Multi-ripping with MakeMKV (steelman 1991) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 03:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Catalytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Screenshots below of the 4 screens I encounter during a rip. I'm assuming where I would change the output file name is in screen 3, but the only two buttons either change the folder or start the rip? I looked in Preferences, but didn't see anything there where I could change the name




Catalytic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 06:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Hi Mate

Not at my HTPC at the moment, so this is from memory.

Go to View/Preferences/General - then check 'Expert Mode'

On restart you will now have access via Preferences to change to FLAC decoding, if required and the further options I described in the other thread - on screen shot 3 as you correctly state.

As I say that's from memory, so it may be slightly different.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,945
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catalytic View Post

Screenshots below of the 4 screens I encounter during a rip. I'm assuming where I would change the output file name is in screen 3, but the only two buttons either change the folder or start the rip? I looked in Preferences, but didn't see anything there where I could change the name

May I ask why do you want to change the ripping filenames?

MakeMVK will automatically created a sub folder named after the movie title in the folder where you specified in the screen 3. And the ripped file will be put under that sub folder named after the movie title and track number. If you rip multiple discs, they will all fall into different sub folders.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #4 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 09:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

May I ask why do you want to change the ripping filenames?

MakeMVK will automatically created a sub folder named after the movie title in the folder where you specified in the screen 3. And the ripped file will be put under that sub folder named after the movie title and track number. If you rip multiple discs, they will all fall into different sub folders.

Is ripping to the Movie Title a new addition - I always thought it ripped to 'title00, title01 etc. The only way I could get it to rip to the movie title was by activating the 'expert mode' as described and even then it occasionally reverted to 'title00 etc', presumably as the disc didn't have the movie name encoded.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,945
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post

Is ripping to the Movie Title a new addition - I always thought it ripped to 'title00, title01 etc. The only way I could get it to rip to the movie title was by activating the 'expert mode' as described and even then it occasionally reverted to 'title00 etc', presumably as the disc didn't have the movie name encoded.

I don't know any history about it. But as far as I used MakeMKV for about 6 months now, it is always the way I described here.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #6 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 10:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
etrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I always get title00.
I am going to go look at expert mode, maybe I have something else set wrong (not me LOL)
I know that one time I specified a directory to put a rip and from then on it would NOT make a new directory with the disk name.
I think it was THE THING, I had the old version and it wanted to overwrite it, I had to make a folder with THE THING (2011) or something like that.
I had to remove and reinstall the program to get it back.
etrin is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,945
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Sorry, I assume you are ripping retail BD discs. Otherwise, the behavior could be different.

Just tried a DVD disc, it correctly created the directory for the movie title and put the ripped files under it but they are named title00 etc. It is different than BD ripping.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #8 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Thank you for this...I have recently started using MakeMKV, ripping to my server accross the network. I have been creating my own folders, and have thought about asking if I can "rename" the file, as I am getting "title00" on all of my rips.

"Once you learn good English...Can't nobody take it away!"

Xbox LIVE Gamertag: KEVIN G 40

kevin g. is online now  
post #9 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 10:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,018
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by etrin View Post

I always get title00.
I am going to go look at expert mode, maybe I have something else set wrong (not me LOL)
I know that one time I specified a directory to put a rip and from then on it would NOT make a new directory with the disk name.
I think it was THE THING, I had the old version and it wanted to overwrite it, I had to make a folder with THE THING (2011) or something like that.
I had to remove and reinstall the program to get it back.

Depends on disc.

Some had title in name. Some say that.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #10 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,945
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 230
I have tried two different DVDs, all of them call it Title (as is displayed in track listing). BDs are different, they have names for each track/title/playlist.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #11 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 10:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Yip - behaviour is the same with either DVD or Blu - some are encoded with titles others aren't, but the ripping process and end result is the same,
steelman1991 is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,945
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 230
I guess it is dependent on how the disc is authored. So far, I have not encountered any BD that will only display a generic 'title' instead of the actual title name. So the ripped files I got always have movie title name in the filename.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #13 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 72
I guess so.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Catalytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Sorry, I assume you are ripping retail BD discs. Otherwise, the behavior could be different.

Just tried a DVD disc, it correctly created the directory for the movie title and put the ripped files under it but they are named title00 etc. It is different than BD ripping.

