HTPC input - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Input device for htpc?
Remote 9 100.00%
Keyboard/Mouse 0 0%
Game Controller 0 0%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-09-2013, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I have seen a lot of very passionate postings about what is the correct input method for a HTPC...

Remote - It's on the TV it should be a remote...

Keyboard/Mouse - It's a computer use a keyboard/mouse duh...

Game Controller - Huh? I've been seeing this pop up as an option. Steam Big Picture for the winzorz....

Please feel free to post your own *dum* reasons below.
macks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 01-09-2013, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Option 4: the only "right" way is what works best for you and what you want to do with your HTPC.
Catalytic likes this.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 01-09-2013, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Option 5: remote for main content, controller for gaming only.
staknhalo is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 01-09-2013, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Naylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
All of the above along with remote access/management from my iPad
Naylia is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 01-09-2013, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Ipad/Iphone/Android etc... completely slipped my mind.

I have also seen youtube addons to queue next.

These aren't "normally" your main control method so I guess it's ok that they weren't included.
macks is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 01-09-2013, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 161
1. Remote - 98%
2. Remote Desktop Connection (from laptop and/or smartphone) - 1.5%
3. Wireless Mouse - 0.49%
4. Wireless Keyboard - 0.01%

bryansj is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 01-09-2013, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
ajkrishock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I use a Logitech harmony 620 for the usual stuff on my htpc's. I also have Logitech diNovo mini's for the occasional keyboard/mouse stuff. I use remote potato occasionally when I'm too lazy to find the remote.

I would really like to have just one all-inclusive control device, but that's the typical pipe dream of the home theater enthusiast.
ajkrishock is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 01-09-2013, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajkrishock View Post

I use a Logitech harmony 620 for the usual stuff on my htpc's. I also have Logitech diNovo mini's for the occasional keyboard/mouse stuff. I use remote potato occasionally when I'm too lazy to find the remote.
I would really like to have just one all-inclusive control device, but that's the typical pipe dream of the home theater enthusiast.

I agree completely. I don't see this happening unless 1 of 2 things happen:

Remote friendly operating system(I was foolish enough to think Windows 8 would be this)

Remote Control is replaced by a different kind of device basically completely in the living room.



I will note that the people who use a keyboard/mouse as there main input have this all-inclusive control device already. It might take some work to control there other devices though.

You can control your desktop with your remote with programs like Eventghost. Left/right/up/down control your mouse, it sucks.
macks is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-09-2013, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
ajkrishock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I wish there were a way for all gear manufacturers to abandon RF / infrared as a control standard and move to Bluetooth. Imagine a diNovo mini that turned everything on and off with a single press of the power button. Imagine adding your phone as a Bluetooth device and controlling everything from that!

Heaven hath no beauty greater than thee!
ajkrishock is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-09-2013, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Karyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Mouse--I don't even have a remote connected. The remote I do have I only use to power on/off the TV and receiver.
Karyk is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-09-2013, 04:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Harmony One - main input deice
Mouse without Borders - from laptop if i need a mouse or keyboard .If you have a laptop next to the couch I highly recommend this program.
TeamViewer - for when I am at the office
Ceton Companion - for recording a show on the go. I really have no need to use it as a remote.

Andy_Steb is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off