Auto rip and compress question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-03-2013, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
stamina1914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I currently use MKV to rip my Blu ray movies . tak take place and a few others that a manlyhave to and a few others that a manually have to do. What exactly happens when I use
Auto rip using mkv. Do my mkv settings carry over, does the entire blu ray get rip and not just the movie. If yes, how can I correct it.
stamina1914 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-03-2013, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by stamina1914 View Post

So I currently use MKV to rip my Blu ray movies . tak take place and a few others that a manlyhave to and a few others that a manually have to do. What exactly happens when I use
Auto rip using mkv. Do my mkv settings carry over, does the entire blu ray get rip and not just the movie. If yes, how can I correct it.
I'm sorry, I can't understand what you are saying. Are you asking what a Blu Ray rip is? By definition when you 'rip' a disk you are making a one to one copy of it. Are you asking about MKV? MKV isn't a format, per se but can 'hold' a number of different formats. Are you asking if you can store the video content of a Blu Ray in an MKV? Yes you can. You can also convert or shrink a Blu Ray to a smaller size file and store it in an MKV.
olyteddy is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-03-2013, 07:11 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
stamina1914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sorry about that, last time I try to send a question on my phone.


I currently use MKV to copy my blu rays and use several options to limit exactly what gets copied to save space on my drive. I only rip the movie and no extras. I was curious as to would those settings carry over if I use auto rip and compress as a one touch feature in WMB. What exactly is it ripping, Am I getting all the extras, am I losing any picture quality etc. That is what I meant.

Thanks
stamina1914 is online now  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-03-2013, 09:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
I was curious as to would those settings carry over if I use auto rip and compress as a one touch feature in WMB.

That completely depends on what software you are using to rip. And since you didn't tell us what you use, we can't tell you.
Quote:
What exactly is it ripping

Google it.
Quote:
Am I getting all the extras

Umm, you answered this in your first sentence.
Quote:
am I losing any picture quality etc.

Any time you compress you are losing picture quality.
sitlet is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off