First Build HTPC - AVS Forum
Home Theater Computers > First Build HTPC
Dbld99's Avatar Dbld99 08:05 PM 01-20-2013

Kingston 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Desktop Memory Model KVR1333D3/4GR

ASUS P8H61-M LE/CSM (REV 3.0) LGA 1155 Intel H61 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Pentium G620 Sandy Bridge 2.6GHz LGA 1155 65W Dual-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics BX80623G620

Case - HEC Black 0.7mm Thickness SECC Steel 7K09BBA30FNRX Micro ATX Media Center 300W Power Supply / HTPC Case

Found some good deals between Tiger Direct and Newegg with open box items. Total all = $201

Going to add a video card and Tuner down the line once everything is working - Wanting to run Ubuntu with MythTV

After doing days of research and such this is what I came up with for entry level - this is my first build, but not a stranger to computers just never built from scratch always bought then upgraded.

Thanks for anyone's input.

Mark4242's Avatar Mark4242 01:07 PM 01-21-2013
I built my server using an Asus mainboard too. Good quality board with quality caps, etc. Only problem i ran into was installing the drivers from the Asus install disk. It did not list Windows Home Server as one of the supported operating systems, so it would not install. Browsed down the disk to the individual driver install apps, and ran them each directly and they installed just fine. It was 6 or 8 drivers iirc.