Bluray ripping software, but for dummies? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 18 Old 01-17-2013, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
So I'm pretty new to ripping blurays. I tried DVDfab8, but it seems to encode the movie when trying to make MKV's. I used MakeMKV, but it's stuck in 1080p, so If I change the aspect ratio in VLC player, the black bars remain.
Is there software that will do the following?
-Bit for bit rip of the movie, without any encoding.
-Untouched audio (TruHD, DTS HD-MA)
-Eliminate the black bars on the bottom/top
-Keep the forced subtitles so I don't have to get up and turn subtitles on and off throughout the movie.

I looked at handbrake, but it appears to do some encoding. AnyDVD looks to operate like MakeMKV?

YID DIY
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 01-17-2013, 08:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Looneybomber View Post

So I'm pretty new to ripping blurays. I tried DVDfab8, but it seems to encode the movie when trying to make MKV's. I used MakeMKV, but it's stuck in 1080p, so If I change the aspect ratio in VLC player, the black bars remain.
-Eliminate the black bars on the bottom
-Keep the forced subtitles so I don't have to get up and turn subtitles on and off throughout the movie.

I looked at handbrake, but it appears to do some encoding. AnyDVD looks to operate like MakeMKV?

Use a real player for starters.
post #3 of 18 Old 01-17-2013, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Instead of removing the bars during ripping, you're better off just using zoom functions in the player.

Edit: Just checked and you can remove black bars in MPC-HC, which is one of the most popular media players around here. It's under "Pan&Scan".
post #4 of 18 Old 01-17-2013, 08:59 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote: