Media Center Master - Manual update of entries - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 01-10-2013, 09:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Greg_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 3,911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have some movies that are not listed in the IMDB or TheTVDB. I'd like to update the fields manually through Media Center Master but it seems that I can't view the entry unless something has been downloaded from a source of meta data. Does anyone know how this can be accomplished? I'm aware that I can manually create XML files and then edit but I'd prefer to avoid that.
Greg_R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 01-16-2013, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Greg_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 3,911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how to do this?
Greg_R is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 01-16-2013, 05:24 PM
Member
 
Catalytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I don't, but I have subscribed to the thread because I'm about to need to know how to do this, too. How do you manually create an XML file? (I'm about to start on the DVDs I set aside while I was ripping because they aren't on imdb, eek!)
Catalytic is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 01-16-2013, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdkhang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Not sure if there is an easy solution out there with MCM (I know some other metadata software allows this), but just to throw a suggestion out there. Could you try grabbing an existing metadata file from another movie changing the title, put it in the directory for your movie and make some changes that way? I guess you can set the values to some defaults and save that metadata file somewhere to be used for any future instances.
hdkhang is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 01-16-2013, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 215

From MCM, select the movie you want to edit and click on the "Metadata" tab. The fields will be blank. Enter the information you want, and click "Save" (I hate to tell you how often I've left out that last step!).

 

 

After you update Media Browser, the info will appear there.

 

 

You may need to update that movie manually (the double arrow icon at the bottom of the vertical menu on the left) before the info appears.

You may also want to "lock" the metadata so it doesn't get erased accidentally.

Catalytic likes this.

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-16-2013, 05:58 PM
Member
 
Catalytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thank you!
Catalytic is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-17-2013, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Greg_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 3,911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post

From MCM, select the movie you want to edit and click on the "Metadata" tab. The fields will be blank. Enter the information you want, and click "Save" (I hate to tell you how often I've left out that last step!).
Hmm. I should have mentioned that I already tried this... maybe something is corrupted. Let's say I have 2 movies, movie A has pulled metadata and movie B was not found. Movie A was selected (either to finish editing or to view) and then I click (from the movie list) on movie B. Movie A's metadata is still in the metadata window.

It sounds like I should take some screen shots and post on MCM's forum...
Greg_R is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-17-2013, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 215

I find that you sometimes have to close the program and re-open it after making some changes.

Since they update it every two days (or so it seems!), it may change depending on the particular version you have.

Good luck.


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off