receiver for HTPC with no HDMI issues? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-20-2013, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
bulls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 23
these days...are there still issues with receivers and HDMI connections... needing to mess with EDID or having HDMI get disconnected ?
bulls is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-20-2013, 03:54 PM
Member
 
carsfreak88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bulls View Post

these days...are there still issues with receivers and HDMI connections... needing to mess with EDID or having HDMI get disconnected ?
i am using a denon 3212 with my htpc and have no problems

carsfreak88 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-20-2013, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
I don't have issues with my HTPC and Denon 2312ci but the echo is giving me fits.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-20-2013, 04:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,200
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 852
No problems here. What is EDID?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-20-2013, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Electronic Device IDentification.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-20-2013, 05:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,200
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Thank you. I looked it up and its actually Extended Display Identification Data just for the record although I'm sure that you know far more about it than me. smile.gif

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-20-2013, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Toys7505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milford, Ma
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No problems with my Denon 3311 either.......All the receivers shouldn't have a problem with this......if there is a problem, more than likely its the PC side causing it.

Toys

Denon AVR-3311CI, Denon DVP-602CI, B&K EX4420, B&K TX4430, Belkin PF60
Sony BDP-S5000ES, Silverstone HTPC (6 Tuner DVR & 10 TB Media)
PSB Stratus Minis, PSB Stratus C6, PSB Alpha S surround, James Subwoofer EMB-1200
Sharp LC-70LE755U, Harmony 880 Remote
Toys7505 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-20-2013, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Thank you. I looked it up and its actually Extended Display Identification Data just for the record although I'm sure that you know far more about it than me. smile.gif

I don't know jack about it but know when it is causing me issues.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-20-2013, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toys7505 View Post

No problems with my Denon 3311 either.......All the receivers shouldn't have a problem with this......if there is a problem, more than likely its the PC side causing it.

Toys

^^This

Sammy2 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-20-2013, 11:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
lovekeiiy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
install AnyDVD HD and that may help. It removes a lot of the HDCP so the PC isn't looking for it from the display. It's a major part of how I can play blu ray discs directly using MPC.
lovekeiiy is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off