dtshd and dolby true hd - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lilsdad17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi i have for quite a while been trying to bitstream dts hd sound, but for some reason cant get it to work, all i get is standard dts sound.
my hardware is:- mainboard - gf8200e, graphics card :- radion hd 5450, and my receiver is onkyo tx-sr313. amd say the graphics card will bitstream hd sound through power dvd but i have tried and it does not work can anyone suggest anything to try cos its driving me insane now.

many thanks matt
lilsdad17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 205
what version of Power DVD is it? The basic ones that come bundled with drives or PCs often downmix everything. They want you to pay to upgrade to get proper sound.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lilsdad17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi its power dvd 11 when i play a blu ray the option for non decoded sound is not there. but in properties it detects dts hd sound track.

thanks matt
lilsdad17 is offline  
post #4 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lilsdad17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi i have upgraded to to the latest version of power dvd 12, the problem is still the same no option for non decoded hd audio and no dts hd sound.

thanks matt
lilsdad17 is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 12:12 PM
Member
 
moshster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While the blu ray is playing you have to go into settings -->audio and the non decoded HD audio option will be available. This is ONLY when playing the Blu Ray.
moshster is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 01:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lilsdad17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah its not there its there when not playing a bluray but when play back starts ithe option disappears i dont understand why.

thanks matt
lilsdad17 is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,907
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 222
If your Power DVD is an OEM edition, regardless of the version, it won't allow you to bitstream any thing other than 2-ch stereo. Only paid versions support audio bitstreaming.

Make sure your Onkyo receiver shows up in the PC's audio devices and DTS-HD/TrueHD is listed as supported audio formats. Without these, you won't be able to output HD audio either.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lilsdad17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its is a paid version i have just upgraded because of this problem £ 35 for nothing same as old version. all audio formats are supported but my amp only shows up in the catalyst control panel not in the amd audio properties.

thanks matt
lilsdad17 is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,907
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilsdad17 View Post

all audio formats are supported but my avr ony shows up in the catalyst control panal not in the amd audio properties.
thanks matt

What I mean is that the audio formats need to be listed on the PC. I know your AVR supports them but if there is some EDID mis-communication (which is what AMD video cards and drivers known to do a lot), your AVR may be listed as not supporting those formats. I don't have experience with AMD configurations (I absolutely hate the CCC stuff on one of my PCs) so I can't help you there.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Upgrade your AMD drivers? In the audio control panel, for your system properties, does it list Dolby TrueHD and DTS MA as available to decode? (The Windows Control panel, not Catalyst or PowerDVD)
almostinsane is offline  
post #11 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lilsdad17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah it list s all main formats in the audio properties. how would if know if there is an edid misconfiguration. my drivers are upto date.

thanks matt
lilsdad17 is offline  
post #12 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,907
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Then, you are probably running an OEM version of Power DVD.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lilsdad17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
power dvd is a full licenced version not oem.
iv had a quick look at edid side of it but know nothing about it some help would be great.

thanks matt
lilsdad17 is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,907
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Don't worry about EDID. It seems your PC already knows your receiver supports DTS-HD and TrueHD from your screen shots.

From Cyberlink website, it seems there are 3 editions of PowerDVD: Standard, Pro and Ultra. Only Pro and Ultra supports DTS-HD and TrueHD.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 04:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lilsdad17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have the ultra version. what else could it be do i need sertain codecs or something i have not thought of , dont think its a card problem as iv tried a radeon 6xxx card and it was the same.

thanks matt
lilsdad17 is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 01-04-2013, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,907
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Don't know. Codecs are part of power DVD. External codecs are not needed. Configure audio bit stream has always been tricky in the past.

Sent from my RM-820_nam_canada_246 using Board Express

UPDATE: check out this thread http://www.avsforum.com/t/1227161/edid-overrides-to-solve-bitstreaming-issues-for-ati-5xxxs
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 01-06-2013, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lilsdad17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi has anyone got any thoughts on edid problems and if that could be what my problem is, and if so how to fix this issue please.

thanks matt
lilsdad17 is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 01-06-2013, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
It shouldn't be an EDID issue since the formats show up in the audio device properties. What resolution are you running? To bitstream with PDVD, you need to be running a standard TV resolutions: 1280x720 or 1920x1080. If you are running a non standard resolution like 1600x900 or 1680x1050, bitstreaming will not work.
vladd is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 01-07-2013, 05:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lilsdad17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am running at 1280x720 i have tried 1920x1080 but its still the same. i dont know of anything else that could prevent me from bit streaming hd audio. the only thing i have not looked at is the edid, but i dont know enough to start messing about yet. any other suggestions would be great.

thanks matt
lilsdad17 is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 01-07-2013, 07:42 AM
Newbie
 
Frink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having the same problem except I am using Intel integrated graphics (HD 4000 - Ivy Bridge). DTS-HD and Dolby TrueHD both show up as supported in Windows audio properties, but I cannot bitstream in PowerDVD 11 Ultra. I have been communicating with the PowerDVD technical support, but I haven't got anywhere yet.

One thing I did to test my system was install the free trial of TotalMedia Theatre 5. I am able to bitstream just fine with that program. This suggests to me that the problem is with PowerDVD and not with my system. You could try doing that test if you want.
Frink is offline  
post #21 of 25 Old 01-07-2013, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lilsdad17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just tried tmt5 and it just the same i really dont know what it is.
lilsdad17 is offline  
post #22 of 25 Old 01-07-2013, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lilsdad17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know if there any connections between my motherboard and graphics card that i might need to connect that could be the problem, someone said a while ago that there is an hdmi header on the motherboard that may need connecting to my graphics card but they were not sure.


thanks matt
lilsdad17 is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old 01-07-2013, 11:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
It's a known bug with 5.1 AVRs and AMD drivers EDID detection. Double-check the installation of the EDID override I posted for your setup. AFAIK it's the only known fix for your problem.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #24 of 25 Old 01-07-2013, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lilsdad17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have tried the edid override that you supplied but all i got was 2 channel pcm had to roll back the driver have you got any others i can try or is it a waste of time. maybe i should just give up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
lilsdad17 is offline  
post #25 of 25 Old 01-07-2013, 02:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Should be a problem with the installation of the EDID override. I only replaced the 6-LPCM descriptor with a 8-LPCM descriptor, which fixes the AMD detection bug:



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off