Watching Movies from HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-20-2013, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rinku2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello,

i do have an HTPC setup in my house where my system is drectly connected to my SOny 55 inches TV via HDMI cable
i watch movies using Windows Media Player, VLC player ( both blu ray and original dvd disks)
what i have observed is that clarity is more better when i watch blu ray directly from my Sony PS3 where as i am not getting the same clarity if i play the same blu ray player on my HTPC using power dvd 12 or wmp or VLC player

Below is my HTPC configuration

Intel I7 3770K processor with ASROCK Z77 extreme Motherboard
Integrated Intel HD Graphics Card 4000
32 GB Ram
12 TB hard disk ( 3X4)

Do i need to get a good graphics card in order to view Blu rays from my HTPC with is on par with my blu ray player ?
rinku2012 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-20-2013, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I do not use Intel so can't comment on the quality of the HD4000 iGPU but my gut says you simply need to make some settings adjustments on the Graphics... also, be sure you're playing at full resolution your TV supports (most likely 1920x1080p) while inside these players.

If someone with an Intel says you should buy a video card then so be it... I run AMD and have been using $20 graphics cards for years (HD4550, HD5450, HD6450) without issue!
Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-20-2013, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,344
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 186
No, you don't need a different video card. It could be as simple as your TV's HDMI input for your PS3 is calibrated differently than the one connecting your HTPC. Make sure all the settings are the same between HDMI inputs. The other is that you may need to tweak the settings using the Intel Graphics tools.

bryansj is online now  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-20-2013, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rinku2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
How can i calibrate the settings on my HTPC ?. how can i make sure both my PS3 and HTPC video settings are same ?
rinku2012 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-21-2013, 05:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,344
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by rinku2012 View Post

How can i calibrate the settings on my HTPC ?. how can i make sure both my PS3 and HTPC video settings are same ?

You open the Intel Graphics manager, should be an icon next to the clock. For making sure both the PS3 and HTPC settings are the same you'll need to read your TV's manual. If the PS3 is set to Game mode and the HTPC is set to Vivid then things will look much different.

bryansj is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off