Setting up AMD CCC correctly for WMC7? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-15-2013, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Sorry, I know this question has been asked before but I can't seem to find it.

I have a AMD HD7750 card and it is hooked up like this:

DVI to PC monitor HP 22" HDCP monitor

HDMI to my Iscan Duo with the audio out HDMI to my Denon AVR-4310ci

Ceton InfiTV4 PCI 4 tunner card

This all works fine but I am not sure of the best settings in CCC (12.10) to get the best picture.

I turn off all the extras in CCC control.


What color space to use ? RGB or , ........?

What Video levels to set? PC or Video

What I see is if I send PC levels out the black levels are better; but is this best?

Yes, I know RGB limited is broadcast standard but I want to minimize all unnecessary video conversions preserving best video quality.

Would like some help setting the card up for least conversions and best picture.

Thanks
Rew
Rew452 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-15-2013, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,935
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 228
WMC is already output video limited levels. That's why if you set PC level, you will get the best PQ on your PC (assume your TV is set to receive video limited). If you set your CCC to convert to video limited, you get double conversion and that will never work right. In general, I'd leave off any such conversion in the video card driver.
If WMC is all you use, you are all set.

If you use other players, that's a different story. WMP for example, only output PC range video. So, in your current setting, you will get black and white crush.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-15-2013, 08:34 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Kinda what I thought but what color space to use RGB or Component RGB?

So checking let app control in CCC and leave Dynamic off then is best?

By the way my output of the Iscan Duo is to my BenQ W1070, these will of course set accordingly to the input.

Thanks
Rew
Rew452 is online now  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-15-2013, 08:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I would just use whatever looks best to you.

On my BenQ w1000 I found ycbcr 4:4:4 to look best. Everything else I left default as it made no noticeable difference. I also noticed that HDMI 2 provides a much better picture from any source. If you get a good picture and nothing looks out of sorts then it is time to adjust your projector.
macks is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off