AT&T Uverse users -- setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-07-2013, 08:04 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ralphcramdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Mom has Uverse TV and haven't had the time to look at it closely but she tells me she always gets up to "turn on" the receiver by pressing the OK button on it. She's 80 and that's a pain for her.
Can't I get into setup somehow and keep the receiver ON 24/7? (Or perhaps the OK button can be accessed withe the remote -- but I would prefer the rcvr ON all the time instead).

That way she just turns on the TV and all is good to go.

??

Thank you.
ralphcramdon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-07-2013, 08:20 AM
Member
 
Firepr00f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you told her to stop turning it off? LOL.

We have U-verse as well, and the one upstairs in the game room never gets turned off. It's always ready when the kids turn on the TV. I'm not aware of any of mine turning off without me doing it.

Additionally - for the one in the bedroom, I only turn it off and on by the remote that came with it (which I programmed to turn on/off my TV at the same time). I never touch the button on the front of the U-Verse receiver unless I need to reboot it.
Firepr00f is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-07-2013, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Why is this here? Isn't there a UVerse specific forum around here someplace?

Sammy2 is online now  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-07-2013, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Yea, just tell her to leave it on. Or, I'm 99.9% sure the remote it came with has a power button, so there is no need to actually get up to turn it on.
sitlet is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-07-2013, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ralphcramdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gotcha.

Didn't know if it powered down itself -- thanks
ralphcramdon is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-05-2014, 07:00 PM
Newbie
 
exT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Try asking her to hit the at&t button on the top left corner of the remote and then the OK button. Also, be careful that it does not say "press Ok to start Uverse on demand". If it does say that, simply change the channel and she should be good to go! 

exT2 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off