Calibration confusion - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-17-2013, 07:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
amro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Colleyville, TX 76034
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just built my HTPC with the following pertinent components:

Processor: AMD A10-5800K - 3.8 GHz (Turbo to 4.2 GHz)
Motherboard: ASRock FM2A85X Extreme4-M FM2 AMD A85X (Hudson D4)
Tuner Card: HDHomerun PRIME x 2
OS: Windows 7 x64 with Windows Media Center and ArcSoft Total Media Theatre 5/MyMovies
TV: Panasonic 65" TC-P65VT50 Plasma

I will use this as my DVR and RAID served Blu-Ray (ripped in folder format) player. My intent is to replace my FiOS DVR and Dune media player.

As has been the case with other people, my initial impression of the DVR/recorded TV playback video quality was not very good. I've done the basic tweaks with AMD's CCC and have come close to the DVR quality, but I think it could be better and when I scour the good ‘ole interwebs I get overwhelmed with posts about MadVR and render options.

I know the video, either live or played back, from MCE is not as good as FiOS's Motorola DVR. But, I don’t know if it’s a simple calibration that is needed or the color depth does not appear to be as much as the FiOS DVR. I think the video from TMT 5 is as good as my Dune player.

I have a couple of questions:

1. Aside from calibrating my PC, is there something about color depth I need to do? It does not appear to be as good as the Motorola DVR.
2. Are there step-by-step guides or tutorials on optimizing video quality for MCE?

I am using AMD’s latest drivers 12.10 10/22/2012 for the chipset and graphics cards.

Thanks,
Amro
amro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 01-18-2013, 06:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Karyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
There are calibration DVD/BR discs out there. I haven't been following what's popular now. They should be able to deal with your color issues, but each device connected to your TV needs to be properly calibrated.

I'm not familiar with the settings of AMD based video devices.
Karyk is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-18-2013, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Take a look at this thread which has a lot of info.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1444859/setting-nvidia-to-full-range-rgb
Mike99 is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off