WMC HTPC sound issue - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Video Components > Home Theater Computers > WMC HTPC sound issue

Home Theater Computers

jhadsell1883's Avatar jhadsell1883
10:44 AM Liked: 10
post #1 of 5
01-18-2013 | Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2013
I have been using an older desktop pc as my htpc. I recently added a hauppauge 2250 for recording clear qam channels I receive through the cable line for free. The recordings are working great and have all sound when viewing them through my xbox on the tv. When watching on the pc connected to the tv there are no voices on some shows. It mostly is primetime tv that is the issue. I am hearing the background noise from the shows and all sound from other shows, including the news, reruns of older shows and commercials. This is affecting the recorded shows, but I also found out when the show is playing on live tv it is missing the sound.

My setup is a core 2 quad through an asus mobo with nvidia 8800gt and hauppauge 2250 using onboard sound. There is a 1/8" audio cable running to the tv and a digital out going to the receiver. I have tried eliminating as much as possible, pc going straight to tv and playing through tv speakers but it is having the same issue, any thoughts?
lancer1991's Avatar lancer1991
03:50 AM Liked: 11
post #2 of 5
01-20-2013 | Posts: 542
Joined: May 2004
Maybe PC is setup to play 5.1 and somehow not playing center channel stream where voices would be. I'm not sure if this is possible, but that is what it sounds like.
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar Andrew Hornfeck
11:09 AM Liked: 18
post #3 of 5
01-20-2013 | Posts: 2,573
Joined: Dec 2002
PICK one means and use it! The PC may be confused on your configuration since 1/8" to TV is analog and connection to receiver is digital! HOW do you want to hear the PC? Most folks use their AVR and external speakers instead of 2-ch stereo from the TV itself. Remove the 1/8" from the PC and stick w/Digital. Then, configure it as your default audio device configuring it as 2-ch (YES, 2-ch) so it will pass the 5.1 digital stream to your AVR. You should be set!
Mike99's Avatar Mike99
01:59 AM Liked: 51
post #4 of 5
01-21-2013 | Posts: 3,052
Joined: Sep 2004
I've previously seen mention of configuring the audio for 2-ch stereo. And I thought I saw this on my HTPC at one time. But I just looked all over at different sound & audio options & cannot find any setting for 2-ch. AFAIK everything is OK since the AVR indicates DD, but I would like to double check my settings. Where the heck do I find it?
jhadsell1883's Avatar jhadsell1883
11:22 AM Liked: 10
post #5 of 5
01-21-2013 | Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hornfeck View Post

PICK one means and use it! The PC may be confused on your configuration since 1/8" to TV is analog and connection to receiver is digital! HOW do you want to hear the PC? Most folks use their AVR and external speakers instead of 2-ch stereo from the TV itself. Remove the 1/8" from the PC and stick w/Digital. Then, configure it as your default audio device configuring it as 2-ch (YES, 2-ch) so it will pass the 5.1 digital stream to your AVR. You should be set!

I tested it with the audio playing directly through the tv and receiver unplugged with the same results. I played one of the videos on another pc and it worked fine so I'm thinking there may be a sound driver or motherboard issue with the audio
Reply Home Theater Computers

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3