PC viewing area on LCD is smaller than LCD display - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-29-2012, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CaptainKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I’m trying to figure out why the PC view area doesn’t take up the entire 52” LCD TV screen? In the attached pic notice the arrow in the upper left corner detailing my issue.

The specs on the LCD state the resolution is 1920x1080 and the PC resolution matches.


HTPC: Dell Optiplex 9010 Small Form Factor PC i7-3770, 3.4GHz, 8GB
NAS: Synology DS1813+ and DX513, RAID 6 (29TB usable space)
My Media Center
www.CaptainKen.us
www.YouTube.com/KenInGilbert
CaptainKen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-29-2012, 03:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 158
It's like that to compensate for overscan.

You need to check your drivers for scaling.
What video card are you using?

Andy_Steb is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-29-2012, 04:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CaptainKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thank you Andy for replying. I have a "512MB ATI Radeon HD4350".

HTPC: Dell Optiplex 9010 Small Form Factor PC i7-3770, 3.4GHz, 8GB
NAS: Synology DS1813+ and DX513, RAID 6 (29TB usable space)
My Media Center
www.CaptainKen.us
www.YouTube.com/KenInGilbert
CaptainKen is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-29-2012, 06:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CaptainKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well mentioning the overscan got me poking around in the Catalyst Software Suite, but there were no overscan settings to be found.

So I clicked check for updates and found one. It was dated 07-24-12 v12.6, which was much newer than mine. After updating to it I got a whole different interface and found the setting which resolved my problem as shown here. I had to move the slider from dead center all the way to the right.


Thank you again!

Ken

HTPC: Dell Optiplex 9010 Small Form Factor PC i7-3770, 3.4GHz, 8GB
NAS: Synology DS1813+ and DX513, RAID 6 (29TB usable space)
My Media Center
www.CaptainKen.us
www.YouTube.com/KenInGilbert
CaptainKen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off