Codec pack for windows 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 01-14-2013, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ratite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was planning on using Shark007 codec pack, but after reading this thread http://shark007.net/forum/Thread-BetterInternet-BrowserProtect-Warning-3-9-4 I will not now. So san anybody suggest a codec pack for windows 8, anyone using the K lite codec pack?
ratite is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 01-14-2013, 11:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratite View Post

I was planning on using Shark007 codec pack, but after reading this thread http://shark007.net/forum/Thread-BetterInternet-BrowserProtect-Warning-3-9-4 I will not now. So san anybody suggest a codec pack for windows 8, anyone using the K lite codec pack?

Yikes.

http://shark007.net/forum/Thread-BetterInternet-BrowserProtect-Warning-3-9-4?pid=31592#pid31592
Quote:
Shark007
Repackaging Specialist

Posts: 1,985
Joined: Apr 2009
RE: BetterInternet/BrowserProtect Warning! [3.9.4+]
(Today 02:59 AM)kayak Wrote:
That is the PROBLEM, they know what the installer does, and they don't want to address it.... Frankly, I wonder what Majorgeeks would think about this?

seems you're the PROBLEM because you dont understand ****.
have you even read this thread? Pull your head out of your ass.

** CLOSED **
assassin is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 01-14-2013, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 166
My system works fine with a version of shark007 from May2012 (don't know the number off hand). Why would I even need to update it to a later version at this point?

Sammy2 is online now  
post #4 of 16 Old 01-14-2013, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 47
well.... after that person, kayak, accused me of not addressing the issue... i lost it... and CLOSED the thread entirely.
The installer clearly had a glitch, which was subsequently dealt with, promptly. End of story.

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 01-14-2013, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
There are good reasons why I never recommend codec packs and instead recommend directly installing only the codecs you need/want. This is one of those reasons.
vladd is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 01-14-2013, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 121
I've never had any issues installing Shark007 as long as I took my time and unchecked the unwanted extras. Codec packs have gotten a bad rap over the years, but not without good reason. The Shark007 codecs have been the most stable codec packs I've ever used and I've never had an issue with them. I now install them on all of my Win 7 PCs. I used to go through a detailed setup that I found one one of the HTPC forums/websites, but now I just check the recommended settings and make sure the audio is configured for digital passthrough via HDMI.
captain_video is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 01-14-2013, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 493
I use K-lite. it's my preferred one.
onlysublime is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-14-2013, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post

well.... after that person, kayak, accused me of not addressing the issue... i lost it... and CLOSED the thread entirely.
The installer clearly had a glitch, which was subsequently dealt with, promptly. End of story.

And that's that.

Is there are reason to upgrade? As I said, my system works so what changes are there that I am missing? Is there anything in the updated LAV filters that I am missing out on? I think for WMC TV playback there really isn't anything that needs changing unless a fix for the 29/59 bug is included.

Sammy2 is online now  
post #9 of 16 Old 01-14-2013, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tiddles88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Codec packs are useful only for breaking Windows. Install only the very basics if required. Or just use Lav Filters with MPC-HC.
Tiddles88 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 01-14-2013, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Not my experience at all. Nothing is broken for me.

Sammy2 is online now  
post #11 of 16 Old 01-14-2013, 03:01 PM
Member
 
Bizzy G.L.X.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wash DC
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22

My last two builds we're both based on FFDShow and LAV. Worked great, and both were fun to configure and tweak.

 

I have Shark's latest x86 and x64 stuff installed on my fresh, new 2 week old HTPC build...everything just works, quick and easy. I don't think I did anything beyond clicking the "Recommended Settings" button...seriously.

 

Shark's pack + Assassin's guides = HTPC Nirvana.

 

Zen and the art of HTPC maintenance.


Case:Fractal Design Node 605
APU:AMD Richland A10-6700
RAM:8GB AMD 1866
Board:ASUS A88XM Plus
Storage:OCZ 256 GB Vector
Optical:Panasonic Slim BDR
PS:Silverstone Strider 550 Gold SFF
Software:WMC8+LAV+madVR+MPC-HC
Input:Logitech K400 mini KB/trackpad+Harmony 720
Output:Sammy 55" S6 LED LCD+Yamaha soundbar
Bizzy G.L.X. is online now  
post #12 of 16 Old 01-14-2013, 03:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post

well.... after that person, kayak, accused me of not addressing the issue... i lost it... and CLOSED the thread entirely.
The installer clearly had a glitch, which was subsequently dealt with, promptly. End of story.

Fair enough.
assassin is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 01-14-2013, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post

well.... after that person, kayak, accused me of not addressing the issue... i lost it... and CLOSED the thread entirely.
The installer clearly had a glitch, which was subsequently dealt with, promptly. End of story.

I read that thread. You NEVER said it was fixed. All you do is give a work around with 7-zip.
You also NEVER admitted that there was a glitch.

Someone asked "is it fixed?" you respond back "See post 4". So one would assume the answer is No

I don't see why you lost it.

Andy_Steb is online now  
post #14 of 16 Old 01-14-2013, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 39
I'm confused. Or I must be getting senile...

What codec "packs" do we need?? 3 clicks to download LAV, MPC-HC, and MadVR. 2 more clicks to download MadFlac and a flac metadata plugin.

The "guide" to install them is right here on AVS. (The Advanced MPC-HC thread.)

What other "codecs" do we need?? I've yet to see a file I can't play using the codecs mentioned above.
kapone is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 01-15-2013, 04:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Artslinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 1,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_Steb View Post

I read that thread. You NEVER said it was fixed. All you do is give a work around with 7-zip.
You also NEVER admitted that there was a glitch.

Someone asked "is it fixed?" you respond back "See post 4". So one would assume the answer is No

I don't see why you lost it.


Same here I'm confused on this also.

I have been using the Shark pack for years with no problems.
Artslinger is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 01-15-2013, 05:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 167
At least now I know why the BrowserProtect crap showed up after I did a clean install of Win8. I did both my WS2012Essentials server and Win8 HTPC updates during the same weekend. Sort of hard to narrow down what installed it when installing so many things in a short period of time. I think I removed it all, but will double check now that I know more details. It was a real pain figuring out the source because of Chrome's sync feature. I had that homepage redirect showing up on all computers.

Good to know about the 7-Zip extract installation method. Will be doing that from now on.

bryansj is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off