VC 1 playback problems in MakeMKV. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-05-2013, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
xreyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys,

I currently have Shark007 codec pack setup with these settings: http://assassinhtpcblog.com/?page_id=39

Basically, I have tried ripping 2 blu-rays with MakeMKV and DVDFab, these were Lord of the Rings Fellowship of the Ring (LOTR 1) and Lord of the Rings The Two Towers (LOTR 2). These are both VC-1 format, and the above programs just place the video stream inside an .mkv container untouched.

When I ripped LOTR 1 with MakeMKV, it played with no problems in VLC Media Player however when playing in Windows Media Player or Windows Media Center the playback and audio were incredibly fast, as though someone had put it on 4x speed.

I thought this was a problem with the rip, so ripped LOTR 1 with MakeMKV again. This time, the file played back no problems, so I put this down to being a faulty rip.

However, today when trying to rip LOTR 2 with MakeMKV I had exactly the same problem. I decided to try and rip it again with MakeMKV, but this did not solve it. So I decided to try ripping it with DVDFab, however, again, the playback speed was very fast.

Now what I don't understand is why one file will work, and the other file will not, even though they are both VC1 streams inside a .mkv container. At first I thought it was a problem with the program I was using, but when changing it didn't fix it, I thought it might be a codec problem, but I don't understand why one file plays and the other doesn't.

All other formats/rips seem to play fine.

Do you have any ideas?
xreyuk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 01-05-2013, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 48
since you made the identical post on my forum
I'll give you an identical response on this forum . . .

my software defaults to using Haali to split MKV files.
On the MKV TAB, try using LAV instead - maybe that will help.

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 01-06-2013, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,844
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 210
My experience tells me you are probably looking at an audio problem. I found DTS-HD audio tracks can't be properly played back or streamed in many cases using the DS filters installed by Shark007. I often get speed up audio (speed up video to match the audio as well). VLC player has its own audio decoder built-in. So it is not affected.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #4 of 11 Old 01-06-2013, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 48
The problem came from assasins setup guide for my codecs as documented HERE on my forum.
Choosing [Reset All] and selecting the SUGGESTED settings checkbox solved his issue.

I use LAV for audio - it is not an issue.

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 01-06-2013, 03:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post

The problem came from assasins setup guide for my codecs as documented HERE on my forum.
Choosing [Reset All] and selecting the SUGGESTED settings checkbox solved his issue.
I use LAV for audio - it is not an issue.

I highly doubt it.

My guide recommends using LAV. Same as you just did.
assassin is online now  
post #6 of 11 Old 01-06-2013, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post

The problem came from assasins setup guide for my codecs as documented HERE on my forum.
Choosing [Reset All] and selecting the SUGGESTED settings checkbox solved his issue.
I use LAV for audio - it is not an issue.

I highly doubt it.

My guide recommends using LAV. Same as you just did.

At no time did I, nor the original poster state Audio was the problem.
Foxbat121 stepped in and stated my pack had audio issues and I was simply refuting his claim.

If you were to read the 1st post, the user followed your guide and had issues.
I instructed him to do as I instruct all users to do,
press [Reset All] (to remove all user settings) and select the SUGGESTED settings checkbox
This solved his issue. I do not have time to troubleshoot your guide.

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 01-06-2013, 03:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post

At no time did I, nor the original poster state Audio was the problem.
Foxbat121 stepped in and stated my pack had audio issues and I was simply refuting his claim.
If you were to read the 1st post, the user followed your guide and had issues.
I instructed him to do as I instruct all users to do,
press [Reset All] (to remove all user settings) and select the SUGGESTED settings checkbox
This solved his issue. I do not have time to troubleshoot your guide.

So your software defaults to Haali yet you told him to use LAV (like I recommend). And only when he checked "use rec settings" (presumably with Haali then) did it work? Also if I remember correctly a certain creator of Shak007 (you) aided me in setting up my guide exactly how you recommended it to others.

Seems odd. I haven't had even a single person have issues playing back MKVs in many months using my guides and people reference it from all of the internet. Also his file played fine and then had issues. Same file. Same settings. Again, odd.

Whatever. I don't have the time to argue. Glad the OP got it working.
assassin is online now  
post #8 of 11 Old 01-07-2013, 04:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Looks like the recommended settings tab didn't work for you. Did you ever get it working?
assassin is online now  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-07-2013, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

My experience tells me you are probably looking at an audio problem. I found DTS-HD audio tracks can't be properly played back or streamed in many cases using the DS filters installed by Shark007. I often get speed up audio (speed up video to match the audio as well). VLC player has its own audio decoder built-in. So it is not affected.

My experience tells me you don't have the appropriate configuration
Dark_Slayer is online now  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-08-2013, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,844
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

My experience tells me you don't have the appropriate configuration

That's fair enough. I found the configuration of the codecs very difficult to understand. Maybe you can help clarify it?

I can make it playback normal on the PC by adjusting some settings. But I can never make it work when streaming on my Xbox 360 which can't decode DTS-HD. My BD player streams fine because it can receive and bitstream DTS-HD to AVR.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-08-2013, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Try these settings http://assassinhtpcblog.com/?page_id=39#guide1

I'm not very well versed on extenders, the Echo thread might have some people who resolved similar issues
Dark_Slayer is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off