Dolphins, games and HTPC's - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 12-29-2012, 06:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hello all,

We have a wii. Well, to be a bit more specific, my son has a wii. I do not like the wii. I do not like the wii for the following reasons:

1. It's an additional box below my tv (which violates my one box, one remote rule)
2. It requires my son (or my wife and I) to futz around with the TV remote switching the source back and forth between the wii and the htpc. It adds complexity, and that annoys me.
3. The audio sucks. Bad.

So, some googling revealed the existence of an open source application called dolphin (http://dolphin-emulator.com/) that supposedly permits you to play wii games on a PC (read: htpc). I have no experience with this. I installed it a while ago, but I haven't really messed with it much. It appears simple, but so far, it's becoming kinda complicated. For instance, I apparently have to rip the wii games I own (legitimately) into a format readable by dolphin I don't know how to do that. Of course, there's significant upside here. Great audio, fewer boxes, and ease of use.

Before I get too far into this, I pose the following questions to the forum:

1. Is this worth the effort?
2. How do I rip the disks?
3. In the end, will it be as easy for my son to play the games as it currently is with the wii itself?

Thanks in advance for your geekery.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-29-2012, 07:53 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. I have mine setup through media browser and playing smbw in HD is well worth the effort for my 5 year old and I. YMMV

2.I use this: http://www.wbfstoiso.com

3. No.

post #3 of 6 Old 12-30-2012, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluesynk View Post

1. I have mine setup through media browser and playing smbw in HD is well worth the effort for my 5 year old and I. YMMV