help I can't get wmc registration to work is it my install or ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-09-2013, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
etrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I built a new htpc. Installed win8 pro ( worst decision I ever made) and signed up for the free wmc key.
After a week I got my key and add feature, I have a key, pasted it in and it says the key won't work.
WHAT?
2 different people said they got 3 or 4 keys and they had no problem. So they each gave me a key.
Neither worked.
I signed up for the key on this new full win8 pro install, this is not an upgrade.
Why will it not take the key but instead says the keys are invalid.


Any ideas on how to get this to work?

only recommendation so far is to go to the menu where it says reinstall and go from there.
etrin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-09-2013, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Have you tried calling Microsoft's activation line?
sitlet is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-09-2013, 09:51 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
etrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have never heard of this is this for windows8 or the WMC key?
whats the number?
I only got the disk in a jacket, in a carboard sleeve.
purchased from Amazon

wmc key was emailed from ms yesterday
etrin is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-09-2013, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,327
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Sounds like you were probably sent a volume license version of Win 8 Pro. MS was plugging a hole that let users install the VL version without a key and simply activate using the WMC key. You need to find a different copy of Win 8 Pro and reinstall.

Are you sure you purchased this from Amazon.com or was it from a third party seller selling Win 8 Pro on Amazon.com?

bryansj is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-09-2013, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
etrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
its a win8 pro oem version.
yep the invoice says sold by and thru amazon
etrin is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-09-2013, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,990
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 244
I think the question can only be answered by Micorsoft. I have activated two WMC8 installations without any problem. Seems to be you are the only one with activation issue and I'd suspect your OEM version may not be qualified for free WMC offering. But only Microsoft knows.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-09-2013, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
signcarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm one that has seen a couple of strange windows install/activation issues the past couple of weeks. I'm always "off" from my regular job from mid December - mid January so I'm asked to do a lot of work during this time.

I know you said you purchased pro but what version is being reported as being installed? One install I did installed "home" though the key was for pro. Eventually it allowed me to upgrade to pro and then install media center. I also had a purchased retail upgrade key not work out of the box.

Another laptop I recently came across needed some installed services disabled before the key would upgrade It did not say the key was invalid, it just could not perform the upgrade or any windows updates. I believe it was the registration service used for nitro pdf, but I just disabled all non microsoft items from startup since I didn't want to waste time if that wasn't it.
signcarver is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-09-2013, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
etrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
well I got in touch with ms and they had me go thru the long string activation.
I tried the key and it didn't work SO I had to do it again.
yes its been activated and rebooted 2 times
person at microsoft
Sir windows media comes with pro
BUT I am installing media center
Sir its the same thing.
AHHHhhhhhhhhhhhh
So I get a call from tech support.
They remote to my pc and after about 30 minutes it seems that this pro version I purchased has installed as reg winder8
I called amazon the people who sold it to me. DUH we don't know it says pro on the order.
Anyway I am waiting for a reply.
etrin is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-10-2013, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
sycochkn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I was looking at the MS website the other day and there is a location to upgrade standard windows 8 to windows 8 pro there is also a link on the same page to download wmc for free if you have windows 8 pro. That would indicate to me that some of the earlier versions of pro do not have wmc.
sycochkn is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-10-2013, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,990
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by sycochkn View Post

I was looking at the MS website the other day and there is a location to upgrade standard windows 8 to windows 8 pro there is also a link on the same page to download wmc for free if you have windows 8 pro. That would indicate to me that some of the earlier versions of pro do not have wmc.

Win8 Pro all comes with WMC on the disc but you will need to purchase (or get one for free before the end of this month) WMC key in order to activate the WMC feature. It is not a standard feature of Win8 Pro.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off