SilconDust HDHR4 US and CC Tuners Coming Mid-2013 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 108 Old 03-18-2013, 12:48 PM
Member
 
anywhereanytime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Sammy2,

Thanks ... after reading all of the great threads ... I NOW WANT the HDHR4-US vs current Prime ... for the H-264 transcoder alone!

Scott
anywhereanytime is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 108 Old 03-18-2013, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
lovekeiiy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I have a beta firmware, but and it works pretty well. I just haven't been able to find anything on the DNLA front end that works well for live TV. The closest was PS3, but the way I have my PS3 on my network, I can't use it. A nice Android DNLA app would be nice. Silicondust has said they will be releasing an mobile apps for the DNLA feature.
lovekeiiy is offline  
post #93 of 108 Old 03-19-2013, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mntneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Posts: 2,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovekeiiy View Post

I have a beta firmware, but and it works pretty well. I just haven't been able to find anything on the DNLA front end that works well for live TV. The closest was PS3, but the way I have my PS3 on my network, I can't use it. A nice Android DNLA app would be nice. Silicondust has said they will be releasing an mobile apps for the DNLA feature.

I have the beta as well. I've not had any problems with my MC7 machines with playback. The iPad app still works great. I can get it to work with a WDTV Live, though changing channels takes time and is not as simple as entering in a channel number. I also got it to work with a Raspberry Pi, but not without hickups. My Oppo, while DLNA, doesn't recognize it.

I'd like to see a cable card device that could be used by the Roku's/WDTV devices of the world. I could then eliminate the Digital Adapters I have to pay Comcast for and be stuck with crappy Analog SD TV and not get all my channels.
Mntneer is offline  
post #94 of 108 Old 03-19-2013, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
lovekeiiy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
it would be nice to have something for the Roku. But that would require transcoding to a Roku friendly media format. I'm hoping maybe Plex can incorporate it into the server so it can be just another library.

I just haven't found any Android apps that worked well for me. Others have much better success then me with it.
lovekeiiy is offline  
post #95 of 108 Old 03-22-2013, 04:53 AM
Member
 
Josea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Swarthmore, PA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For anyone considering the HDHomeRun Dual you may want to wait:
Excerpted from http://www.silicondust.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=14634
"The upcoming rev 4 US model has entirely different demods which should help a lot with multipath, and a totally redone RF frontend that is more focused on ATSC performance, where rev 2/3 were a bit more focused on QAM"

Josea is offline  
post #96 of 108 Old 03-22-2013, 10:09 AM
Member
 
anywhereanytime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josea View Post

For anyone considering the HDHomeRun Dual you may want to wait:
Excerpted from http://www.silicondust.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=14634
"The upcoming rev 4 US model has entirely different demods which should help a lot with multipath, and a totally redone RF frontend that is more focused on ATSC performance, where rev 2/3 were a bit more focused on QAM"

COOL ... still no "when" other than Jan was "Coming MID 2013"?
anywhereanytime is offline  
post #97 of 108 Old 03-22-2013, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
So in the simplist terms, the Prime will be for Cable and the Dual will be for OTA
Josea likes this.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #98 of 108 Old 03-23-2013, 09:00 AM
Member
 
Josea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Swarthmore, PA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Has anybody seen an announcement as to when these new HDHR4's will be available for sale?
I was able to get this tidbit of information from SD's forum via PM: " At CES we announced plans for HDTX4-US and HDTX4-CC..
The HDTX4-US is a dual tuner ATSC unit with transcode and is expected to be available mid year, The HDTX4-CC is a 4-tuner CableCARD unit with transcode and is expected to be available in Q3."

I offered to be a beta tester for the dual but have not heard back yet wink.gif
Anyone have a guess on the retail prices? mine in US dollars prime $249, Dual $129.

Josea is offline  
post #99 of 108 Old 03-23-2013, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Thanks for garnering that information. I suppose we just wait and see now.

I'd add $50 to those estimates.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #100 of 108 Old 03-23-2013, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
^^^ Yeah, the transcoding capability implies a lot more expensive hardware than what was in the previous generations. I'd expect that it's costing SD at least an extra $10 so that would imply at least an extra $20 retail. So perhaps not as bad as an extra $50, but it wouldn't surprise me if it ends up that high.
Mac The Knife is offline  
post #101 of 108 Old 03-23-2013, 01:22 PM
Member
 
gewbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I hope it won't be that high, but wouldn't be surprised. I'd love it the 4-tuner model came in at $200 to compete with the ceton infiniTV. But that's just a pipedream I'm sure.
gewbert is offline  
post #102 of 108 Old 03-23-2013, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
On initial release I think it will be around $300 but go on sale within six months for less.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #103 of 108 Old 08-25-2013, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josea View Post

I was able to get this tidbit of information from SD's forum via PM: " At CES we announced plans for HDTX4-US and HDTX4-CC..
The HDTX4-US is a dual tuner ATSC unit with transcode and is expected to be available mid year, The HDTX4-CC is a 4-tuner CableCARD unit with transcode and is expected to be available in Q3."

I offered to be a beta tester for the dual but have not heard back yet wink.gif
Anyone have a guess on the retail prices? mine in US dollars prime $249, Dual $129.

Anytime soon?

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #104 of 108 Old 08-25-2013, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
signcarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
That post from March was the only post I had ever seen that stated HDTX4-US and HDTX4-CC as in the past (until about the past 11 days) every other source I have seen always stated HDHR4-US or HDHR4-CC... about 11 days ago, Nick from SD posted a heads up of the new naming conventions so there is some speculation it is coming "soon" but it may just be something to carry us over until it actually does arrive.
Quote:
Heads up to our updated product numbering...

HDHR4 = gen4 native streaming.
HDTC4 = gen4 with multi-stream HD hardware transcode (native streaming also supported).

Nick

I now wonder if the transcoding option is now going to be more expensive than we thought, and/or if they want to get a 4 tuner out the door without transcoding sooner since ceton is shipping their 6 tuner products.
signcarver is offline  
post #105 of 108 Old 12-27-2013, 01:38 PM
Member
 
blueroomelectro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any sign of the HDHR4 for sale anywhere yet?
blueroomelectro is offline  
post #106 of 108 Old 12-27-2013, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I really thought we would see more in 2013 after watching this video. http://youtu.be/jLGAg0oDpHo

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #107 of 108 Old 12-28-2013, 03:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroomelectro View Post

Any sign of the HDHR4 for sale anywhere yet?

With the continued $100 pricing on the Prime right now it would seem that they are clearing stock to make way but what do I know?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #108 of 108 Old 12-28-2013, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 150
They also haven't delivered on any new DLNA clients (with the partnerships they said they were working on) that would make that function more useful than it is now. On the fly mpeg4 transcoding will be nice but the frontends still all suck.
slowbiscuit is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off