Cablecard tuner dies when switching from TV to watch MKV in WMC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-14-2013, 08:15 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
StephenG99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just built my first HTPC last week and been really happy with it so far. The only issue I have is when I go to watch one of my local MKV's the tuners on my hauppauge WinTV-DCR-2650 all turn off (Comcast cable). Of course this is really annoying when I happen to be recording something. Generally to get the tuners back I have to restart WMC. My google fu is failing me on this one or worse I'm the only person to have encountered this. Anyone else seen this behavior?
StephenG99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-14-2013, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,813
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 200
WMC does not natively support MKV playback. You must installed some codec packs. Some of the codec pack installer will break the Media Fundation feature of WMC (where your cable card programs are dependent on) out of box. So you need to provide some more details.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-14-2013, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
StephenG99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oh yes, I installed the shark 007 codec packs and followed the install guide that has been posted here.
StephenG99 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-14-2013, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I would recommend that you uninstall all codec packs and simply install an MKV splitter. For most, the splitter is enough, and doesn't introduce the issue that codec packs sometimes do.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-14-2013, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 47
press [Reset All] in the Settings Application. (to return user settings to defaults)
some settings, such as the [x] SUGGESTED settings, disable Media Foundation.

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-14-2013, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jdcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 1,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickotz View Post

I would recommend that you uninstall all codec packs and simply install an MKV splitter. For most, the splitter is enough, and doesn't introduce the issue that codec packs sometimes do.
+1. This is all I have on mine.
jdcrox is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-14-2013, 06:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
StephenG99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply Shark007 but I couldn't get it to work. Even uninstalled/reinstalled but WMC keeps dropping my tuners. Just running Haali splitter on it's own and everything is working ok now. Thanks for the tips guys!
StephenG99 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off