off