Finally got an SSD.. clone HDD or fresh install? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 43 Old 12-30-2012, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently had a 2tb drive with a partion for the OS and other apps. I really only have the OS, itunes, and a few other very important programs (paid for) that I care about. I'm wondering if it would just be easier to do a fresh install on the SSD rather than trying to clone the partion, which I have never done before.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 43 Old 12-30-2012, 12:03 PM

A fresh install worked well for me. It just seems cleaner.

That being said, there are many who have had success using the clone method. Do some research and check out some of the clone step-by-step tutorials to see how comfortable you would be with using this method.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
post #3 of 43 Old 12-30-2012, 12:41 PM
Advanced Member

Liked: 24
Always do a fresh clean install. Way less problems.
post #4 of 43 Old 12-30-2012, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 16
If you have iTunes and bought DRMed music from the store, deauthorize the machine before blowing away the install. The other paid programs may need similar treatment, check to see none of the licenses lock the software to the particular windows install.
post #5 of 43 Old 12-30-2012, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Are things currently working OK? Then go ahead and clone. Acronis does it well and if you have a SeaGate or WD drive is free.
post #6 of 43 Old 12-30-2012, 07:01 PM
AVS Club Gold

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

Are things currently working OK? Then go ahead and clone.

+1