Just catching up on this thread, mine definitely does not create a folder for the movies. I rip them all into "Temporary Movies" and then when the rip is done, I give the file a rough name so I know what it is. When I have a few ripped, I watched them in WMP and click through to make sure everything is OK (for example, I accidentally did a French soundtrack on a movie, and on a couple others, the file stops before the end of the movie, so now I click through to the credits to make sure the whole movie ripped)

After they are checked, I go to IMDB and find the movie, then copy the title/year and create a folder with that name and move it to my main Movies folder for MCM to start doing the metadata.

Steel, after I get dinner going, I will go find expert mode! Thank you!

Also, I am ONLY ripping DVDs, as I didn't put a BluRay in my HTPC (yet)
Catalytic is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Your question on this post wasn't entirely clear, but here's how I use MakeMKV for what you're describing
  • Activate the expert mode in preferences as mentioned above
  • I don't bother with any temporary folders, just click the blue folder button next to output folder in screenshot 3
  • Create a new folder within the windows explorer view that opens up, and give it the appropriate title w/ year
  • The correct year is the copyright year on the back of the retail box 99.9% of the time
  • With expert mode, you'll have additional options below the output folder line such as "output title"
  • This is very useful when ripping a TV series disc, because you can mouse click each title in the left hand checkbox menu then change the output filename to Showname - S01E01, etc
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catalytic View Post

Just catching up on this thread, mine definitely does not create a folder for the movies. I rip them all into "Temporary Movies" and then when the rip is done, I give the file a rough name so I know what it is. When I have a few ripped, I watched them in WMP and click through to make sure everything is OK (for example, I accidentally did a French soundtrack on a movie, and on a couple others, the file stops before the end of the movie, so now I click through to the credits to make sure the whole movie ripped)

After they are checked, I go to IMDB and find the movie, then copy the title/year and create a folder with that name and move it to my main Movies folder for MCM to start doing the metadata.

Steel, after I get dinner going, I will go find expert mode! Thank you!

Also, I am ONLY ripping DVDs, as I didn't put a BluRay in my HTPC (yet)

Yeah process could be streamlined dramatically - see Dark Slayer's post. No need for a Temp Movies folder, then a move to the correct folder - set-up the folder with movie name and year and rip straight to it just be careful of those French audio tracks tongue.gif
steelman1991 is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Catalytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You guys ROCK!!

Dark, this thread was a continuation of a question in another thread, so I wasn't really clear because Steel already knew what I was asking, sorry about that! The question was...how do I get MakeMKV to name a file other than title00, so that I could do multiple rips at the same time. (When I tried, it WOULD do two at one, but the 2nd would try to overwrite the first, because I couldn't change the output name)

Activating expert mode fixed that, so thank you much Steel! And I will start doing what Dark said, as well!
Catalytic is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Glad its worked for you - happy ripping
steelman1991 is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Great info, guys...
So for my existing rips...do I need to "re rip" using this method, to get the title?
What should the folder filename format be?

Ex:
Star Trek 2009
or
StarTrek2009

etc...

"Once you learn good English...Can't nobody take it away!"

Xbox LIVE Gamertag: KEVIN G 40

kevin g. is online now  
post #20 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 06:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Catalytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin g. View Post

Great info, guys...
So for my existing rips...do I need to "re rip" using this method, to get the title?
What should the folder filename format be?

Ex:
Star Trek 2009
or
StarTrek2009

etc...

I am using Media Center Master (MCM) to pull my metadata, and it requires the folder to be named like this: The Ballad of Jack and Rose (2005)

With the method described above by Steel and Dark, I am now naming my folders AND the .mkv like that. (MakeMKV still appends it to have title)) or whatever at the end, so my output file sometimes looks like: The_Aviator_(2004)_t00)

NO you do not need to re-rip, you can just rename by right clicking the file and choosing "Rename" That will work on folders or files. What I do is look up the movie on IMDB, and then just copy the title and paste it into the rename box, because IMDB has it set up with the title and then the year like MCM requires. (Now though, while MakeMKV is examining the disk, I go to IMDB and copy the info, and then paste it into screen 3 under filename and output folder.)
Catalytic is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 01-11-2013, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Like Catalytic said, there is no urgent reason to re rip, especially if your folder names are correct

XBMC, Plex, MediaCenterMaster, Ember, and other metadata scrappers can pull metadata based off the folder name

It's only useful to have matching file AND folder names when your library is really large and you delete several titles on purpose and one by accident. Finding the accident is a lot easier when the recycle bin isn't full of title00 files

If you're using MCM, there is an option in the preferences to rename folders during fetch and a nested checkbox that allows you to "rename files too"

I've had good results letting it rename the files and folders in my library
Dark_Slayer is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off