WMC EPG Guide Ending? - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2013, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I don't use WMC myself, but some problems have been resolved.
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2013/01/04/windows_media_center_epg_fixed/

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-04-2013, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
dicko2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Woodstock, IL
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by indio22 View Post


I am not clear on how to fix this EPG issue. Anyone already encountered/fixed this issue? By the way, this is for over the air broadcast, I do not have cable/sat.

Since WLs transmits on 2 channels, MCE downloads 2 guide listings for it. I appears one of them has been erased. So go to the guide, highlight the callsign, right click and edit channel/edit listings. Then find the listing for the station and select it.
dicko2 is offline  
Old 01-04-2013, 08:59 PM
Senior Member
 
indio22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicko2 View Post

Since WLs transmits on 2 channels, MCE downloads 2 guide listings for it. I appears one of them has been erased. So go to the guide, highlight the callsign, right click and edit channel/edit listings. Then find the listing for the station and select it.

Thanks, I followed your instructions, found a listing for "WLS-DT" that was not assigned, and set it to channel 7.1. Now the EPG displays correctly again for that channel. smile.gif
indio22 is offline  
Old 01-05-2013, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
I have guide data out to Jan 16, 2013 now. Mine seems to be updating just fine.

Sammy2 is offline  
Old 01-05-2013, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Sammy2 is offline  
Old 01-05-2013, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Heuer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes, the guide is back:

"Microsoft is aware of the issue with the Electronic Programming Guide for Windows Media Center in the UK and Ireland. We have identified the cause and have already deployed a fix for the UK. A solution for Ireland is in the works and we will issue an update when the issue is resolved. We apologize for the inconvenience to Windows Media Center users in these countries."
Heuer is offline  
Old 01-06-2013, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
snappjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
aka, "Wow, I guess there really are people out there that use this software"
snappjay is offline  
Old 01-06-2013, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by snappjay View Post

aka, "Wow, I guess there really are people out there that use this software"

eek.gif

Sammy2 is offline  
Old 01-07-2013, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by snappjay View Post

aka, "Wow, I guess there really are people out there that use this software"

LOL. Maybe this was a test by M$ to see if anyone would notice. smile.gif

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
Old 01-07-2013, 08:42 AM
Senior Member
 
snappjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
... and hopefully this will keep WMC on life support for a while longer... at least until there is another "eHome" alternative for Copy Once.
snappjay is offline  
Old 01-08-2013, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
still without EPG for several OTA channels
pixelation is offline  
Old 01-09-2013, 03:51 PM
Newbie
 
jimhenryatgmail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still missing EPG for multiple channels here as well using zip code 13662 (no EPG for WNPI, WWNY (CBS), Global, CHCH, Omni1, Omni2, CityTV, TVO, CTS) but is working for some channels (CBC, SRC, TVA, V, TQ, CTV, CTV2, WWNY (FOX) and WCFE).

It is nice the problem has been fixed for UK and Ireland, now if MS would just fix it for North America as well I would be happy.

This has been going on since Dec. 24, 2012 and there are dozens of posts on the http://connect.microsoft.com feedback site about this problem but so far I haven't seen any indication that MS are going to fix this problem any time soon.
jimhenryatgmail is offline  
Old 01-10-2013, 05:49 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Heuer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If an OTA EPG is available then EPG Collector is worth considering. Although MS have put back their EPG in the UK I am sticking with EPG Collector because it has far richer metadata and I never have to worry about another gap in the service. I got bitten by TiVo UK dropping their EPG download in an attempt to get all Series 1 owners to buy the latest and greatest TiVo from Virgin Media Cable, forgetting that the service is limited to certain areas! Never again - I want vendor independence and the OTA EPG is always going to be available.
Heuer is offline  
Old 01-10-2013, 06:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Okay, but I've learned to not say always or never in my half century on this planet...

Sammy2 is offline  
Old 01-10-2013, 07:29 AM
Member
 
BlaZeR2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was able to fix this by resetting up my TV signal in Media Center. Not sure why it worked, but it redownloaded the guide data, and correctly populated it. YMMV.
BlaZeR2 is offline  
Old 01-10-2013, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Heuer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Okay, but I've learned to not say always or never in my half century on this planet...

biggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif OK, I should have said will always be available as long as they are making and supplying new stand alone PVR's and STB's which rely on the OTA EPG.
Heuer is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 10:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Looks like all the low power stations' listings (ending with LD) are gone for good. I even did a rescan and it isn't helping.
pixelation is offline  
Old 01-25-2013, 05:19 AM
Senior Member
 
rsoares28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimhenryatgmail View Post

Still missing EPG for multiple channels here as well using zip code 13662 (no EPG for WNPI, WWNY (CBS), Global, CHCH, Omni1, Omni2, CityTV, TVO, CTS) but is working for some channels (CBC, SRC, TVA, V, TQ, CTV, CTV2, WWNY (FOX) and WCFE).

It is nice the problem has been fixed for UK and Ireland, now if MS would just fix it for North America as well I would be happy.

This has been going on since Dec. 24, 2012 and there are dozens of posts on the http://connect.microsoft.com feedback site about this problem but so far I haven't seen any indication that MS are going to fix this problem any time soon.

I'm not sure of your location but I'm in Toronto and I use buffalo zip code 14174.. The only channel I'm missing epg for is global.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
rsoares28 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off