DRM & Media Center - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-14-2013, 06:03 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
6athome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 42
My Windows 7 HTPC keeps crashing when I try the movie library. I have movies copied from HBO&MAX that I don't want to lose.
This started when I was screwing around in tasks and moved the movie folder.
My HTPC has a 9550 quad and 550 nvidia card,window 7 64 bit with ATI cable card setup.
I was so fed up with the crashes in media center I did a reinstall of windows 7 and lost my movies, due to DRM tags on play back.
I had my movies on a external drive and when I reinstalled an image of windows 7 I saw the cable card and reinstalled,now I have my movies and the stupid movies library crashes.The movies work under recorded tv.
I under stand that in order to short cut things windows has media center and player taged together.
I have been looking on the internet and no help!
tgrinch likes this.
6athome is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 06:27 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
6athome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 42
DOES ANYONE HAVE A IDEA HOW TO GRAB THE MEDIA CENTER DRM TAGS FROM AN IMAGES WITHOUT REINSTALLING THE WHOLE IMAGE?
6athome is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Nope but next time why not just roll back to an earlier time or use acronis to do a recovery image when all is working well?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
6athome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I could not find a recovery date that predated the movie library crash.
On the interrnet I have found a lot of people haveing the same movie library crash,but no fix.
The image on my drive is from the movie crash.
When I reinstall window 7 the movies show up in media center library without crashing,but DRM keeps movies from HBO from playing.
I've tried everything on the internet to fix the movie library.
Microsofts has left Media center users in a dead end street with a truck trying to run us over!
Just like messageing,dead, I had a touch pro2 phone with Microsoft's system,they shut down the store and don't support it.
Win 7 came out in 2009 and support is dead?
This keeps up, and we put up with this,Google can you help rescue us from Microsofts?
6athome is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Google doesn't give a rat's ass either..

I didn't know there were issues with the Movies Library in WMC. I don't use it, I use Media Browser instead.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
6athome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I tried media browser hoping it would get the movies to show up.The crash of WMC prevented browser for showing movie cover art.
6athome is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Use Media Center Master for cover art in Media Browser and make sure your folders are set up correctly for Media Browser to recognize your media.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
6athome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Use Media Center Master for cover art in Media Browser and make sure your folders are set up correctly for Media Browser to recognize your media.

Is that in plugin's?
6athome is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-23-2013, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
You may want to invest $25 in assassin's guides. There's step by step instructions to solving your problems in there along with dozens of other things you never even would think to ask about.

That said, MCM is a downloaded app that runs outside WMC or MB and provides rich metadata, much richer than MS provices with their scraper.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-25-2013, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
6athome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 42
can you pm reply with the step by step resolution ?
6athome is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off